Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definative...
I've got all of their albums to date, but I've still gone out and bought this album to stop me having to change CDs all the time. The album mainly focuses on their main hits from 1996 onwards, but there are also many of their previous hits such as the number 1 single A Little Time. One wonders whether the band have decided to release this album now as a kind of 'filler'...
Published on 13 Nov. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Loves
Published 1 month ago by anthony w bell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definative..., 13 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
I've got all of their albums to date, but I've still gone out and bought this album to stop me having to change CDs all the time. The album mainly focuses on their main hits from 1996 onwards, but there are also many of their previous hits such as the number 1 single A Little Time. One wonders whether the band have decided to release this album now as a kind of 'filler' while they look for a new female singer, but apparently they are currently working on a new album.
Even if you are not a particular fan of the band, but like their music, you ought to buy this album. It features their best songs, and I guarentee that you will recognise most of the tracks if you have been listening to your radio since 1989.
I hope this album sells well and promotes the band a bit more since they have recently had a tought time being recognized. Their Painting It Red Album last year was probably their best, but didn't get the recognition it deserved.
If you like the band, buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Collection of Wonderful Hits!, 14 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
After 12 years of producing some of the best, yet most underrated music in the UK the Beautiful South have released 'Solid Bronze - Great Hits', a collection of some of the singles which they have given us over the last few years and a couple of extra tracks are there too!
The album has only one word to describe it - fantastic.
There is something for everyone with a mixture of the more recognised and un-recognised tunes that the South have produced and with the addition of Dream a Little Dream and The Morcheeba Remix of the Mediterranean this is must have for the 1 in 7 owners of the Carry on Up The Charts collection here in the UK, as well as for lovers of good music everywhere.
Without a doubt a five star album which can be listened to in any sort of mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Done It Again!, 3 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
As a long term fan of the Beautiful South, I was concerned when they released their first Greatest Hits - Carry On Up The Charts in 1995 - that their new massive fanbase (1 in 7 households own a Beautiful South Record) would mean that the fantastic, sniping, sarcastic lyrics of Paul Heaton would have to be toned down in order to appeal to a mainstream audience. However, this was not the case, and this second greatest hits proves it. I cannot believe that it's been six years since the last 'Best Of' (the years fly by), but this material illustrates how The Beautiful South changed their style for the better. So we have Don't Marry Her - the controversial single from Blue Is The Colour and a song that warranted a whole page of complaints about the use of the 'F-Word' in the 1997 tour programme (it's the clean version here though) - Perfect 10 from Quench , and Closer Than Most from last year's Painting It Red. Those should please fans of Heaton's witty style. For lovers of those heartfelt Beautiful South songs, there's Blackbird On The Wire and One Last Love Song. In addition to this, there's also a couple of rarities; the fantastic single - only Pretenders To The Throne and the rare B-Side Dream A Little Dream.Plus, of course, the new single Root Of All Evil and a remixed version of The Mediterranean. Overall, this is a superb second Greatest Hits which deserves as much, if not more, pride of place in another 1 in 7 homes. My only gripe would be the fact that a few of the songs on here were also featured on the last one, but, I think it can be forgiven when the band has proved that they are capable of issuing the same level of standards with their current material. This is a CD for all, enough to keep the die-hard completists happy and the same amount to entice the newcomer to discover a great band's fantastic back catalogue. Buy it today, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Hits... Regardless!, 5 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
The Beautiful South have had one Greatest Hits album already... Carry On Up The Charts was a reminder of their pop talent at a time when their singles weren't flying out of the shops. This hugely successful album secured another 4 years of chart toppers.
Their last album, Painting It Red, while having some of the band's best material, was slow to sell.
Time then for Solid Bronze - Great Hits, it seems you people need reminding, yet again. OK so some of the tracks appeared on the first hits album - but you've still got twelve new(ish) hits - Rotterdam, Perfect 10, Don't Marry Her - all Top ten and a bunch of top 20 hits. Not to mention a Morcheeba remix of the wonderful Mediterranean. Also the track which "should've been their other No. 1" Dream A Little Dream, except they never released it as a single - to their loss!
This Hits album could just surprise you us all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful sounds from a great band, 24 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
The combination of great lyrics and wonderful sound has always appealed to me. This album compliments 'Carry on...' very well, and the non- single tracks are more than a bonus. 'Dream...' shows Jacqui's much missed voice at her best, and the sound is brilliant - soak in the bath, turn off the lights and turn it right up!
'Pretenders to the Throne' has always been a favourite of mine, and was wonderful live, too.
One thing puzzles me though - am I the only person who prefers the 'clean' version of Don't Marry Her'???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as I hadn't heard these tracks for years. Lovely selection with it being their greatest hits. Takes me back to when I was 17! If you love The Beautiful South I would urge you to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Heaton 4 Rest of the World 0!!, 4 Jan. 2002
By 
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
Everybody's second favourite band come up with the
goods yet again!Although having nothing to prove to anyone after sustained hits in both single and album charts,this compilation shows off the huge talent that is Paul Heaton.Only Difford & Tilbrook
in the last 20 years or so stand comparison in the
quality of writing contained within this disc.A must for all fans of top-class music with that touch of intelligence and sensitivity - hard to fault in any way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best!, 9 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this for my daughter and she absolutley loves it. Most of Beautiful South's songs are amazing but this is possibly their best album! You just won't want to skip past any of the tracks. Also especially good for those who are just beginning to get into their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great selection, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
Would recommend this CD to fans pf the Beautiful South. Lots old favourites to sing along to in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bootiful, 17 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Solid Bronze - Great Hits (Audio CD)
Sometimes greatest hits arent exactly great, but there's no denying the sheer class of The Beautiful South. Paul Heaton is an excellent writer, capable of injecting humour and wit without taking away from the songs themselves.Both Brianna Corrigan and Jacqui Abbot are great singers and this is just a must-have album for anyone who loves a good tune.My favourites are Dream A Little Dream and the classic Song For Whoever. Either this is simply beautiful or i am simply dumb...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Solid Bronze - Great Hits
Solid Bronze - Great Hits by Beautiful South (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews