Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2001
It's true, nothing comes close to seeing Neil Finn live, in the flesh. The sound, the presence and the rapport Neil establishes with each crowd that exists for that night when he rewrites the music world for those adorning faces, blessed with enough wisdom to come and see him perform. This album however, stamps something different on the whole music world. Since Crowded House split, Neil has reinvented his approach to music with each new album. This album is no different, and offering a further digression with collaborations with the likes of Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder and Johnnie Marr, this album is not only refreshing, but exceptional. Tim Finn's introverted, melancholic harmonies add somehting special too, particularly on 'Stuff and Nonsense' with Eddie Vedder and 'Paradise (wherever you are) with Neil. The gem of the album is what Neil Does to 'There is a light that Never Goes out' by Morrissey and Marr. Only Neil Finn could make such melodies sound so beatuiful. I don't know how long the world can bury it's head in the sand in ignorance of such genius. Neil Finn is one of the most sophisticated songwriters of our time. Moreover, his vocals and ability to enchant and dazzle with his live performances are as unique as any human fingerprint. Buy One Nil before this (and then buy this!)and don't concern yourself too much with the fact that it's an annogram of 'No Neil'. This unique talent will be around for a long time. This album is something more than special. Like it or not, Neil Will have his way and you'll no doubt wake up singing something along them lines or maybe "and if a double decker bus crashes into us, to die by your side is such a heavenly way to die." Reasons to buy it - Exceptional versions of: 1) Aytime, 2) There is a light..., 3) Turn and run, 4) Paradise (wherevever you are), and of course, 5) Don't dream it's Over. Reasons not to buy it: I can't think of any, sorry!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2001
Finn has always been an excellent live act - but his stint at St James in Auckland in April 2001 was oustanding. Perhaps the listing of his "friends" would elucidate this: Ed and Phil of Radiohead, Johnny Marr (now rumoured to be writing with Neil Finn), Lisa Germano, Sebastian Steinberg of Soul Coughing and someone called Eddie Vedder (a lifelong fan of Finn's work according to various interviews). The magical thing is that these big names *sound* like a tight band and they lift Finn's amazing songs up to an even higher level. Highly recommended - not only to established Finn fans but also to casual bystanders.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2006
This record is just fantastic. Neil Finn is most likely the best songwriter around. Neil Finn and Paul McCartney, that's pretty much it as `Worlds best songwriters' goes, in my opinion. To hear him play with friends and professionals, even family, like he does on this album is a privilege.

Essentially Neil planned to get together with some musicians he admires (Johnny Marr, Eddie Vedder, Lisa Germano a.o.), rehearse in comfortable surroundings in New Zealand, play a few gigs as a band and disband. In addition he brought his brother Tim Finn and his son Liam with his band Betchadupa along for the gig, and that's pretty much it.

What came out of this is just so good, I almost feel like crying, I'm so upset I couldn't be there to witness it. But the good news is of course this CD and the wonderful concert DVD released at the same time.

There are a couple of mild duds (Johnny Marr on his own is a rather pedestrian affair), but all over this is just a sensory festival. Highpoint of the affair, Eddie Vedder and Tim Finn rocking out alongside the kids in Betchadupa to Uncle Tim's 'I See Red', with a proud Neil watching from the side.

An early version of Edible Flowers (later released on Everyone is here) sends shivers down my spine, showing that the Finn Brothers grasp on a great tune and superior lyrics are as strong as ever.

Buy it, now!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2001
In was about time that Neil Finn released a proper live album. On this cd Neil (and Tim) Finn are assisted by a very talented bunch of musicians, including Lisa Germano and Johnny Marr (The Smiths), helping them performing some of their own well-known songs. Also included are vocal perfomances by these artists as well as Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam). My favorite, though, is Neil's version of The Smiths' There Is a Light That Never Goes Out. His performance of the song is astounding and it makes me want to hear even more Smiths-covers from him. If you're a fan this release is indispensible.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2002
This one-off concert is a superb treat for all Neil Finn fans. A host of famous freinds & brother Tim, make this cd a must have. This album has many treats in store, but I have to say my favourites are "stuff & nonsense" & of course, "don't dream it's over".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
I wanted this CD because I like the song "There's a light that never goes out". I didn't like the rest of de CD so much in the beginning. I mist something. So I bought and watched the DVD. Now after I have seen the DVD, I like the CD more than before. On the DVD there is more tot see and hear. The CD is good for listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Anyone with an ear for good music should have a listen to to this, some outstanding collaborations with Neil Finn in particular Johnny Marr and Pearl Jam. Not a Crowded House fan but this live recording gets a 10/10 from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Everything Neil Finn touches is next to magic for me, he so affable the girls love him and he is such a consummate professional.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
A fine solid album by Neil Finn and 'Friends'(Eddie Vedder, Lisa Germano, Johnny Marr, a guitarist and drummer from Radiohead and family members Tim and Liam Finn).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Exactly as described. I like a lot this seller and buy from them whenever I can. Never disappointed me. Fantastic service. A++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.26
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.