Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best country rock has to offer
I got turned on to Lynyrd Skynyrd when I heard 'Sweet Home Alabama' for the first time. I thought I would buy this album to see what they were like over the course of an album. They are awesome! There are no two ways about it, 'Pronounced' is brilliant.
It has it all, great songs, great riffs and one of the most amazing rock songs ever written in 'Freebird'. The...
Published on 14 May 2002

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 Channel only SACD
This disc is released as an SACD, but I was very disappointed that it is only recorded in 2 channel, not 5.1 which in my opinion is where SACD excels! That said it is still an enjoyable disc, any disc with the classic "Free Bird" on is enjoyable, just lacking the WOW factor of a 5.1 recording. What I do find disappointing is Amazon's lack of information about the...
Published 17 months ago by Grampus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best country rock has to offer, 14 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: (pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) (Audio CD)
I got turned on to Lynyrd Skynyrd when I heard 'Sweet Home Alabama' for the first time. I thought I would buy this album to see what they were like over the course of an album. They are awesome! There are no two ways about it, 'Pronounced' is brilliant.
It has it all, great songs, great riffs and one of the most amazing rock songs ever written in 'Freebird'. The guitar solo is longer than most songs!!! I would highly recommend this album to anyone who loves the guitar as an instrument!! Truly amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very,very good......In fact ,it's brilliant., 13 Sept. 2006
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: (pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) (Audio CD)
This Skynyrd line up were superb & this is a very fine record. No quibbles - it's just pure brilliance. Every track is outstanding - great tunes, gritty vocals & superb musicianship. An absolute "must have" (along with all the other albums from the pre plane crash Synyrd).

To be honest, you'd have to be barking mad not to buy this record - it's more than "just" a rock album, it's touched by genius.

Superb in every sense. A truly marvellous record by a truly excellent band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pronounced Excellent!, 13 Jan. 2005
This review is from: (pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) (Audio CD)
Although i had heard Skynard tracks before, after buying this album on vinyl resantly i was shocked at it's brilliance. Not only does the album contain the rock classic 'Freebird' argueably rocks second greatest ever track behind Stairway, but all of the other tracks on the record are superb. From the opening riff of 'I ain't the one' the album takes the listener on a good only fashioned rock'n'roll journey which include the haunting 'Tuesday's gone' , the lyricly biting 'Things goin on' as well as the sheer rock genius of 'Gimme three steps'.
To sum this album up is tough all i can say is that as a student of today i , after buying the album exactly 30 years after it's realise, still find it to be as fresh and sensational as it was when first relised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Fried Classic!!, 8 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. S. A. Woodfield (High Wycombe, Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: (pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) (Audio CD)
Well this is without doubt the album that really put the genre of Southern Rock on the map, and is the album that most people including myself would recommend as a first port of call when investigating the rather diverse but musically exciting genre that is southern rock, this album is a particularly engaging listen from start to finish and showcases the amazing musical talents possessed by these bunch of ragtag whiskey swilling, hard fighting, hard living geezers from Jacksonville, Florida.
I honestly do not know how to describe the Southern Rock genre in words, but if you cross a healthy dose of blues with a bit of country and then a steely never say die attitude, then you have what is often the basis for this unusual musical genre, but that doesn't begin to even touch on the fact that the people who normally play this style of music are almost always extremely competent musicians

As for Skynyrd they are definitely no exception to the rule and with this album they made one of the all-time greatest rock debuts, on the same par as Appetite For Destruction or Van Halen, unfortunately though they showed plenty of promise and in actual fact never made a bad album, they never quite made an album as good as this again, one can only imagine what new and dizzy heights this band may have reached had the majority of them not perished in an unfortunate plane crash less than a decade after this fantastic statement of intent was made, but even still they have a legacy and it continues to live on especially with this album

The song that is recognized the most on this album is without doubt the awesome nearly 10 minute long solo heavy Freebird which features awesome guitar interplay by the three superb guitarists in the band and which all of the different record executives of the time swore blind would never be played on the radio because of its length, but within a month of the album being released this song became one of the most played songs on fm radio in American history and as such been labelled the Southern Rocks "Stairway To Heaven", of course one song doesn't make an album unless of course we are talking Tubular Bells or something, so the rest of the album is as you would expect just as good and is littered with Southern Rock gems in songs like I Ain't The One, Gimmee Three Steps, Simple Man and Tuesdays Gone most of which you should recognize if you regularly listen to rock radio stations, even the three songs that do not get played quite so much on the radio have their moments and each provide moments of genius by both the musicians and the legendary Ronnie Van Zant on vocals

Basically if you have even a passing interest in the rockin sounds of the south from bands such as the Allman Brothers, The Outlaws or The Marshall Tucker Band then you really ought to own a copy of this southern fried classic, because this album defines Southern Rock probably more than any other and deserves it's place in any self respecting rockers cd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pronounced 'leh-nerd skin-nerd', 10 Nov. 2006
By 
S. Smith "MJS555" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: (pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) (Audio CD)
I'm gonna keep this review short and sweet!

Lynyrd Skynyrd's debut 'Pronounced leh-nerd skin-nerd' is, in my opinion, probably the greatest album ever made... ever! It is as close to perfection as is humanly possible! Every song is spot on so I won't bother naming highlights... Not even Free Bird can steal the show... well, just about! If you like rock music, or in fact any music, this album is a must in your collection. The musicianship on this album is second to none...

I really can't recommend this enough... It truly is a work of music art, and is a lasting memory of why 20th October 1977 was the darkest day in the history of music. Buy and you won't be disappointed, it's that good!

Fly high Free Bird...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pronounced : Southern Class, 28 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: (pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) (Audio CD)
It would be unlikely that many people reading this are unfamiliar with Lynyrd Skynyrd,the best band the south ever gave us,so i'll get straight to the point,this is a fantastic album,one of the best ever debuts in the history of rock.

The remaster enhances what was already a superb sounding disc,plaintive vocal from Ronnie van zant,razor sharp guitars fom allen collins/gary rossington and ed king,also note worthy Ed Kings superb Bass playing all held together with Bob Burns drums and Billy Powells keyboards,Leon Wilkenson rejoined after the recording to assume bass duties.

The songs are pretty well known especially the epic 'Freebird' often copied,never bettered,the rockin 'I Aint The One & Gimme 3 Steps,haunting ballad Tuesdays Gone,however the 4 remaining,original album tracks, are less well known and deserve discovering,'Simple Man' smoulders,while 'things Goin On' struts the way only southern bands can,leaving a taut 'Mississippi kid' and exuberant 'Poison Whisky' snap and snarl out of the speakes,a perfect set of songs from a perfect album.

Bonus Tracks : 5 in all 'Mr Banker' and 'Down South Jukin' have been released before,worth hearing none the less.The remaining 3 demo tracks are all unreleased 'Gimme 3 steps','Freebird' and a stringless 'Tuesdays Gone',again all worth hearing,the icing on the cake,tracks 1-8 are the real deal and stand up after all these years,in fact 4 of them still feature in the current live set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic that time only slightly manages to wear away, 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) (Audio CD)
Classic rock n roll, fresh enough to still taste the blues, brilliantly timeless, well except for the lyrics which are absolutely mindless twaddle. Embarrassing but I suppose part of the norm in the day; much too much "My woman..." and "My gun..." stuff for my tastes. Still for all that most of the music still stands strong today, especially the soaring ballads; the amazing `Tuesday's Gone' and the near unrivalled `Free Bird' a song which you could never tire of and which was used brilliantly in Rob Zombies film `The Devils Rejects'.

This is danceable stuff, toe tapping, clicking your fingers to the beat. Especially on the musically brilliant uke attack of `Mississipi Kid' which for some reason makes me want to purchase a spittoon.

Drops a star purely because of the state of some of the lyrics, musically though it is through the roof and the perfect album to visit if you are a fan of Black Label Society or bands of that ilk.

Track list
I Ain't the One
Tuesday's Gone
Gimme Three Steps
Simple Man
Things Goin' On
Mississipi Kid
Poison Whiskey
Free Bird

Bonus Tracks
Mr Banker (Demo)
Down South Jukin' (Demo)
Tuesday's Gone (Demo)
Gimme Three Steps (Demo)
Free Bird (Demo)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!, 30 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pronounced Lehnerd Skin (Audio CD)
It's got Free Bird on it - what other excuse do you need? Nothing but sheer classic feel-good rock that show you what good songwriting is (re: "Tuesday's Gone", "Free Bird"). Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Band, 14 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pronounced Lehnerd Skin (Audio CD)
If only more artists these days were like Lynyrd Skynyrd! This album demonstrates the truly great talents of this band, there is probabley not one weak song in the collection. The top tunes have to be Tuesdays Gone, Simple Man and Freebird with its brilliant insrtumental as the finale and some outrageous guitaring. The only bad point about this album is that its missing Sweet Home Alabama - which is a shame. Regardless, this is a bargain you'll be returning to again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Southern rock at it's finest., 9 Mar. 2015
This review is from: (pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) (Audio CD)
It was reported that Lynyrd Skynyrd had already played around a thousand gigs before they got a record deal with MCA. (bloody hell). All that hard work and sweating paid off and must've done them well, cos what resulted is this excellent album. No doubt, many of you will buy this record just cos it has "that" song on the end of it (yes; you all know what I am talking about).
Asides from Freebird; naturally their finest composition, there are other tunes that make this album worth having your collection. Simple Man; Gimme 3 Steps; I Aint The One; and the ballad Tuesdays Gone, with an orchestral and guitar solo to make your hairs stand on end! Lyrically, the album typifies the kind of things southern rock acts know of, and tend to sing about (ie; guns; outlaws; drinking whiskey; proud to be southern etc--)
Listening to it can even make an Essex born-and-bred man like me feel like being a part of it all.
It has become a cliche to say "leave the best till last", but that is just what they did with a track every rock fan in the world knows. Freebird has one of the best known and greatest guitar solos ever. No wonder it became a rock classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

(pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd)
(pronounced 'leh-'nérd 'skin-'nérd) by Lynyrd Skynyrd (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews