Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This cd has converted me to the true church of folk music., 6 Feb 2002
This review is from: Through & Through (Audio CD)
For years I was a non-believer. I had folky friends, and they would often try to convert me. "Come along to the Monkey and Accordion this evening and sing a shanty" they would say, an offer I would always meet with a stout nolle prosequi. However, this has all changed since I listened to Through & Through by messrs Spiers and Boden. Suddenly I find myself a born-again shanty-singin', squeeze box-playin' folky, and I'm proud. From the opening verses to the foot-stomping end, this cd represents the young, fresh future of folk music. Move aside Peter Bellamy and your bearded hordes, Squeezy and Jon are here to stay. The lanky, balding fiddle man, Jon Boden, has won high praise from folk legend Martin Carthy, and from this performance it clear why. His mellifluous tones hit all the right notes throughout the album, expertly backed up by his box man, Squeezy. In short, buy this album - it will change your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great musicians, great tunes, great album, 5 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Through & Through (Audio CD)
An important and significant new turn for folk music. Almost unwittingly, Boden and Spiers have re-defined traditions and given new and fresh life to the tunes they play. Boden's empassioned singing and spiers' quality combine to create a rare and convincing depth - whether in its highs - see the raucous Rambling Sailor - or in its lows - Boden's tour de force with "Down the Moor"
this is new folk music at its best. They may not be the most aestheticly pleasing nominees for the Horizon award this year, but on significance and power, they should win by a mile.
If you like your folk music like your ale: pure, potent and powerful, this is the album for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you'd expect from this talented pair!, 14 July 2013
By 
Calleva (Burghfield Common, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through & Through (Audio CD)
Lots of good, solid, morris tunes and some cracking songs. A little disappointing that some tracks, like the Rochdale Coconut Dance, appear on previous albums, so there is a bit of overlap. I would've given this five stars had all tracks been new. However, an excellent album to buy if this is your first Spiers and Boden purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through & Through, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through & Through (Audio CD)
Excellent Production, We love it, can't get enough of Spiers & Boden CDs. Once we ordered it, we received it within a couple of days. Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 22 May 2014
By 
Mrsfcirish "t@nsy" (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through & Through (Audio CD)
I have all the other Spiers & Boden cds and wanted to hear this early one - it is such a shame they will be touring no more.A great example of their earlier work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect of its kind, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through & Through (Audio CD)
Jon and John recently announced that they intend to stop performing as a duo. Whether in this format, in their work with Eliza Carthy or in Bellowhead, they have made an immense contribution to the folk revival in England. The duo format gives them a chance to perform well arranged and capable versions of traditional tunes in a highly satisfying way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously wonderful, 29 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Through & Through (Audio CD)
I bought this album after seeing the duo live at Sidmouth, I'll have to admit I was a little taken aback at first by the distinctive sound, but now I think its wonderful, I can't stop listening to it! Am looking forward to hearing their new album "Bellow"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album, 8 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Through & Through (Audio CD)
Thoroughly researched and performed with panache, this collection offers a mix of arrangements of traditional songs and the artists' own compositions. The album definitely deserves a listen, whether you're a folk fanatic or new to the genre. Refreshing and entertaining; I look forward to their next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through & Through
Through & Through by Spiers & Boden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews