Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 42 huge hits from a career 35 years and counting
The Bee Gees first hit the UK top 20 in 1967 with the haunting "New York Mining Disaster", and just a few months ago they were back there again for the umpteenth time with typically hook-laden "This Is Where I Came In". In between they've sold over 110 million albums, written over 30 international number one hits and set almost every record in music...
Published on 11 Nov. 2001

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I got the worse release
I read the quality of sound may depend upon the country of release, I think I got
the bad one. Sound is just not bad and not homogeneous, expected much more. I heard
a pirate Cd, years ago, but I did not buy it:it performed decidedly better. I feel a
little puzzled.......
Maybe this is the reason the former owner (buyed used) sold this Cd practically...
Published on 10 July 2011 by Lucazest


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 42 huge hits from a career 35 years and counting, 11 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Record: Their Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Bee Gees first hit the UK top 20 in 1967 with the haunting "New York Mining Disaster", and just a few months ago they were back there again for the umpteenth time with typically hook-laden "This Is Where I Came In". In between they've sold over 110 million albums, written over 30 international number one hits and set almost every record in music possible. A double CD greatest hits almost doesn't do them justice, but it does go a fair way.
"The Record: Their Greatest Hits" has no filler which is no mean feat for double CD. Every one of the 42 tracks were big hits, some of the biggest hits of all time: Massahusettes, How Can You Mend A Broken Heart, Jive Talkin', You Should Be Dancing, Night Fever, Tragedy, You Win Again. But best of all, the Gibbs have included newly recorded versions of some of the classics they wrote for other artists including Emotion (Samantha Sang, Destiny's Child), Heartbreaker (Dionne Warwick) and Islands In The Stream (Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton). Emotion in particular reminds you of what made the Bee Gees so good in the first place: incredible harmonies, unexpected lyrics, surprising chord changes and hooks, glorious hooks. This new Emotion surpasses both the original and the striking recent acoustic version by Destiny's Child. Any doubts about whether Barry's falsetto is still intact are well and truly laid to rest.
The only criticism that could be leveled at the package is "What do they need another greatest hits for?!" Well they do. Their last greatest hits package was eleven years ago and since then they've added the top 5 smashes Secret Love, For Whom The Bell Tolls, Alone and Immortality to their tally. The last package was also only 21 tracks long and when you've written some 70 top 40 hits in both the US and the UK that's a lot of great songs being left out.
Universal believe that The Record is an album no home should be without and they are more than justified. The range of musical styles aross the Bee Gees career ensure there is something for everyone. Even if you claim to be driven crazy by the legendary high voices, less than half of the songs are in falsetto. With a huge international fan base that continues to grow, the album shouldn't sell anything less than 10 million copies in the next couple of years. Long live the Brothers Gibb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic hits package, with superb sound, 14 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Record: Their Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I don't need to tell you how good the tracks are here, you've no doubt already heard them, or have read all of the glowing reviews. One thing that none of the other reviews have pointed out (so far) is the fantastic sound. I presume that all the songs have been remastered from the originals, because the Bee Gees' songs have NEVER sounded this good before!.
As for the four new recordings included here, these are songs that the Gibb brothers previously wrote for other artists. The potential problem here, is that the "originals" are now so well known that it's almost impossible to better them. At first then, you'll (like me) probably not be too keen on these new versions. However, after a few listens they do start to grow on you. Though not improving on the originals, they're worthy alternatives. The most radcially different one is Islands in the stream (originally a hit for Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton), which now not only has the lead vocal performed by Robin Gibb (it was Barry on the "One night only" concert) but is also slower.
All in all, an amazing collection of songs from some of the best singer / song writers in pop music history. My only criticism of this greatest hits CD, is the rather drab cover!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuous re-invention gave them longevity, 27 Sept. 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Record: Their Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Bee Gees began in the sixties and continued making music into the new millennium. Along the way, they had many hits of their own but also (as songwriters) provided plenty of hits for others. This set chronicles their own hits while also providing a selection of their own versions of some of the songs that were hits for others.
The first fourteen tracks of the first CD cover their folk-pop period of the sixties and early seventies. Their impact on the American charts in this period was somewhat patchy, but most of these reached the UK top ten, while Massachusetts and I've gotta get a message to you both topped the British charts. My favorites from this period are Don't forget to remember and First of May. Saved by the bell was a Robin Gibb solo. To love somebody was a huge UK hit for Nina Simone.
The public lost interest in the Bee Gees, so they got into disco music and this made them bigger UK stars than they had been before, while making them huge stars in America. My favorite tracks from this period are How deep is your love and Too much heaven, while Staying alive, Night fever and Tragedy were also major international hits.
During their disco period, Yvonne Elliman had a UK top ten hit with Love me and a transatlantic hit with If I can't have you, while Candi Staton had a UK top ten hit with Nights on Broadway, Samantha Sang had her only hit with Emotion and Tavares had a huge hit with More than a woman. The Bee Gees' versions of all those songs are included here.
As the disco period ended, the Bee Gees produced albums for others – Barbra Streisand, Dionne Warwick, Kenny Rogers and Diana Ross. Guilty is a duet that Barry Gibb recorded with Barbra, while Heartbreaker and Islands in the stream are the Bee Gees' own version of songs they wrote for two of the others. No songs from the Diana Ross album are included.
They made another UK chart comeback in the late eighties, topping the chart with You win again. This proved to be a one-off, but they again reached the top ten in the mid-nineties with Alone.
This is an excellent collection of Bee Gees music, far superior to any previous compilation except the boxed set. There are some omissions, but all the essentials are here – and you do need two CD's to get all the essential Bee Gees songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only The Best - Not Everything Can Fit!, 1 Dec. 2002
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Record: Their Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Bee Gees (Brothers Gibb) have released several compilation albums; "Best of Bee Gees Vol 1", "Vol. 2" and "Bee Gees Greatest" which were primarily period pieces. Their "Tales..." Box Set was a complete and exhaustive collection of all of their hits and B-Sides plus some rarities, but only went to 1990. This collection is the first one to address ALL of their big singles including versions formerly only recorded by other artists.
In some cases, critics have arguable compared this to the "Beatles I" released last year. It's not far off. Containing no less than (19) #1 hits written by the Bee Gees and (11) of these recorded by them, it is an impressive set. None of the other songs fell below the Top 30 either in the USA or Europe; an excellent gauge to choose the best singles from well over 50 choices.
The Bee Gees own versions of hits recorded by others fare well enough, but lack the exhuberance of the originals. "Emotion" doesn't reach the heights of Samantha Sang's or Destiny's Child's versions and "Immortality", unfortunately sounds like a demo. Only "Islands In The Stream" really kicks in with Robin leading an R&B version of the song that proves it was originally intended as soul, not just Country.
However, if this is the worst one can find in this remarkable set of (40) songs, that is saying a lot. There is no better proof of the incredible songwriting and harmonizing talent the three Brothers exhibit so easily. This is sure to be a historic item in anyone's collection. Who knows. It may even outsell "Saturday Night Fever" (and it really ought to).
Trivia note: The European version of this collection has Barry Gibb singing the lead entry vocal on "How Can You Mend A Broken Heart" and also includes the singles "My World" and "Jumbo" which were mysteriously omitted from the USA release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuous re-invention gave them longevity, 16 April 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Bee Gees began in the sixties and continued making music into the new millennium. Along the way, they had many hits of their own but also (as songwriters) provided plenty of hits for others. This set chronicles their own hits while also providing a selection of their own versions of some of the songs that were hits for others.

The first fourteen tracks of the first CD cover their folk-pop period of the sixties and early seventies. Their impact on the American charts in this period was somewhat patchy, but most of these reached the UK top ten, while Massachusetts and I've gotta get a message to you both topped the British charts. My favorites from this period are Don't forget to remember and First of May. Saved by the bell was a Robin Gibb solo. To love somebody was a huge UK hit for Nina Simone.
The public lost interest in the Bee Gees, so they got into disco music and this made them bigger UK stars than they had been before, while making them huge stars in America. My favorite tracks from this period are How deep is your love and Too much heaven, while Staying alive, Night fever and Tragedy were also major international hits.
During their disco period, Yvonne Elliman had a UK top ten hit with Love me and a transatlantic hit with If I can't have you, while Candi Staton had a UK top ten hit with Nights on Broadway, Samantha Sang had her only hit with Emotion and Tavares had a huge hit with More than a woman. The Bee Gees' versions of all those songs are included here.
As the disco period ended, the Bee Gees produced albums for others - Barbra Streisand, Dionne Warwick, Kenny Rogers and Diana Ross. Guilty is a duet that Barry Gibb recorded with Barbra, while Heartbreaker and Islands in the stream are the Bee Gees' own version of songs they wrote for two of the others. No songs from the Diana Ross album are included.
They made another UK chart comeback in the late eighties, topping the chart with You win again. This proved to be a one-off, but they again reached the top ten in the mid-nineties with Alone.
This is an excellent collection of Bee Gees music, far superior to any previous compilation except the boxed set. There are some omissions, but all the essentials are here - and you do need two CD's to get all the essential Bee Gees songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey Barry, Robin and Maurice, Absolutely "FIRST CLASS"!, 17 Jan. 2002
By 
M. J. Rundle (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Record: Their Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Without a doubt, the Bee Gees' tremendous talent shines through with this CD. It is indeed the definitive collection. I completely agree with another reviewer that this recording has simply incredible sound. All of the songs penned by the Bee Gees but recorded by other artists are just fantastic. No one does Bee Gee songs better than the Bee Gees themselves. Barry's version of "Heartbreaker" is really cool, as is "Immortality" but I have to admit that, it is quite difficult to top the version done on "One Night Only" along with Celine. Robin's sexy version of "Love Me" and particularly, "Islands in the Stream" are exceptional. His voice sounds better than ever. He is simply too cute anyway! Hey guys, "Islands" would make a great single. The Kenny R. & Dolly version simply does not compare. The honor bestowed upon the Bee Gees by the Queen recently, is well deserved. I would love to be able to see these songs performed live when the Bee Gees go on tour, hopefully in Florida if I can get tickets. Bravo Barry, Robin and Maurice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collector's Item!, 9 Jan. 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Records (Audio CD)
Although this version of "The Record" is somewhat expensive, it is better packaged than the USA or UK versions. "Melody Fair" is included here (a huge #1 hit in 1969 in Japan), as well as "My World", although "Jumbo" is not. The digital remastering is identical to all other releases. There is however, a lyric booklet which is sorely missing from all other releases. Considering themselves to be songwriters first, why didn't the Bee Gees release a lyric booklet on the other world-wide releases? Sometimes the Japanese are a little bit ahead in packaging (for a price). This is a great collector's item which probably will not last long. Grab it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable Greatest hits package!, 12 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Record: Their Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Finally, a decent 2 cd Bee Gees Greatest hits set, containing all of the Gibb brothers' essential songs, and a few extra Bee Gee versions of Gibb songs made famous by other artists, such as "Emotion" and "Heartbreaker". the quality of the songwriting, production and vocals make it an essential addition to a pop CD collection - The Bee Gees have been criminally underrated since the early 1980's - this set puts the record straight. eat your heart out Steps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love this CD?, 13 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Record: Their Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Ok, so my girlfriend thinks I'm sad for rushing out and buying this, but I caught her bopping away to Jive Talkin' when I got home tonight!!!
I agree that the Bee Gees later music hasn't been as good as the stuff they were regularly churning out in the 70's, but can you name one Bee Gees song that doesn't get you to turn up your car stereo??? Whether it be 'Night Fever' or 'Stayin' Alive' the songs still pack the floors in cheesy nightclubs all over the world, why? Simply, because they're classics!
This album is two CDs of either incredibly infectious pop songs or marvellous ballads, which have been covered by almost everyone in the past few years. This record is a complete list of all the Bee Gee's hits, I can't think of one track that is missing, and they all still sound great no matter how many times you've heard them before.
I have almost bought the live greatest hits album (Live - One Night Only, which was released in 1999) several times, but luckily I hung on for this one, which has all songs in their entirety, unlike the live album.
If you don't have this album, then your record collection just isn't complete........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A VERY WORTHY 'BEE GEE' COLLECTABLE', 1 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Record: Their Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Must admit to owning several albums of 'The Bee Gee's' ''Greatest-Hits' in different presentation.
Of course only eldest brother 'Barry' remains, sadly twins, 'Robin' and 'Maurice' are no longer
with us.............. the trio's music will live in our hearts forever.
The group during their chart career adapted to the music of the day well, famously sound-tracking
the '1977' 'John Travolta' movie with their new-found disco-style vocal renderings.
Though I have to admit to loving their early material equally to the later numbers released like
the disco sounds and songs that followed.
The group actually first formed way back in 1958 though they had to wait until 1967 before entering
the U.K Charts with 'New York Mining Disaster' (Chart '14)
Suprisingly perhaps, despite the following and popularity of the group during their 30-odd year
Chart-History they only actually only achieved Five Number Ones in the U.K Charts, those being
'Massachusetts' ( 1967 ) 'I've Got To Get A Message To You' ( 1968) 'Night Fever' (1978)
'Tragedy' (1979) and 'You Win Again' (1987) of course the trio had many.many Top 30 hits to
join those number ones.
Some of the numbers, other than those previously listed on board.....disc one.....'World' 'Words'
'I Started A Joke' 'First of May' 'Saved By The Bell' 'My World' 'Run To Me' 'Jive Talkin' and
'You Should Be Dancing' some of the many very memorable tracks to be found on disc one.....
on disc two....'Stayin' Alive' 'How Deep is Your Love' 'More Than A Woman' 'Too Much Heaven'
'Guilty' 'For Whom The Bell Tolls' and 'Immortality' (with Barbara Streisand) again just some of
the 'Bee Gee' magic to be found on disc two.
As mentioned earlier there are many great Collectable's of the groups work including 'Tales from
the Brothers Gibb -A History in Song 1967-1990 (4-Discs) and the more recent 'Bee Gee's' -
'Mythology' ( 4-Discs featuring the works of 'Barry' 'Robin' 'Maurice' and 'Andy'
I own both, a valued part of my music collection for sure.
Great Song Writers, Great Vocalists.....THE BEE GEES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Record: Their Greatest Hits
The Record: Their Greatest Hits by Bee Gees (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews