Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just when you think you've heard it all before..., 8 Nov 2001
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
So Lighthouse Family return after about three years since their previous release "Postcards from Heaven" with such teriffic pop-tunes as "Raincloud" and "High". On "Whatever gets you through the day" the duo is back, and although the style is still catchy pop, with a tip of soul and gospel, the songs are somewhat more gloomy and melancholy. Tunde Baiyewu's voice is still penetrating and charismatic, but the music and the lyrics have taken a darker turn. A product of their new style is heard on the opening track, "Run", a jazzy song giving you a quiet flow. And continuing that way, the CD produces great ballads, good pop-song and melancholic tracks, making fans love the new style. "Whatever get you through the day" hasn't reallu got any weak spots, but listeners must be equiped with patience. The title track is top notch, and on their third album, Lighthouse Family are more experimenting and fresh as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait!, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
At last! After what has seemed like an eternity, the Lighthouse Family are back, and the new album doesn't disappoint.It's instantly recognisable as
their work, and a couple of the tracks sound vaguely familiar, but the whole album is more subdued than 'Ocean Drive' and 'Postcards from Heaven'. The new single 'I wish I knew how it would feel to be free' is catchy, but after a few playings of the CD, I feel it's eclipsed by the melodic tracks 'You're a star' and 'You always want what you haven't got'. It's well worth the wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is near perfect - do NOT miss it., 24 Feb 2002
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
How good is this album? Well if we could award 6 stars..! Every track has a catchy tune, while the lyrics are outstanding in their simplicity. I defy anyone who buys this album to be disappointed. If you've heard the singles or know the Lighthouse Family from their previous releases you should try this. And if you've not tried them before then START NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Album by the Lighthouse Family, 12 Jan 2002
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
This ranks alongside the best albums this year. It is the most consistent album I have listened to this year, every song is great and I was not surprised to find that 'Run' is going to be the next song to be released from it as it is first class. Other potential classics include 'Happy', 'You always want what you haven't got' and 'wish' as they are the most catchy of all of the songs. If you buy this album you will not be disappointed at all! Well done Lighthouse Family, Top Class album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant return by Lighthouse Family., 12 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
This cd is as good as the last one and I have a feeling it will turn out to be the best ever by the Lighthouse family. I feel the single release is one of the weaker tracks on the cd, which shows the strength of the content.
I like Run, Happy, End of the Sky. Best tracks though are Wish closely followed by Whatever Gets You Through The Day.
Very impressive stuff, I will be listening to this for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthouse Family Back With A Bang!, 19 Nov 2001
By 
James Whelan "Telnet" (Bolton, Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
I have waited three years for this album. In that time Paul and Tunde have developed their sound - this is such a relaxing album. The first single (I Wish I Knew How It Feels To Be) Free/One is a fine, fine song.
Buy this album, listen and chill with a bottle of a wine. LHF fans will NOT be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic return to form, 1 Jan 2002
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
i bought this wondering would it compare to postcards from heaven and ocean drive - it did.
Great tunes, brilliant melodies and superb vocals by Tunde assures this album ranks up with the best of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighting the Future, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
This CD is simply great. If you feel down, depressed and fed-up, this CD will indeed bring you feeling high and happy. All the tracks are brilliant and energising. My favourites are WISH -what a classic and HAPPY - portraying the fact that everyone has the ability to be Happy and RUN AWAY - a great to which you escape for the moment into a carefree world. This CD is one for the classics and one to have for the morning and night. You dont have to be a Lighthouse fan to buy this, you just need to appreciate good music and excellent lyrics. Well Done Lighthouse Family, you have certainly produced one of the best CDs of the year, (certainly be in my Top 5).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars even better than the last 2?, 16 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
a briiliant cd from a brilliant group ,the songs might sound a bit different but they are still uplifting especially "end of the sky" which is excellent,the new single "run" is a song which is something the lighthouse family havnt done before,but it will still be a big hit,buy it you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet!, 17 Dec 2001
This review is from: Whatever Gets You Through The Day (Audio CD)
The lighthouse Family are back, This is the best album i have bought this year, & I have bought a fair few. There is one track ( Happy ) that is realy upbeat, with a great baseline, I love it.
The others are mostly mellow tunes that are so relaxing, you just drift off into your own world whilst listening.
This album is ideal to make love to, Driving around in your car, or just chillin out.
Relaxation guaranteed when you listen to this album.
Buy it, you wont be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whatever Gets You Through The Day
Whatever Gets You Through The Day by Lighthouse Family (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews