Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection of Old - Skool Classics
Pump up the volume is a fanstastic album of the best old skool classics from the 80s and 90s. Featuring some of greatest tracks from N-Trance and Adamski; you may not remember all the names but you'll rememember the songs after blasting them out on your stereo; especially with that thumping bass line that they contain.
The music is great whether is being listened to...
Published on 11 Nov 2001

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars All filler - No thriller
If you want underground old skool this is'nt for you.
Nothing rare on this doppelganger of an album - you've heard it all before.
Crap.
Published 15 months ago by Doc Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection of Old - Skool Classics, 11 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pump Up The Volume: Classic Club Sounds From the Late 80s & Early 90s (Audio CD)
Pump up the volume is a fanstastic album of the best old skool classics from the 80s and 90s. Featuring some of greatest tracks from N-Trance and Adamski; you may not remember all the names but you'll rememember the songs after blasting them out on your stereo; especially with that thumping bass line that they contain.
The music is great whether is being listened to in the car or at a party; it will make u want to get up and dance and re-live those old-skool days. I loved this CD; because it was superb selection of the best disco/dance/old-skool hip-hop from the 80s and early 90s; turn on your stero and pump up that volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great CD, 28 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pump Up The Volume: Classic Club Sounds From the Late 80s & Early 90s (Audio CD)
I agree with the first review in relation to this CD.
One thing worth stating is that this is packed with mostly commercial tracks - I recommended Rave Nation for some of the less known Hardcore tunes. I got both CDs for Christmas and rate both equally - if you like this one yu'll probably enjoy Rave Nation and there is little duplication in the track listings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good attempt at defining a generation, 5 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pump Up The Volume: Classic Club Sounds From the Late 80s & Early 90s (Audio CD)
The late 80's and early 90's were a turning point for the UK music scene, and boy, something had to be done about the dominance of cheesy American pop and cock-rock! Ironically it was UK artists borrowing from US underground music styles, but putting a different spin on things and basically progressing beyond the disco-based US versions.
Most of this CD is great, with classic songs that turned music around, such as "Ebeneezer Goode", "Pump Up The Volume", "Theme From S'Express" and "Papua New Guinea". There is also some great crossover pop music from the period such as "Ride on Time" and "The Power". Unfortunately there is also some third rate, jump on the bandwagon crap too like "Ride Like the Wind" and "Please Don't Go".
This was the music that defined a generation, and without it I would hate to think what the 90's would have been like. Sadly the music industry has stamped on the creative forces that started all this, and the 00's are just full of the sterile 'Pop Idol' type acts. I really hope that something similar to the music revolution that came out of rave happens again. And soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wicked, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pump Up The Volume: Classic Club Sounds From the Late 80s & Early 90s (Audio CD)
great. love the old school. most all have the same songs on all the time. this is a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars All filler - No thriller, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: Pump Up The Volume: Classic Club Sounds From the Late 80s & Early 90s (Audio CD)
If you want underground old skool this is'nt for you.
Nothing rare on this doppelganger of an album - you've heard it all before.
Crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Remembering proper dance music!, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. S. M. Codd (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pump Up The Volume: Classic Club Sounds From the Late 80s & Early 90s (Audio CD)
Bought this for my husband's 40th. Excellent present and we had fun remembering the tracks (and the clubbing that went with them!). Fab album for anyone who was clubbing in the late 80's early 90's. Great dance tracks - embarressingly we still knew most of the words from our favourite songs! Made a great 40th gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT SOUNDS OF YOUTH, 12 April 2010
By 
Derek J. Greaves (AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pump Up The Volume: Classic Club Sounds From the Late 80s & Early 90s (Audio CD)
I WAS LIVING IN WARRINGTON WHEN PUMP UP THE VOLUME WAS AT ITS PEAK,AND SINCE SOME 20 ODD YEARS AGO,I TRIED TO GET A CD OF THE RECORDIND,AND WELL ,HERE IT IS,GREAT OTHER TRACKS OF THIS POST PUNK ERA ,FILLED WITH LOTS OF ADOLECENT MEMORIES............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa476fdc8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews