Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Solid!
Well, 50 volumes now. And this 50th volume shows that the Now series has got back on top. Back on top from what? Well, let's face it, Now 48 and Now 49 were lacking that certain something, and both were a bit weak. No such problems here. Every track was a hit, and the ones that were lesser hits are widely agreed to be worthy of a place here. CD1 starts off, predictably...
Published on 21 Dec 2001

versus
11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars standard
Once again,its time for another release in the 'now ....'series.Unfortunately i can't say that i was gobsmacked at the variety of songs that appear on this album.Firstly,packaging and presentation is nothing less than drab!A'50th' milestone surely deserves more than 4 dreary coloured blocks bedding a now logo?what about some bright colours and a cover that would stand...
Published on 25 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Solid!, 21 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
Well, 50 volumes now. And this 50th volume shows that the Now series has got back on top. Back on top from what? Well, let's face it, Now 48 and Now 49 were lacking that certain something, and both were a bit weak. No such problems here. Every track was a hit, and the ones that were lesser hits are widely agreed to be worthy of a place here. CD1 starts off, predictably with Kylie's amazing #1 smash. Next, surprisingly, Westlife get included, for the first time, although I can see why as it is by far and away their biggest hit, and continues the tradition of a missed big hit from early in the year included on the Xmas edition. We continue with the massive hits; DJ Otzi, Bob the Builder, Steps, Five, Sophie Ellis-Bextor, City High, Blue - number one the week this came out no less - Nelly Furtado, OPM, all back to back! We then get a few rock anthems from the likes of Wheatus and Sum 41, and blending into some warm ballads - kept fresh again, this time by Kate Winslet, whose What If had yet to be a Top 10 hit! The tracks are also blended more or less seamlessly, the track order is perfect. The only flaw on CD1 is that I hear Ellis-Bextor's Take Me Home has been edited. I can't see why this was done: there was enough time on the disc for it in full. Moving on to CD2: starting with some huge dance hits from Iio and Jamiroquai, then getting a stack of funky RnB from Destiny's Child and D12, continuing up to track 12, when we move well into a bit of pop from Louise and Geri Halliwell. We then get another series of dance, different to the "dance anthems" this disc started off with and more club style. The CD finishes with some funky rhythms from Groove Armada, the So Solid Crew and Afroman's huge hit. Only dissapointments for CD2, firstly that Samantha Mumba's once excellent Baby Come On Over is in original form here and the other is the same as CD1: great track, this time So Solid Crew's 21 Seconds, edited when it could have been in full. So a 5, despite these flaws, because of the top quality hits here. And perhaps the cover could have been better - the Now series is only 50 once...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now hit the big Five-O..., 28 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
And what an album!
Kylie Minogue's worldwide smash hit (Can't Get You Outta My Head) starts us off, and it is the best choice for the year end Now, kicking off with dance pop! Westlife have their #1 smash (Uptown Girl) next, which, although old, is OK, as Now 44 had the likes of Britney, Steps and Shania Twain from the early part of the year, and Now 47 had the likes of the All Saints and Robbie Williams.
Next we get a bit of novelty with Bob The Builder and DJ Otzi. Pretty harmless, fun songs - but no highlights. My personal favourite on the album, is Steps' hit (Chain Reaction), which starts the way for a trio of great pop songs, followed by Five and Sophie Ellis Bextor. The likes of Blue, Wyclef, Nelly Futardo, Alien Ant Farm and City High make up the mid section of Disc One with popular songs - and all listenable. The good thing about these is that if you are a pop fan - the songs are catchy enough, a rock fan - the songs are rocky enough and so on. Wheatus and Travis round out the rock before J Lo, Emma Bunton, Gabrielle and friends end the disc with easy listening pop ballads.
CD2 starts with Iio's hit, not a favourite of mine, but not horrible. Destinys Child, Superman Lovers and D12 come up next, a weird start of varied songs to the disc. R&B/Pop kicks in for about 10 tracks with the likes of Eve and Gwen, Britney, Mis Teeq's excellent track, the fantastic Mary J Blige song, Samantha Mumba (the album version sadly, not the single version), Liberty, Louise and so on. The disc ends with a bunch of forgettable dance tracks thrown between N Trance's top track, and the amusing Afroman.
Overall a nice CD, but with bad editing in Sophie Ellis Bextor's track, and Samantha Mumba's album version, plus the fact that the album does tire rather quickly - and you only end up listening to about 20 of them a few months down the track.
But still a great Disc to have in your collection! Saved me heaps of $$$ instead of buying CD Singles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strong track listing from a landmark release, 16 Nov 2001
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
The 50th release in the Now series contains a particularly strong track listing. Seven of the best selling singles of 2001 are included. A dozen tracks from the Top 30 (in the week before release) make Now 50 more topical than some previous issues.
It would have been nice if "Follow Me" by Uncle Kracker and "Too Close" by Blue had been included rather than ex Spice Girls stuff. This is just a personal opinion and in no way detracts from an excellent release. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
My husband has started to collect all the now albums. He is enjoying listening to all the old music that he used to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NOW 50, 1 Sep 2011
By 
Wayne Philbrick (Evesham, Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
Another Now Album from the NOW collection which is currently up to Now 79. Now 50 album like all in the collection has the essential songs from that year.

The Now collection is a great time line of what the music was like at that year.I'd been collecting the NOW albums and have all but a few. I like the songs on the albums I have I have decided to complete my collect this is why I brought Now 50. I pleased with the Album and will enjoy the songs mixed the other Now Albums in my collection.

I'd recomend to all who like a varied genre of music to try the Now Albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nurse steve, 25 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. S. J. Mcconnon "nurse steve" (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
Good. All the used Nows that i have bought from amazon have been in good condition and have been been excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now 50 is sooooooooo good!, 17 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
Now 50 is one of the best complations ever! If like me, you're into lots of different styles of music, then this is perfect. It has poppy tunes like 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head' by Kylie Minogue, and Westlife's 'Uptown Girl', as well as Rock hits such as 'Smooth Criminal' by Alien Ant Farm and not to mention Sum 41's 'Fat Lip'. Now 50 is also packed full of the top dance tracks of the year such as Supermen Lovers' 'Starlight' and 'Rapture' - Iio. Not forgetting some fab Hip-Hop and RnB tracks such as City High 'What Would You Do?' and Mary J Blige's 'Family Affair'. Now 50 does not fail to come up with a CD full of fab tracks and loads of number 1's from throughtout 2001. Now 50 is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 not out for the hotest compilation series, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
The Now series comes up with another brilliant mix of the hotest singles and music styles around. From Kylie's Can't Get You Out Of My Head, to the indie sound of Travis with the haunting Sing, and the British garage sounds from Mis-teeq with One Night Stand and So Solid Crew's 21 Seconds. There is so much good music to talk about on this complitation that I can't fit in in on my review. If there is one compliation CD to buy this Christmas, choose this one. The Now series goes one from strength to strength, and I look forward to the release of Now 51.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Surprise, 23 Dec 2001
By 
Mr. T. Jaconelli "jaco223" (Bangladesh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
For one reason or another I always seem to get the new 'Now' whether I am given it or if I bought it. Now honestly I can say this was a pleasant surprise. After hearing all the rubbish on te radio recently I thought this would be another compilation of 40 or so horrible tracks. But this was different, it had such a large variety of music. From Pop to garage to R'n'B to dance. It was truly a treat. Even the pop songs were o.k. Put aside steps,dj otzi, allstars and geri and your left with some really good pop songs.Five have released thwir best single yet and this is included along with the the new track from the tyalented boyband 'Blue'. Also on CD1 there are some great rock songs. Alien Ant Farm's 'Smooth Criminal' and Sum 41's 'Fat Lip'.
Onto CD2, and this is where it gets even better. There are some cracking dance tunes on this, but it is a shame the didn't include Daniel Bedingfield. Eve and D12 also present some great hip hop tunes. So SOlid Crew's #1 '21 Seconds' is also included for the garage fans.
Overeall, I was very impressed by the variety of it all. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Number 50! & Still the GREATEST!, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 (Audio CD)
Now enters its 50's volume and the results are still outstanding. NOW 50 has a very impressive tracklist ranging from Kylie Minogue, Liberty, Wyclef Jean, Sophie Ellis-Bextor & Emma Bunton. The 2 CD's cover everything from Pop, R&B, Hip-Hop, Garage, Indie and Dance very well.
All the main hits of the past few months are brought together with a few new releases and a couple key hits of the year. Songs included are Destiny's Child's 'Bootylicious', Victoria Beckham's 'Not Such An Innocent Girl', Blue's 'If You Come Back' & the latest from Lighthouse Family. Kate Winslet's possible Christmas hit 'What If' is also here.
Highlights include Kylie's 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head', Mary J Blige's 'Family Affair, Travis' 'Sing' and So Solid Crew's '21 Seconds'.
However there are a few low points of the album - DJ Otzi's 'Hey Baby', Bob The Builder's 'Mambo Number Five' & Westlife's laughable version of 'Uptown Girl'. But still, this compilation should see you through the Christmas season perfectly well and it's ideal for parties!
A very enjoyable compilation which, is better than any out there at the moment - here's to the next 50!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50
Now That's What I Call Music! Volume 50 by Now Music (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews