Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album full of great tuneful songs!
Ocean Colour Scene seem to have been around for a long time. This compilation traces their history right back. It doesn't include tracks from their first album, which OCS will say was not their best.
The tracks on this are excellent and anyone who enjoys guitar based music coupled with good melodies and thoughtful lyrics will love this. To give an example of what to...
Published on 1 Feb 2002

versus
6 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't this be an EP?
Don't get me wrong, OCS are a band in a great tradition. A tradition of solid musicianship, solid songwriting, and albums where all the tracks are nicely mixed together.
However, they also suffer from a fanatical devotion to Paul Weller, a few too many samey tunes, and a habit of doing dross ballads like "Beautiful Thing". I think the phrase...
Published on 14 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Best of Ocs, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
good greatest hits
the riverboat song,day we caught the train
hundred mile city,better day,huckleberry grove
very good 4/5 good 90s band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill!, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
90% of the songs on this album are pure class! chuck it on in the car you"ll love it.great band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Was feeling a bit nostalgic so bought this for old-times sake - well worth it, great in car music, especially the brilliant Travellers Tune!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
this cd has the best songs produced by ocs, great value, brings back some good memories over the years. love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Good album, some great songs , if your new to ocean colour scene this is a great all rounder album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
One of the best greatest hits albums i have ever heard. Even the lesser known songs are still of the highest quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Buy, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Marycdelmer "Maisie D" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
I saw Ocean Colour Scene at the Oxygen Festival two years ago and loved the performance so much that I had to go shopping for their greatest hits. Brilliant album did not disappoint at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 12 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Well I have to agree this a great album!. Who ever mixed this album is absolutely brilliant, the stereo is just great! I use Winamp pro with Widesound DSP, Loudmax and Audioburst FX system addons. With Sennheiser HD 25-1 II headphones it sounds just awsome. Enjoy I hope it gets you tapping and smiling like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't this be an EP?, 14 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Don't get me wrong, OCS are a band in a great tradition. A tradition of solid musicianship, solid songwriting, and albums where all the tracks are nicely mixed together.
However, they also suffer from a fanatical devotion to Paul Weller, a few too many samey tunes, and a habit of doing dross ballads like "Beautiful Thing". I think the phrase "erggh" describes it pretty effectively.
Mind you, their tracks from their "Moseley Shoals" period still stand up well, as does the racey "Hundred Mile High City". These make it in fact a worthy purchase should you not own them all anyway.
As for the rest, "Profit In Peace" is possibly the worst attempt at a protest song ever written. "Travellers Tune" and "Better Day", both album-mates of "Hundred Mile.." stand up OK, but are not really staggeringly good songs.
In conclusion, if you like Ocean Colour Scene, and own none of their records, buy it, as it contains less filler than any of their atrocious albums. If you own any albums, think carefully.
Oh, and bonus points for not putting any songs from your first album on (strong candidate for worst album ever). Mind you, that would be taking the mickey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of
Songs For The Front Row - The Best Of by Ocean Colour Scene (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews