Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic toy
I was looking for a "classic" shape sorter, not for traditions sake, but to allow my 1 year old daughter to clearly identify shapes. Most of the other shape sorters have too many other things going on - as much as she loves bells and whistles, she is very distracted by them. This shape sorter is great - high contrast shapes against the simple natural cube. The only...
Published on 17 Oct 2009 by Veronica

versus
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun but the paint chips and the lid falls off
The concept of this toy is very good, but I was most disappointed to find that the paint began to chip after only a few days of use. I was so alarmed that I called the manufacturer. The customer service was very quick and helpful and I was assured that the paint was non-toxic, but still, I didn't think the paint should peel on a brand new toy.

Also the lid...
Published on 14 July 2009 by LisaSays


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic toy, 17 Oct 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
I was looking for a "classic" shape sorter, not for traditions sake, but to allow my 1 year old daughter to clearly identify shapes. Most of the other shape sorters have too many other things going on - as much as she loves bells and whistles, she is very distracted by them. This shape sorter is great - high contrast shapes against the simple natural cube. The only thing that is odd - there is no circle shape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun but the paint chips and the lid falls off, 14 July 2009
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
The concept of this toy is very good, but I was most disappointed to find that the paint began to chip after only a few days of use. I was so alarmed that I called the manufacturer. The customer service was very quick and helpful and I was assured that the paint was non-toxic, but still, I didn't think the paint should peel on a brand new toy.

Also the lid comes off, so that when your child turns the cube over on its side to find the corresponding slots for the shapes, the ones he's put in already will fall out. I managed to remedy this with a bit of velcro, but I think this problem should have been foreseen at the design level.

Despite these flaws, my son thoroughly enjoys this toy. It does indeed make a satisfying "clunk" sound when the shape falls into the cube, as stated in the advertising. My son seems to enjoy the variety of shapes. It's also great for grouping and naming colours, learning the names of shapes, counting, etc. To conclude, this is a good toy but they really need to improve the paint job and it would be great if the lid could be secured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 28 Dec 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
Bought this toy as a gift for my son for christmas.. he loves it.. but while he was playing with it the wood is so ruff he got splinters in his hands.. my partner had to sand it down to make it safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alright, 19 Dec 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the top of the box is weaker than i had anticipated and the wood is notof brilliant quality (also there is no circle shape but every other shape in the world) but overall for the price it is not so bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, 5 Mar 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
I bought this shape sorter and sent it straight back. I was looking for a classic wooden toy and cheaply glued layers of plywood is not the same as wood. The plywood was splintering around the shape cut-outs and the paint was already coming off the blocks. So now it looks like China is making cheap 'wooden' toys to replace the cheap plastic toys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice quality product., 7 Oct 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
This shape cube is nice and solidly made with plenty of different shapes for a child to try. My one year old enjoys playing with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
I was looking for a sturdy shape sorting toy for babies, for my local toddler and baby group. Melissa and Doug are usually brilliant, but this product is not. The box is untreated wood - intant sticky finger prints that won't come off. The lid needs an adult to open and close. There are 12 shapes, some really similar, like two diamonds, one slightly more pronounced than the other. It's just too hard, and very frustrating for my 2 and half year old! No colour coding clues. Both those diamonds are yellow anyway. We took cellophane off to check it out, so now we can't return it. Otherwise I would!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 13 Sep 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
I like the number of shapes in the cube and that they are different colours. However I am only giving this item a 3 star rating due to the following:
I was expecting a hardwood cube as stated in product description but received a ply cube (with some chipping). There are
two different product photos, one with the lid that slides on (ply construction cube i received) and the others of a more solid cube and lid that fits on like a jigsaw (cube i was expecting).
Unfortunatly i had already removed the packaging and the sticker before realising that the product was not what i thought
i had ordered.
My girl hasn't played with it yet as it was to be a birthday gift but I am concerned that the cube will continue to chip
away and could be a safety hazard. It does look weak in places and a few small holes in some layers of the ply that are particularly concerning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 3 April 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
This product is very poorly made. The wood is splintering around the edges and very rough and unfinished. This is not suitable for giving to a child so it was sent straight back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this product, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube (Toy)
I am shocked that this product is being sold in the UK. The toy is designed for small children yet is made of flimsy plywood that even on arrival, while still within the shrink wrapped packaging, could be seen to be warping and splintering. It is dangerous and a risk. I have not even opened the packaging but am returning it immediately. Definitely do not buy this product it is not like the pictures which show a smooth and varnished solid wood finish and could harm anyone handling it as the plywood disintegrates and causes sharp splinters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube
8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews