Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The innovating genius is back with a bang
Its been a while but those of us that have waited for Prince to deliver what he has been know for at his best will not be disappointed. This is unlikely to be a huge commercial sucess as there are few singles and it is not on a major label. There is though real quality here with message and a coherent structure. Influences in the early part of the album include Miles...
Published on 11 Dec. 2001 by J Mark

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rough with the smooth....again.....
As a long time Prince fan my patience is begining to wane. This is like a case of "the Emperor's New Clothes". I read the other glowing reviews with great interest, but don't agree, and sadly, I feel heretical by not doing so. I often describe Prince as the Mozart of our times, an oft times musical genius. But with the last number of releases it seems patently...
Published on 24 Jan. 2002 by Chris Carry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By rights this should put Prince back on top., 24 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
The Rainbow Children is probably Prince's best release since Emancipation and the most cohesive set since Lovesexy. Like the latter, TRC has a running theme throughout which might put the occasional listener off. Trust me, give it a few listens and you will see your way past the God-like voice/narrative and you will see the quality of the music. Standout track is The Last December which goes from ballad to full on rock/guitar Prince at his best. 1+1+1=3 and The Work (Pt1) are some of the best examples of a Prince funk work out ever. Just take a look at the Live reviews Prince is getting with his One Nite Alone tour in the US, which features TRC tracks heavily and you will see that this is an artist back in control of his output and working his way back to where he belongs - on top. If you buy one album in 2002 it should be The Rainbow Children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince is back!!!! And doin` his own thing...., 14 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
When I first heard the album I immediately thought that this was a very odd album. Loads of original ideas, funky drum beats, great guitar licks, slap bass, all trademarked with the prince sound. Princey ballards, jazz, acid rock, funk and gospel and some cracking tunes which the more you play, the more you`ll love. This album is a classic work of art but is not a commercial classic. Probably his best album since sign `o` the times. There has been no hype, no advertising, no airplay. The album has spoke for itself. And its speaking loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rainbow children, 27 Dec. 2006
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
I brought The rainbow children after hearing a drummer play a short 2 bar phrase on YouTube which he had lifted from muse 2 the pharaoh. I am not a big Prince fan but i am a massive John Blackwell fan, every drummer needs this album. It is packed full of inventive gospel/funk/jazz drumming, this is truly on of the many high points in John Blackwells session career! Musicians and drummers alike will really appreciate this album and get a lot from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just about the only gospel music I can stand, 22 Jan. 2002
By 
C. Verspeak "f*" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
Prince has to be one of the most maligned and misunderstood musical genuses around. While other top-sellers have been content to keep on churning out the same old "Oh baby, I love you" drivel and be lauded as doing somthing special, Prince has been quietly doing his own thing, that is,
revolutionising the music industry.
If you have followed Prince's career you might be aware of his 'death' in 1993 and that subsequent releases where under the name of The Artist. Well, the contractual obligations that were strangling have run their course and and he is duly resurrected.
Prince's music seems odd to some, perhaps because they expect him to turn out big pop-hits like 'Purple Rain' or 'Gett Off'. But when you understand it is all a reflection of his life, the story of the man's heart if you like, it all fits together.
'The Rainbow Children' is above all else a story. It is a spiritual one and borrows lyrics and symbols from the Bible but it is rarely gospel, good news for me, a dedicated diciple of Christ but not a fan of the genre. The story may be hard to follow and will probably take a few listens to get through. I only have the downlaod from the NPGMC so I always listen to it the whole way through and I would reccomend doing things thatway to anyone who purchases the CD version, at least for the first couple of hearings.
The tracks are all pretty funky and will get most people at least tapping their feet. 'The Work' is a pretty good explanation of Prince's new direction. His spirituality has undergone an overhaul during the years of O-{-> and now he is 'ready to do the work' of defeating the devil and destroying the monuments he has set up to himself. 'The Everlasting Now' is the closest Prince gets to a song about sex. He has stated recently he likes the fact people are bringing their younger siblings and children to shows so he has cut out the raunchy lyrics so we can all focus on the music. 'She Loves Me 4 Me' is a beautiful love song. Prince reflects on how good it is to be loved by someone for your soul, not what you do, 'Icould write three hundred melodies or just three. This one, she loves me for me'. 'Family Name' is a thought provoking workout on the issues of race history and should get you thinking. 'The Everlasting Now' is probably the track most people will actually have problems with. It is a no holds barred celebration of God and the Power of Jesus Christ. Prince made Lovesexy an album of lovesongs for God because the thought occurred to him that if he died he would be remembered for his last work. So it makes sense that The Rainbow Children ends on a spiritual note. He recently told a reporter the album was a mirror - what you saw when you look into it is who you are. So, some will love it for its freshness and emphasis on giving your all and worshipping the God who made us all. Some will hate it for those same reasons.
Listen to the album - do you like what you see?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I gotta admit..., 11 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
I was not expecting much at all from this - Prince's last few albums have been pretty poor to say the least. Even 'Rave Un2..', hailed as something of a comeback, was a pointless purchase as far as I was concerned. And I'd given up trying to defend the man's genius to non-believers long ago. But this really is brilliant - I wouldn't hesitate to say that it's the best thing he's ever done (even supassing 'Sign O' the Times'). Musically it's so stunning that it really doesn't matter if the lyrics aren't to your taste (they're not to mine!). I can't add much to what other reviewers have said here, but this really is worth seeking out. Quite simply the album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince we've missed u!, 25 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
"This isn't music, this is a trip!"
After 5 listens from start to finish I am still no wiser to what on earth is going on throughout this CD, but you can not deny its brilliance. Gone is the trying to do what is hip that has dogged Prince's last few releases, the emphasis is back on musical experimentation. No more unoriginal plastic drum programming, all you hear is raw Prince, with a little help from John Blackwell "the magnificent", crunching guitars, jazz and funk and everything in between. Often amazingly beautiful and complex other times just plain bonkers this CD takes you on a journey and must be taken as a whole. Whether you believe in the message Prince is trying to get across or not, the last phrase which concludes the joint "we need to come together as one" has never been more true!.
Truly the man is a genius!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars finally an interesting album, 30 Dec. 2007
By 
Nina Sage (Zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
Atmospheric, interesting, not mainstream thank God, something different and new. I like it and reccomend it (although I'm not a Jehovah's ;) Great for wintertime..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince at his creative best!, 13 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
This is what freedom truly sounds like.
A spiritually uplifting piece of music to be experienced as a whole. A lot of Prince's religious beliefs are expressed in this album and its a little scary at first but give it a few listens and it grows on you. The first half is quite slow with Prince (speaking through a tonebox)establishing a story about "The Rainbow Children". "Muse 2 The Pharaoh" and "Digital Garden" are the first half of the album's stand-out tracks. The album really kicks in from "1+1+1 is 3" - The funkiest piece of music only Prince could make! "Family Name" "The Everlasting Now" and the climatic "Last December" prove to me that, despite all the weirdness, the name changes and record company ramblings, Prince is back with a truly brilliant album and we should all remember surely nothing compares 2 Prince!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give him a second chance. You will be amazed., 20 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
OK - so some people don't understand his way of doing things, and some people don't see how his wicked sense of humour is translated as 'weirdness' - particularly in the UK. No-one, however, could doubt that Prince is a mighty, creative force. In recent years, his creativity has been somewhat diluted, but his wish to diversify has paid off in spades. The NPG Music Club has given him a monthly outlet for his new music and the culmination of this years experiments is The Rainbow Children. More Lovesexy than Gold, this 'spiritual/jazz/funk' album includes Prince styles both new and old and, as is usual, you get plenty of minutes and funky basslines for each pound spent. Normally, I would be critical and run through each track, but in this case, sit back - light an insense stick - and have a good funk. Welcome Back - Mr Rogers Nelson - we have missed you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 3 Dec. 2001
This review is from: The Rainbow Children (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of Prince, but probably not your conventional fan. Even though I grew up through his 'heyday' period, I never listened to his work at the time. What I do know however, is that he is an increadible talent and that he hasn't had the impact that he did in the mid to late 80's and early 90's. However, this album will surely go down as one of the greatest that he has given to us humble souls.
It certainly doesn't have instant appeal, but give it another two or three listenings and you'll appreciate that you have in your possession a CD of absolute brilliance. It is music that isn't watered down for commercial appeal, it's just Prince being Price, and that is as close to perfection as I can imagine. Imagine the kind of impact of 'Sign of the Times' and then transfer that to to the year 2001 and you have 'The Rainbow Children'. Funky, soulful, brilliant songwriting, brilliant performance, probably wont have great commercial appeal, but then did that make 'Crystal Ball' a worthless set of CD's to own? Of course not. Do yourself a favour and treat yourself to Princes best album in many, many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rainbow Children
The Rainbow Children by Prince (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews