Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, appalling DVD
I love this film, but I'll confine this review to the wretched DVD. I own hundreds of DVDs and this is without a doubt the worst quality of them all. The colors are all faded and the transfer is not in the proper aspect ratio.

Worse, the 4% PAL speed-up is really noticable because the film is filled with well-known pop songs, always the worst victims of...
Published on 21 Jun 2007 by James Luckard

versus
65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad technical quality
Yes, yes, excellent film and all that. Granted. But I would like to warn everybody that the technical quality of this DVD doesn't at all do justice to the artistic quality of the content. The picture is grainy (yes, grainy, which is particularly weird in a DVD), it looks positively awful on any screen larger than a laptop, the 4:3 format is disappointing, and there are...
Published on 11 Dec 2006 by Luiza


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, appalling DVD, 21 Jun 2007
By 
James Luckard (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I love this film, but I'll confine this review to the wretched DVD. I own hundreds of DVDs and this is without a doubt the worst quality of them all. The colors are all faded and the transfer is not in the proper aspect ratio.

Worse, the 4% PAL speed-up is really noticable because the film is filled with well-known pop songs, always the worst victims of speed-up, which sound like they're being sung by The Chipmunks on this DVD.

Luckily the film has been released on DVD in the US, in a fantastic looking widescreen version, and it's NTSC, so there's no speed-up. I bought it and sold my copy of this release, which is garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad technical quality, 11 Dec 2006
This review is from: Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Yes, yes, excellent film and all that. Granted. But I would like to warn everybody that the technical quality of this DVD doesn't at all do justice to the artistic quality of the content. The picture is grainy (yes, grainy, which is particularly weird in a DVD), it looks positively awful on any screen larger than a laptop, the 4:3 format is disappointing, and there are absolutely no frills (extra features), not even subtitles or chapter overview. A film of this quality deserves a much better DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !, 2 Jan 2008
By 
Charles (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
It is difficult to say something original about this film, something that hasn't been said 10 times before.

But it *is* excellent.

I had heard it was a comedy, that you couldn't stop laughing, well it isn't exactly true. There *are* some very funny jokes and lines, but overall the movie is rather tragic. Somes storylines definitely prevent you from laughing and may even leave you a bit down. Fortunately, the pace is just right, and you never stay on one depressing thing for too long - everything stays emotionnal and personnal without falling in pathetically melodramatic stuff.

The actors are of course excellent. Thomson as a desperate spinster and Laurie as a sober jingle writer are hilarious. Slattery is very good as well but his character is so irritating that it's difficult to say you "loved him" in this film. Staunton is wonderful in her overprotecting mother part, and carries out alone a good part of the tragic dimension of the film. Fry is wonderful of course though he doesn't seem to be really "acting" : It looks just like his old self -except that he is not "in the vagina business" at all in reality, neither does he have aids or is an English lord -.

Anyway, this film is definitely a must-see, too bad the dvd in itself sucks so much. No subtitles, and no chapter division ! It's the first time I've ever seen that in a dvd. As for the image quality, it is like watching a VHS...

Charles, Paris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Marvellous!!, 25 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter's Friends [VHS] (VHS Tape)
After seeing Peter's Friends I have regained faith in the British film industry. It is one of the best films i've ever seen. The cast is perfect, the soundtrack is brilliant and the overall scripting is first class. It was particularly interesting to see Hugh Laurie in a different role. He played his character so impressively which proves how incredibly versitile he is. Also, the characters were so likeable which is quite rare in some films and the whole cast blended together brillianly. An hilairious, touching and entertaining feature film all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Stephen Fry in Peter's Friends, 27 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
A favourite film of mine from days gone by, not that long ago so still worth watching. It is not as funny as its comedic tag would suggest so if you want a weep then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST SEE BRITISH COMEDY, 9 Oct 2006
By 
I. L. Morris (Wiltshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I went to the cinema in 1992 to see this I was 15,I loved it so much I went again the next saturday,when it came out on video a few months later I bought it,and myself and my family and friends watched it so much the tape wore out!!.I came on here to buy it on dvd and I cant wait to see it again,it's a fantastic piece of british comedy with a cast of great british actors,and a brilliant sound track.Its a great film that leaves you feeling all warm inside,its filmed in a beautiful mansion in the heart of the English country side at Christmas.Its fun and entertaining.... all in all a great way to spend 2 hours (or there abouts)and I guarantee you'll watch it over and over again. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter's Friends [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is so much better than your Four Weddings/Notting Hill overhyped nonsense. If you want a brilliant storyline and top notch acting, you won't do much better than this. Each character is rather likeable and you get to know them all personally. In particular, the relationship between the annoyingly brilliant Brian (Tony Slattery) and Sarah (Alphonsia Emmanuel) is excellent and soooo true!! Rita Rudner shines in her role, also, but I can't find a fault with the whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and entertaining, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is a fabulous movie with a wonderful cast and great soundtrack. It has given me some of my favourite quotes and it's terrific to see a movie so firmly planted in a timeslot but that is still timeless. This movie is a firm favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, uplifting entertainment, 12 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Peter gathers his friends together for a Christmas they will never forget, but not everything goes quite according to plan.
This film is just fantastic. It has good actors, good acting AND a great story. It also has a really 'friendly feel', which maybe because nearly all of the cast knew each other before hand, and were actually friends. You get the feeling that this was just an excuse to work together in a lovely house!
Brilliant Sunday afternoon viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter's Friends, 3 July 2009
This review is from: Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is a little gem of a film which can be watched again and again.
The best of British talent is a joy to behold.
A warning though, keep your remote control near by as you will be adjusting the sound through the entire film, but the film justifies this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992]
Peter's Friends [DVD] [1992] by Kenneth Branagh (DVD - 2001)
£5.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews