Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, odd and unique - September 11 2001 !
Your experience of this DVD will largely depend on your disposition, views and memories of the attacks on September 11 2001. At the time of watching this DVD it was some two and a half years since the attacks in the US.
The performance is outstanding with musicians at the absolute top of their game. Amazingly refined but not over-produced or clinical.
It is true...
Published on 18 Feb 2004 by Dave Harrington

versus
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Idea - Day Dampened Enthusiasm
I am a huge Sting fan - going back to his Police days. Was really looking forward to this DVD and album. Then September 11th happened, I wondered - well, they'll cancel this project, or at least reschedule the taping. They didn't - and the show seems to suffer for it. Sting looks uncomfortable in many songs, visibly suffering - the music seems downbeat for the most...
Published on 7 Dec 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, odd and unique - September 11 2001 !, 18 Feb 2004
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Your experience of this DVD will largely depend on your disposition, views and memories of the attacks on September 11 2001. At the time of watching this DVD it was some two and a half years since the attacks in the US.
The performance is outstanding with musicians at the absolute top of their game. Amazingly refined but not over-produced or clinical.
It is true though that the events earlier that day are somehow captured by the intimacy of this performance although not overtly. Sting deals with it in the best way he can and the continuity of the performance despite this is testimony to his and his band's professionalism. It's kept hidden but it is definitely there. Even now, as I write this review the day after watching it, I actually feel shaken - as though the tragic events have only just taken place. To be honest, for me, it detracted from the enjoyment this DVD should have brought. Not entirely but it did. All the way through it I was wondering to myself - what was going on right then, in the US??" Not a very comfortable experience but definitely worth watching. It will, with time, become known for the power it has inadvertently acquired to re-kindle feelings of that day, like no news footage can. We have seen the graphic news reels so many times but the images, to me, are so bizarre they almost don't register.
This DVD connects you in a surprising way. Sting cannot conceal his emotions entirely despite delivering a first class performance and you really can sense shock and bewilderment. Really quite an odd DVD.
This effect may fade with time but it's the special atmosphere of this live performance on such an infamous day which is unique.
If you can put your emotions aside, it is outstandingly good.

A must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness DVD's don't wear out with use..., 3 Jun 2002
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Sting's "All This Time" DVD is a great way to pick up the mood with a set list of hits performed by outstanding musicians in the picturesque setting of Sting's home in Italy. There is a huge impact on the concert from the New York terrorist attack occuring on the same day. However, Sting and his band respectfully pick up the pieces and turn the evening around into a celebration of music and, for a moment, life is allowed to go on again despite such tragedy and sadness.
I am in great awe not just from the vocal strength of Sting as leader of the band, but also the talented musicians in his select line-up. The re-working of Sting's most familiar songs with new instrumentation and modulation allow the likes of Jason Rebello to shine with jazz piano solos that take your ears outside the changes before leading you safely home. Christian McBride shows exceptional versatility on the acoustic bass allowing space and gentle touches over lyrical songs such as "When We Dance" whilst letting it rip in the bluesly walking bass parts during the more up-beat numbers.
As an added bonus to the live recording, there is a behind-the-scenes view which documents the lead up to the concert and highlights the professionalism of all the musicians during the rehearsals.
Definitely a DVD for a music-lover's collection but one that doesn't often stay up on the shelf...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, great extra features !, 22 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
All This Time... has new arrangements of classic sting as well as a few brand new day tracks. Arrnagments, have a more accoustic / jazz feel to them, and Sting has some of the most sort after muscians playing with him. Christian McBride is on double bass ! If you loved the All This Time... album, you'll love seeing him play them live, and with extra features, it's a must buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic music DVD, 7 Dec 2004
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This has got to be one of the best music DVDs I've seen. It's crammed with good music in a unique and intimate setting; contains a great behind the scenes look at how this concert was put together, and - it captures a mood and sense of complete shock that probably everyone can identify with from the world changing event it was caught up with in September 2001.
Sting is the consummate music pro - and this setting is probably the best way to see all his skills on display. The accompanying musicians are all top-drawer, and I defy anyone to watch the concert's finale of "Every Breath You Take" without the hairs prickling on the back of the neck. It's almost a life-affirming two fingers to terrorism at the end of the concert.
Having been fortunate enough to see Sting in concert earlier this year, I have to say watching him perform on this DVD was better. Fans of his music will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for any Police/Sting devotee !, 9 April 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
From the outset one cannot help but be captivatated by the sheer breath-taking beauty of the setting where Sting decided to have this magical DVD shot- an Italianate mansion somewhere between Milan and Rome.Previewing essentials:
Pour yourself a rather large drink, sit back, relax and savour every delicious moment of the behind the scenes look a Sting's reworking of his well known standard classics. Sting's surroundings are impressive and readily lend themselves to a very relaxing DVD.(Very modest indeed,I wasn't a bit envious of his so-called portable recording studio).If you are even romotely involved in the music scene, you can't fail to be impressed by the professionalism and commitment of Sting and his band in their preparation for the impending concert.The camaraderie,and good natured banter amongst the group makes for light-hearted viewing.
If, like me, you go back with Sting and the Police a long way, you will be so glad you added this to your collection.It currently stands as my best buy thus far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 12 Sep 2003
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I've only just bought this and frankly can't put it down. The consumate skill and talent on display from Sting and his happy band of musicians is magic.
The documentary element is fascinating, the concert makes me wish I could have been there.....what more is there to say except BUY IT, NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Love, relationships, music and joy", 5 Oct 2008
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a two-part DVD, the first (lasting seventy minutes) is a documentary about the concert; the second (lasting seventy-five minutes, with ten minutes extra footage as a bonus) is the concert itself.

It's 2 September 2001 and we're at Sting's Tuscan villa where we see him greet the arrival of various musicians from around the world (England, France, the US, Algeria, Brazil, Argentina) who are there to play in the concert. In interview, Sting says the concert is a relaxed affair: "It's just about love, about relationships, music and joy." He goes on to say how "live albums never seem to capture the event, so let's do something different ..." The documentary also includes interviews with the musicians. Dominic Miller remarks how he "can't understand Sting's fascination with country music". Me too!

We watch the team record a re-arrangement of the song "Fragile", as well as the general rehearsals. Sting talks about the stories behind some of the songs, about the nature of songwriting, how he creates "stories in miniature", how he will be in fifty in a month's time, and how his wife Trudy (apparently) knew nothing about the concert. Indeed, unlike Sting's previous DVD concert-documentary (`Bring on the Night' - Janice Pendarvis is the only member of the group from the original Blue Turtles line-up), Trudy is conspicuous by her absence.

We catch a glimpse of the dress rehearsal on 10 September where songs such as `Desert Rose' never made the cut following the cataclysmic events of the next day. We see the team re-act to the events of 9/11, sitting around a table trying to figure out what to do. At one stage they all seemed to agree only to perform `Fragile' and nothing more for those lucky neighbours and friends present at the gig and for the supposed millions who would be watching on the internet from around the world.

So the second part of this DVD, the concert, opens sombrely with `Fragile' ("blood will flow when flesh and steel are one"). There is a standing ovation, and the crowd are soon clapping along to the music. After initial doubts, the group - now devoid of some of the `ethnic' musicians - visibly lightens up, and the concert proceeds. (Spot the grating on the wall of the house behind the musicians that looks like one of the twin towers!) There is a tender rather than desperate rendition of `Don't Stand So Close To Me' and a quietly acoustic `Roxanne'. Many of the songs deploy Sting's favoured jazz inflections: piano, trumpet, trombone, double-bass, but there is also cello, steel-guitar, and assorted percussion. All are brilliant musicians.

The camerawork can be annoying at times with what seems like constant edits. It would have been nice just to focus on one angle for more than ten seconds. But, by the end, everyone on stage is smiling (even Dominic Miller) as they run into a rendition of `Every Breath You Take'.

Directed by Jim Gable, this DVD shows Sting's serious sense of commitment that is often missing behind the usual face of usual rich rock musician. It was both entertaining to watch and informative too. Despite the circumstances, everyone had a good time, and I am sure you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The quality of the recording both in terms of picture and sound is excellent and of course it's Sting so the eventual performanc, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is an incredible presentation on many levels. The gig was scheduled for 11th September 2001 and the film documents the musicians reactions to and feelings about what took place and how the concert evolved. The quality of the recording both in terms of picture and sound is excellent and of course it's Sting so the eventual performance is outstanding. This is a must-have for any muso, whether y
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the second one I have bought, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Possible the definitive Sting.
Great rearrangfements by an expert not afraid to change things and experiment.
Really goood to see a free jamming session with some of the best musicians around.
And a fabulous story to tell, to boot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001]
Sting: All This Time [DVD] [2001] by Jim Gable (DVD - 2001)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews