Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New student
I have found this dvd very usefully over the past year and a half
It is great watching the patterns time and time again,getting all the positions and movents correct, something which can be forgotten when you are away from your class, it is gives you the chance to perform the patterns at home, as they say practice makes perfect.It is a brillent dvd for new students.
Published on 24 Mar. 2003 by P R DEAN

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old Style No Good
I am a red tag in ITF Tae Kwon Do on the Isle Of Wight. I ordered this DVD to help me with my learning. When i got it and played it all was good untill i got to 3 step and 2 step sparring. This DVD must of been made some time ago because ITF Tae Kwon Do 3 Step and 2 Step has changed since then. On the DVD there is 1-4 2 step but no 5-8 ?? . I also found the 3 step...
Published on 4 Nov. 2005 by Mr. D. M. Brockwell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New student, 24 Mar. 2003
By 
P R DEAN (LLANIDLOES, POWYS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
I have found this dvd very usefully over the past year and a half
It is great watching the patterns time and time again,getting all the positions and movents correct, something which can be forgotten when you are away from your class, it is gives you the chance to perform the patterns at home, as they say practice makes perfect.It is a brillent dvd for new students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive guide on DVD, 16 Feb. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
Although at times the footage contained on this DVD seems to be of "home-movie" quality, and tends to glorify the physique and physical prowess of its author, Leigh Childs, it nontheless deserves a 5* rating. The effort taken to include every detail regarding the ITF syllabus, from basic 3-step sparring up to 5th Dan patterns, is phenomenal. It is an entire encyclopedia on the art of Taekwondo, and includes very good sparring footage. You would be hard pressed to find a more comprehensive guide elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 18 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
As a tae kwon-do student of nearly 2 years, this dvd was bought for me as a christmas present, and i am extreamly pleased. All the relevant info is there, and as a red belt going for a black tag grading, i found it extremly useful esp when your busy and dont have much time to go through patterns and 3 step. Very useful, like having a personal teacher there with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old Style No Good, 4 Nov. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
I am a red tag in ITF Tae Kwon Do on the Isle Of Wight. I ordered this DVD to help me with my learning. When i got it and played it all was good untill i got to 3 step and 2 step sparring. This DVD must of been made some time ago because ITF Tae Kwon Do 3 Step and 2 Step has changed since then. On the DVD there is 1-4 2 step but no 5-8 ?? . I also found the 3 step different in places. The patterns are ok and other stuff but if you are thinking of buying this to learn your 3 and 2 step forget it you had better off stick with a book as i don't think there is any dvd like this one out in the shops. The Video looks like its home made and i have to have the sound up high just to hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two distinct contrasts, 1 Mar. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
When the DVD first started there was an almost homo-erotic sequence of the author Leigh Childs posing without his shirt for the camera in a 'look at me everybody' manner. Very contrary to the very tenents of Taekwondo. Luckily this passed and the exhibition of the patterns and sparring made my purchase finally worthwhile. Strange contrasts!
If you can forget about the first few minutes of self-serving ego you will have an excellent DVD to study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tae kwon do black belt and beyond, 12 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
good no nonsense training done by real martial artists.unfortunatley the box fails to mention which style of tae kwon do is on the disc.the patterns are different to the style i practise (taegeuk style patterns) so it was abig disapointment to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy, but useful reference, 18 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
After the nauseating introduction where the 'host' flexes his body for the camera, the DVD is quite useful as a reference/guide - specifically for reviewing patterns. I wish they filmed the patterns 'step by step' to assist with learning, it would significantly enhance the 'benefits'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 23 July 2007
By 
David Farrell-shaw (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
A bit cheesy- especially the intro. But once it cuts to the chase its valuable learning tool for beginners. The quality is poor in places but the two instructors know their stuff - one is a Master 7th Dan now.
Not my first choice but definitely one to have in the library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for the fighters its all patterns, 28 Nov. 2002
By 
meen gurung (maidstone, kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD] (DVD)
As a taekwondo player if you are thinking of buying it my suggestion is better not buy however if you are very fond of learning patterns and history of taekwondo go for it as for me it's been 5 years still learning looking for new things,looking for new ideas how to increase the power of my kicks and skills this is not the sort of dvd i would recommend,but having said that this is quite good dvd for the patterns that was found by the Grand masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tae Kwon-Do - Break Through To Black Belt [DVD]
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews