Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but check before you upgrade!
There is no doubt that Office XP is a great product, and very useful. I could not do without it. MS Works just doesn't compare. Microsoft Excel and Word are wonderfully flexible. MS Excel can be used for financial and scientific work, and as a database as well. MS Word can be used for Business and Creative Writing, and for Desk Top Publishing and Web Design. (Obviously if...
Published on 10 Jan 2003 by A. J. Kirke

versus
53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but nowhere near as good as Office 2000 for Students
I bought Office XP for a friend to install on their machine. Whilst I was installing I took the time to have a look over the package and was disappointed.
When I bought Office 2000 for Students and Teachers, it was the Premium version - I received a 4-cd pack with Word, Excel, Outlook, Powerpoint, Access, Publisher, Frontpage, Photodraw and the Small Business Tools...
Published on 11 Dec 2002 by Mr. R. Long


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but check before you upgrade!, 10 Jan 2003
By 
A. J. Kirke "alexis kirke" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
There is no doubt that Office XP is a great product, and very useful. I could not do without it. MS Works just doesn't compare. Microsoft Excel and Word are wonderfully flexible. MS Excel can be used for financial and scientific work, and as a database as well. MS Word can be used for Business and Creative Writing, and for Desk Top Publishing and Web Design. (Obviously if you want a professional database, or want to do professional web design and DTP, you should consider using more specialist packages.) Microsoft Outlook, another part of Office XP, is a very flexible and user-friendly email package. However in this review I am focusing on Word and Excel, since they are the main value-added in MS Office.
If you have bought a PC/Laptop with just MS Works pre-installed, then you should seriously consider buying MS Office if you want to get the most out of your computer.
There is the question of whether Office XP will feel like a real upgrade to users of Office 95 to Office 2000. For the average user, Excel may not seem massively changed. And if all you are doing in Word is basic Creative and Report writing, then you may not feel there are big changes in the new version of Word. However the Web Design functionality is much improved over Office 95 in MS Word. So if you don't have Front Page you may find MS Word XP useful.
Overall, MS Office is an excellent package. If you have Office 95 it may be worth your while getting MS Office XP. If you are an average user and have Office 2000, you should look carefully at the functions you need for Word Processing and consider whether moving to Office XP is really worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missing Access, 15 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
I like most Microsoft Office products (despite their faults!). I have always recommended that staff and students buy them. But no longer. This package reduces the options available to the straightforward presentation and communications software. Where, oh where is Access? This may be a difficult package to use but it is crucial for students to be able to learn it.
So if you are a student I would go for Star Office until Microsoft gets its act together and offers the Professional version to students and teachers - something it always has done in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but nowhere near as good as Office 2000 for Students, 11 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. R. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
I bought Office XP for a friend to install on their machine. Whilst I was installing I took the time to have a look over the package and was disappointed.
When I bought Office 2000 for Students and Teachers, it was the Premium version - I received a 4-cd pack with Word, Excel, Outlook, Powerpoint, Access, Publisher, Frontpage, Photodraw and the Small Business Tools for 130.
The Office 2000 package was a real bargain, and I still use it and will continue to do so. In one huge package I ended up with all the office software I will ever need. I don't like Office XP, because I think it's missing too much to be good. Don't get me wrong, Word, Excel and Outlook are all good packages - but with Sun's StarOffice available for 40 and with OpenOffice.org available online for free, why should you fork out a fair whack of student money for half an office suite?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but try open office, 19 Aug 2003
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
Is the cup half full or half empty? You can knock Microsoft's stuff if you want to. It is easy to find faults with it but it is generally good and it is the industry standard. The big draw back with the "standard" version is the loss of the Access database. The other thing to remember is that this version is a "student" version - designed to familiarise the young with the Microsoft way - so there are licence restrictions. If you are a freelance worker or a home office business using it for work then you may be in breach of the licence. But rather than spend any money why not first try out the free - it's free because hundreds of programmers gave their time to it - open office suite (similar products to word, excel,powerpoint etc). You don't get a stand alone database with that either although there are database functions in it. If you don't like it - and there are draw backs sometimes - then spend your hard earned cash or your student loan on something like this. At this price it is great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cheap Way To Get Industry Standard Tools, 3 May 2004
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
If you want the industry standard tools and qualify as a student or teacher, then this is the one to get. It doesn't have Access or Publisher which the previous deals did have, but it's still considerably lower than the full version. Openoffice/Staroffice will do the basic stuff for most people, but when you need the advanced formulaic functions of Excel, there's nothing better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars seems easy enough..., 22 Jun 2002
By 
E. K. Mackay "stargazing4eva" (birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
my mum and i are both @ college, i'm doing a-levels and she's beginning a computer course, we decided that buying the students version was A:cheaper and B:had just what we needed without all the rubbish you normally have to install as part of the package.
this package in particular comes in three cd's. the first one must be loaded, the other two are optional. once the cd is in the drive, a complete novice could easily install the four programs, it really is vry simple; we kept on lookin for the hidden catches, but there really aren't any.
the second cd contains a masive collection of clip-art and various fonts and graphics which will be useful. i suggest that when using word or powerpoint once loaded, that u put the 2nd cd in the drive because otherwise, your choice of clip-arts are very limited, this is probably the only set back we have encountered.
overall, i would definately recommend this package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only way to go for scientists..., 5 Aug 2003
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
First of all let me state that I'm in the 3rd year of a chemistry degree and use spreadsheets every week (this review deals with Excel as pretty much all word processors do the same thing whereas spreadsheets vary greatly).
I've tried out most of the competition (Lotus 1-2-3, Corel Quattro, Sun StarOffice etc.) but none can compare with the Data Analysis and Graphing capabilities of Excel. It has the most advanced XY graphs of any of the office packages, with the ability to add X and Y error bars (with the exception of Quattro, the most anyone else offers is Y error bars, and most offer none) and also has the easiest to use Regression Line options including displaying the equation on the graph (useful for experimental data as the value of the regression line on the graph can be different for the data analysis toolpak regression add-in).
The Data Analysis Toolpak is a must for anyone doing serious scientific research with ANOVA and Regression options amongst others. These format all the output data in an easy to read way with headings and bold print etc.
The only minor quibble I have is that the Analysis Regression is static and so doesn't update with a change in the data (OpenOffice's regression, although less easy to read as it doesn't put the headings in, does update with a change in data).
That quibble aside, until OpenOffice.org implements X-error bars and displaying the trendline regression data on graphs, MS Office is simply the best for scientific analysis (or at least a cost-effective one for students).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 131 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simply not a good choice, 15 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
I have used Word since 1995 and found it quite a pleasant little program back then. It has gone bad, however, in its bloatedness and the touchiness with which it will no longer open previous versions as soon as you (pay to) upgrade. I also find the same issues with Excel and marginally with PowerPoint.
This new version has many new features no doubt drummed up in marketing meatings, but which are not worth the price, whether at the student price or the full price.
I strongly recommend that anyone considering this Microsoft Office product evaluate StarOffice and OpenOffice.org before making any purchase. StarOffice and OpenOffice.org open all of the Microsoft files you're already created, will allow you to make files in Microsoft (Word and so on) formats or its own format, and generally gives you the same features as Microsoft office for muich less. OpenOffice.org is free, and StarOffice is quite cheap.
This product is not a good choice in my opinion, in spite of its ample array of features, and StarOffice and OpenOffice.org are what I use instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best microsoft product to date, 18 Oct 2002
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
Office XP is just fantastic for students. At the moment im doing AS and when my Dad got this I found it was so much easier to use than the standard Microsoft Works 2000 and Office 95 which I had.
It is great for making huge essays, especially when it comes to structuring them. Word makes all these automatic bullet points, corrects my words even without checking and can make these cool links to headings on my essay sections.
The advanced options make it so much easier to paste internet material on pages.
I can translate my words into different languages for french coursework for example.
The powerpoint tools are much more advanced than previous versions. Excel is also great because it is so easy to formulate caculations and cell formatting.

The best improvement to me was the help it gave me. The inteface was really thorough and had a lot of detailed run throughs on how to do use the special presentation features. The step by step guide has everything for making excellent work. Also the huge library of images was a great way to illustrate some of my work and use it in my 10 min class presentations in History.
Great package with all the necessary features for making the best pieces of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just say yes!, 4 Feb 2003
This review is from: Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers (CD-ROM)
This was the perfect package for a poor student who was incredibly disturbed by the price of the non-student package! It includes everuthing you actually need without the extra bits that only take up space on the hard drive anyway. Also the tutorial provided is extremely helpful and even a computer reject like myself was able to work eveything within a few hours, didn't know word could be so clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers
Microsoft Office XP Standard for Students and Teachers by Microsoft Software (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
99.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews