Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robbie fans in for a culture shock with this album
Released here in New Zealand to coincide with Robbie's tour which opens in my home city of Christchurch tonight 13th November, "Swing When You're Winning" is a collection of tracks that take you back to an era of the Big Bands, Frank Sinatra, Duke Ellington and the like. Described as a tribute to Frank, Dean and Sammy, Williams is in his element here. For...
Published on 13 Nov 2001

versus
59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious, but ultimately successful tribute album
No-one will ever call Robbie Williams a coward. With no 1 singles rolling off the Williams / Chambers production line at will, he could have been forgiven for staying in his success zone.
This hugely ambitious tribute album features some of the greatest foot tapping standards from the gretaest crooners of the last century. Whilst it true to say that Robbie hasn't...
Published on 29 Nov 2001 by pwhent@yahoo.co.uk


‹ Previous | 118 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pedestrian Robbie walks to the Bank, 29 July 2005
This review is from: Swing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
Well...everyone else loves this album. Having listened to the likes of Frank Sinatra, Bobby Caldwell et al and then put on this CD it was soooo tame in comparison. It is especially obvious in the song in which they've included Blue-eyes himself...what a mistaka da maka! Probably could have done with better music arrangers and conductor too.
Don't get this CD, buy the originals...but nice try, Robbie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Good Enough To Be Frank, 1 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. S. J. Wade "thebardofb6" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
This is Karaoke Pop at its lowest and its frightening how bad this is. So far short is Williams' voice, of those he imitates, it makes you wonder if people buy what's good or what is familiar. Nicely recorded, arranged and accompanied but let down by a voice that has such a narrow range, that it sounds trapped and strained. With so many of the originals re-mastered and available its hard to recommend this dissimulation. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who on Earth Felt this was a good idea, 19 Feb 2002
By 
Adam Adamant "Dungeonmaster" (Liverpool, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
I figure like his early records Frank Sinatra must be spinning at 78 RPM over this. We've had classic tracks reduced to inoffensive blandness by Harry Connick Jnr, turned into maudlin self indulgence by Brian Ferry and now Robbie adds his own special brand of well meaning stupidity to the mix.
Robbies pretty much a one trick pony and like Madonnas I'm Breathless contribution to Dick Tracy proves he hasn't the range sensitivity or versatility for this
A return to mindless jig along pop recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gorgonzola strikes again!, 4 Dec 2003
By 
Cookie_monster (Dorset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
All I can say is pure CHEESE!!!!! Robbie williams is nothing but a cheesy pop star with no actual real talent, all his other albums are bad enough but this one is just sooooooo much worse because its full to the brim with silly, cheesy, old rubbishy songs. This is a covers album which causes me to be sik its so bad, I would rather have my ears pulled off slowly than listen to this album ever again please for the safety of your ears and the ears around you dont buy this album, stop this abomination to music before it gets any further out of controll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Swing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
I was very disappointed with this CD. I had expected a modern interpretation of these classics. Instead this CD adds nothing to the originals, and is in many ways much weaker. I agree with the other negative review almost entirely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs Sung Badly, 11 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Swing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
This hyped album of classic "Swinging" standards should have been a celebration of the various songwriters and crooners who made the late 50's and early 60's the period for sophisticated cool. Unfortunately, Williams does not seem to grasp the role he is trying to play as a "Rat Packer", and neither does his collection of cronies which he has picked up on the way. His tackless duets with Frank Sinatra and Nicole Kidman, the half baked "comedy" interludes and the butchering of numerous other tracks all add up to make this a record of one to forget. Williams does deserve some kudos for trying to broaden his and his listeners musical tastes, it is a shame however, that he seems to have settled for a sure fire, short-term commercial success, which borders on parody at times, rather than to risk his teeny-bop reputation and attempt to make a more credible album. The novelty soon wears off and Williams may look back in a number of years time and view this chance to diversify as an opportunity missed. Poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a nerve., 8 Jun 2012
So this is the music business. It allows, in the name of making money, pretenders who have no right whatsoever, to play at being in the same league as some of the greatest ARTISTS there have been. I do not own this tripe, but I have heard all the cuts. What surprises me more than anything to do with the ego and talentlessness of Williams, is the eagerness of people to buy the poor mans version of these songs. I am not a fan of the genre either, however these songs have been recorded by genuine greats, and I dont understand why people wouldnt visit these recordings, instead of sub-standard performances with contrived vocals by someone who I doubt has ever been properly trained, or could have any insight to pass on to anyone. He's just not good enough, and to put himself on a pedestal next to some of the greatest SINGERS of the last century, I think is a nerve to say the least. But judging what he thinks of himself, it really isnt surprising atall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars complete and utter rubbish, 5 Nov 2004
This review is from: Swing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
Robbie Williams is beyond non-talent. My old granny could produce a better record and she's been dead five years. Hard to
imagine what it must feel like to be completely without any talent whatsoever. His stuff is nothing at all. No redeeming
features whatsoever. He can't even play basic guitar chords properly. Still he's good for a laugh - much like the royal family. Aside from all that though - it's quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swing When You're Winning
Swing When You're Winning by Robbie Williams (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews