Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over 20 years of quality
The music and songwriting quality runs through this compilation. For the new listeners it will be a chance to hear all the classic songs(Road to Hell, On the Beach, Fool) but also a chance to hear the old songs that are never heard on the radio, such as Steel River and Nothing to fear. As well as the more recent work that has been published in public silence, e.g All...
Published on 21 Nov. 2001

versus
43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NO NO NO - They're NOT the ORIGINAL tracks...!
I could cry. I asked for this CD for Christmas as, when I was younger, I had several Chris Rea albums on vinyl and I didn't want to buy them all again. But this 'Best of..' album contains some (horrible) reworked tracks from "New Light Through Old Windows" and not the original tracks from the original albums. To my mind, they are now overcomplicated and 'fussy'. If you...
Published on 28 Dec. 2003 by Mr. Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over 20 years of quality, 21 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
The music and songwriting quality runs through this compilation. For the new listeners it will be a chance to hear all the classic songs(Road to Hell, On the Beach, Fool) but also a chance to hear the old songs that are never heard on the radio, such as Steel River and Nothing to fear. As well as the more recent work that has been published in public silence, e.g All summer long and Blue Cafe. For the Rea enthusiasts there are a few differences that make it a worthwhile buy, e.g an edited version of Nothing to fear is magic. The Josiephine track is new arrangement with a more jazzy guitar feel more similar to his live interpretation. The Senna tribute is a reminder of the under-rated La Passione work. There are obviously loads of tracks that could have been included such as Texas, Marvin, Going Fishing, Olive Oil etc.. The only track I don't think should be on here is Driving home for Xmas - perhaps Joys of Xmas would be a better choice. In some ways this 3rd best of should have been a double CD so to really reflect the full and varied range of Rea work - but this should be a great xmas present for all lovers of bluesy rock pop music. Look forward to any new album - as his music never dissapoints! If only other great artists such as Knopfler and McCartney could equal Rea's creative energy. Then again it would cost a fortune!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NO NO NO - They're NOT the ORIGINAL tracks...!, 28 Dec. 2003
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
I could cry. I asked for this CD for Christmas as, when I was younger, I had several Chris Rea albums on vinyl and I didn't want to buy them all again. But this 'Best of..' album contains some (horrible) reworked tracks from "New Light Through Old Windows" and not the original tracks from the original albums. To my mind, they are now overcomplicated and 'fussy'. If you want the (great) original tracks buy the original albums. I am very disappointed and I feel a bit conned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, but ANOTHER Best Of, 12 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
The songs on this album represent a much better selection than the last, but it is not different enough to warrant many who have the original from buying it. I would have preferred an album of live/unreleased material in the style of the Beatles Anthologies or the CSNY triple album. This album is perfect for anyone who does not have much Rea material. I would have liked to see my favorite song, "Soft Top, Hard Shouder" and "Whatever Happened to Benny Santini" appear, but the inclusion of "Steel River" makes up for it. Great great music, shame we've heard it all before.
(Dancing on a Stony Road - coming soon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars another disappointment !, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
I bought this on the basis of previous reviews saying that the version of Josephine is close to the original on Shamrock Diaries LP. I was really disappointed to find that is not the case at all - it is just another funked up version which is vastly inferior to the original. Much as I love Chris Rea's music I wish he would not do this with so many of his songs! I have been searching for years for a cd version of Josephine which is the original but I don't think it exists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Looking to replace those Chris Reas 45s? This may disappoint., 13 Sept. 2014
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
The very best of...? Well kind of. There's an awful lot of 2nd guessing going on here!

I was looking for the singles collection and expected this might be it (since many of these were singles). But no, for example "On the Beach" is the full version which outstays its welcome by quite some time - as compared to the tight and classy single, this full version just rambles along wondering what to do next. Then, Josephine is not the hit version - it's the slower more acoustic version, which IMO turns the song into a dirge rather than a love song. "Road to Hell" and "Fool" are I think original singles versions as is "Driving Home for Christmas" - a great track for sure, but you'll already have numerous copies of that...!

So, if like me you were looking for a genuine singles collection to replace those old 45s - this may disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prodigous talent showcase album!, 28 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
Chris Rea is prolific. His talent is too. His music has always evolved and explored successfully the possibilities his huge talent offers. This album contains many of his very best songs. It is therefore either a perfect introduction to Chris Rea that will allow him to seduce you into buying more of his music or it is a brilliant compilation showcase of his prodigous talent. Whatever, the album is a delight. For me high lights are, on the beach, josephine, lets dance, and I can hear your heartbeat, but those are only 4 personal favourites out of 17 gorgeous tracks. So if you are new to Chris Rea, this album is a great buy. If you are a longstanding fan it is still a great buy with his best songs, but will not capture the "mood" of his albums which are so gorgeous in their own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How many great songs can one man write?, 24 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
Intelligent music that reaches your heart. Finely crafted songs from a unique voice (both literally and metaphorically). Understated guitar but all the more effective for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chris at his best on this album, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
Brilliant, really enjoyed listening to this every song was good, I picked this album from previous reviews and was not dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST of Chris Rea, 12 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
As with all Chris Rea tracks, you get what it says on the tin. I was a bit disappointed that a couple of tracks had been " cut short " Road to Hell is a classic example on this particular CD. Having said that, this purchase is good value for money. It would have been nice to have seen a full list of tracks before committing my dosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The non-bland parts of Rea's back catalogue, 8 Feb. 2007
This review is from: The Very Best Of Chris Rea (Audio CD)
Rea is often described as middle of the road, bland and dull.

That might be true of some of his albums but not this Best Of. When you cherry pick the one or two highlights from an extensive back catalogue of albums you get an unrepresentatively excellent slab of music.

These have great melodies and lyrics. His voice is interestingly gravelly, but not in that fake sounding Pearl Jam/Audioslave/Gomez way.

Shame about the last track - a dull seven minute near instrumental.

I've listened to this lots and is always no more than a few weeks away from being heard again. Excellent music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Chris Rea
The Very Best Of Chris Rea by Chris Rea (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews