Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching and heart warming
This film has a slow start but when it gets going there is nothing to falt it. The story of a teenage delinquant taken in by a caring, if not slightly nieve old lady, who attemts to teach him right from wrong, is a classic plot, enlightened by the spectacular acting, especially Jonathan Taylor Thomas who produces some of his best work to date in this beatiful and heart...
Published on 3 Dec 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feel good movie, good for JTT fans
Picked this up in Blockbuster one afternoon, startled to discover Mark Hamill (yeppers, Luke Skywalker folks!) in a lead role, and sat back for an enjoyable afternoon of warm fuzziness. I won't detail the plotline, but i will say that though the film is good, as is so often the case, the book is better. The ending in the film, while dramatic in the 'ride off into the...
Published on 22 Oct 2003 by Laura


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching and heart warming, 3 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Walking Across Egypt [DVD] (DVD)
This film has a slow start but when it gets going there is nothing to falt it. The story of a teenage delinquant taken in by a caring, if not slightly nieve old lady, who attemts to teach him right from wrong, is a classic plot, enlightened by the spectacular acting, especially Jonathan Taylor Thomas who produces some of his best work to date in this beatiful and heart warming tale.
The features of the DVD only make it more enjoyable, with extra cut scenes, clips from the making of the film and interviews with the actors. The first time I saw it I cried!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feel good movie, good for JTT fans, 22 Oct 2003
This review is from: Walking Across Egypt [DVD] (DVD)
Picked this up in Blockbuster one afternoon, startled to discover Mark Hamill (yeppers, Luke Skywalker folks!) in a lead role, and sat back for an enjoyable afternoon of warm fuzziness. I won't detail the plotline, but i will say that though the film is good, as is so often the case, the book is better. The ending in the film, while dramatic in the 'ride off into the sunset' kinda way, has nothing on the emotion-driven ending the book provides. I urge any fan of the film to find and read the book, as characters like the old lady's children, are explained and more fully fleshed out and as a whole the plot makes a great deal more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this JTT Classic!, 27 Sep 2002
This review is from: Walking Across Egypt [DVD] (DVD)
Walking Across Egypt is a largely unknown movie starring Jonathan Taylor Thomas (formerly Randy in Home Improvement). I discovered it by accident through surfing e-shops and thought I'd buy it just to see what it was like - and I'm glad I did!
JTT delivers a breathtaking performance as a homeless delinquent who finds a home and a friend in the most unlikeliest of places. Ellen Burstyn is equally as good as his saviour.
Buy this movie and sit back to enjoy a truly great feel-good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb movie -- Very enjoyable to watch, 14 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Walking Across Egypt [DVD] (DVD)
Great acting by Ellen Burstyn. Jonathan Taylor Thomas turns in a good performance as well. The storyline is rehashed and predictable, but these two work so spendidly together, it just doesn't seem to matter. This movie is definitely worth your while, especially if you're a fan of either of the two leads. (this refers to the US VHS version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, also for teens., 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Across Egypt [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful movie, truely remarkable story and wonderful acting by everyone. Would recommend to not show to under 12 year olds due to some swearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this film, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Across Egypt [DVD] (DVD)
It is a feel good film I saw years ago and felt sentimental enough to buy it again, it was ordered and delivered within 3 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teenager in trouble, 14 Jan 2010
By 
A. Jevons "jevosworld" (Cannock Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An enjoyable film with a strong message! Fine performances from Ellen Burstyn and Jonathon Taylor Thomas who develop a chemistry in their interaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REALLY WONDERFUL TALE, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my all-time favourite films. All the cast are brilliant, and it is a lovely story told without violence, swearing or anything else but the art of real story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking Across Egypt [DVD]
Walking Across Egypt [DVD] by Arthur Allan Seidelman (DVD - 2002)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews