Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tale of how humane a "savage culture" can be
first of all, I wish to pay hommage to a great man who also left us in 2002. My father discovered Richard Harris through this movie, and remained fond of him because of his extraordinary performance in this motion picture. Theis is the story of a man whose predisposition to survive enables him to enter the unknown and defiant world of the Sioux nation, learn about life...
Published on 25 Nov 2002 by Krzysztof Jurek

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars UNUSUAL FILM: WIGS AHOY!
Interestingly unusual! Personally I'm fascinated by the old-type Indian films. While this takes longer than expected to get going it does leave you wanting to watch more of it & for that reason I couldn't turn it off. Not really believable, & the wigs are pretty awful, but nevertheless it is quite enjoyable on the whole.
Published 5 months ago by Caroline B


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tale of how humane a "savage culture" can be, 25 Nov 2002
By 
Krzysztof Jurek (Brussels, Capitale Belgium) - See all my reviews
first of all, I wish to pay hommage to a great man who also left us in 2002. My father discovered Richard Harris through this movie, and remained fond of him because of his extraordinary performance in this motion picture. Theis is the story of a man whose predisposition to survive enables him to enter the unknown and defiant world of the Sioux nation, learn about life and the meaning of it, and decide that this is what he had been longing for all his life. With the setting of the inter-nation wars and the threat of the white man to the world as they know it, this picture is a classic tale of instinct, passion, pain and hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a bloody horse!, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
This is the story of Lord John Morgan, an honest earthy person who is captured by the Sioux in 1825. Abused and treated as an animal he comes to adapt to his life in order to survive. Enduring torture and oppression he must earn their respect in order to be accepted as part of their tribe.

The white man as part of a Sioux tribe story was given a major shot in the arm with Kevin Costner's Oscar bagger, Dances With Wolves in 1990. This picture came out some twenty years before Costner's stylish picture but the two films couldn't be further apart in terms of story telling. Here in Elliot Silverstein's picture, the scenery and scope is certainly lush, but the niceties stop there for this is a harsh, at times painful, story with realism dripping from each frame. Silverstein wanted to get as close as he could to the facts of the Sioux way of life, even bringing in a Sioux historian to oversee the production.

The Sioux are painted on both sides of the canvas, on one side we are shown them to be violent, even sadistic, but Silverstein also portrays them as an intelligent race driven on by intense loyalty to their ways and culture. Richard Harris plays our main protagonist and has a clear license to act with immense verve and vigour, it's a memorable turn that lingers long after the credits roll. Hurting the film is a twee romance between Morgan and the Chiefs daughter (Judith Anderson) and Jean Gascon's fluctuating accents start to grate entering the film's last quarter. But really the plus points far outweigh the little irritants in the piece. The editing from Philip W. Anderson & Michael Kahn is like a whirling paean to hallucinations, and some scenes are from the top draw, most notably the Vow To The Sun ritual that literally is painful to watch. A Man Called Horse may well be of its time, but it's certainly a very interesting and highly intelligent film. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A REMARKABLE MOVIE EXPIERIENCE', 24 April 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
English gentleman and aristocrat 'John Morgan' is on a hunting and discovery
expedition in the American Mid-West 1825.
He is captured by a band of 'Sioux' Indians led by 'Chief Yellow Hand' 'John's
companions have been killed.
He is taken to the Sioux camp, where the Chief gives 'John' to his elderly mother
'Buffalo Cow Head' as a servant/slave.
Gradually he begins to appreciate their way of life, the camp Clown/idiot a
Frenchman captured some years earlier befriends 'John' and helps him to
understand the language and explain what is going on in the camp.
'John' begins to embrace his captures and their culture, he also has noticed the
Chiefs sister 'Running Deer' and would love to get closer, to do so however he
has much to prove.
Showing his willingness to kill and scalp a 'Blackfoot Warrior' a tribe that are sworn
enemies of the 'Sioux' is a good start.
To be accepted as an equal he will have to submit to a ritual 'The Sun Vow' which
is an extreme test.
A extraordinary performance from 'Richard Harris' throughout this compelling movie,
the film does include graphic scenes of violence, some nudity, and a convincing
battle sequence between 'The Sioux' and the 'Blackfoot'
Truly one of the greatest movies of it's category to be brought to screen.
The Blu-ray update is in general 'Very Good'
The film acclaimed for it's well researched insight into the traditions and rituals of the
'Native American Indians' bringing a level of authenticity to the film rarely seen before
this 1970 production.
The scenes of the induction into the tribe, among one of the most memorable film
sequences ever portrayed.
(I own the 'Import' of this movie, it is in fact region free)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoka Hey!, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this back in the cinema in the Seventies. It was notable for many things from its use (without subtitles) of the Sioux language, its attention to the detail revealed by George Catlin's paintings, and an almost neutral approach to the vexed question of Cowboys or Indians. The hero is British (in a very Irish way)and thus in Sioux territory not to pinch the land but to shoot the grouse. The Sioux are clearly shown warts and all rather than looking soulfully off into a Green Peace sun; this is a predatory warrior society. I found the story enthralling when I first saw it, and much the same when I watched it recently. The scene with the Agincourt arrows slips a bit, but otherwise the standard is high. Harris acts very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 12 May 2014
By 
Jeannette Byrne (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
What a great film this is , definitely a classic among westerns. So well acted in lovely settings. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars UNUSUAL FILM: WIGS AHOY!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Caroline B "CB" (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
Interestingly unusual! Personally I'm fascinated by the old-type Indian films. While this takes longer than expected to get going it does leave you wanting to watch more of it & for that reason I couldn't turn it off. Not really believable, & the wigs are pretty awful, but nevertheless it is quite enjoyable on the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Dancing with the wolves, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
Genuine and authentic. A show piece of cowboy western in the nineteen seventies. A well balanced view of the half civilized tradition of the Red indians. Shockingly brutal and with a bit of sex, altogether a romantic adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A man called Horse. Why can i not buy it here?., 16 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best Indian/Western's "EVER".
Critizized as portraying the Indians as cruel and unclean(IN THE 1820'S. I laugh in my shower whenI think about it).
I found this film to be more realistic of the times than most!
Wars between opposing tribes for survival were a fact of life. The Warrior Ritual where Richard Harris is suspended by his pectorals,will make you shiver. When you consider it was boy to manhood in one painful swoop.
The historical events of indian culture where portrayed accurately and with sympathy to the Indians.
Action,Realism and Humour throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than dances with wolves, 22 July 2008
This review is from: A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
here harris gives a definitive account of a white man who rises above the squabbles of race and pseudo-culture to become something very noble -a true human being ,
the acting is superb and the authenticity of the indian tribal traditions ,language and culture is par excellence ,
the atmosphere in the praires with the action strife between the europeans ,indians and indian themselves is chilling and immaculate .
a great human drama with great technical finesse and the dvd looks newly restored .
this is richard harris at his best and that is no mean achievement as he is a great naturally gifted actor ,and kevin costner must have seen this to inspire him to make dances with wolves ,though this is much more fascination as both art and entertainment .
i find the rituals and the love affair between him and the indian woman enchanting and the interaction between nature ,humanity and the wildlife is visceral yet so magical -must see .
god bless harris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A respectful approach to Indian life, 25 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
It is one of the rare films about American Indians that is not at all concerned by their extermination by Custer and company. But it is in fact a lot deeper than that. It shows from inside the functioning, the culture, the rites and rituals of Sioux Indians when a white English Lord is captured and turned into a slave for some time. It shows how he manages to become a warrior by killing two Shoshone assailants. Then he marries the sister of the chief and eventually becomes the chief after a war with the Shoshones who attack the village that he defends successfully. And then they move. It shows how hard they are with old women when their sons have disappeared. It shows how hard they are with their warriors who have to go through very cruel rites. Pain is the deliverer of the soul. It shows the basic motivation of wars between tribes: to loot the others, in other words to survive by doing nothing productive but appropriating what is not theirs but the others'. It could be considered as light anthropologically but when it came out in 1970 it was a real revolution in the sympathy and empathy it conveyed about the Indians, but also about the fact that cruelty and pain were never looked for per se but always to prove the courage and the strength of the person. In other words it is the proof that Sioux Indians had a high level of morality based on proved physical endurance and courage. It also proved that love was a real dimension among them governing the relations among fellow human beings in the tribe and between men and women, though their love was not necessarily expressed the way we would romantically adorn it.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Man Called Horse [DVD]
A Man Called Horse [DVD] by Elliot Silverstein (DVD - 2004)
3.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews