Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the laughter!
This may not be the best film ever made, or event the best Disney film ever made, but my 4 (almost 5) year old son loves it, possibly more than the original ("a tiny winy better" apparently!).

In essence the story is about Wendy's daughter, Jane, who is growing up during the Blitz, having been asked by her father (who has gone off to war) to look after her...
Published on 12 Feb 2009 by A Nonny Mouse

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RTN was great! *whispers* ...but the original is better...
The title of this review says it all. I think Return to Neverland is an enchanting and magical sequel to Disney's original Peter Pan, but it definitely wasn't perfect.
The biggest problem with it is that the plot is entirely predictable. Wendy grows up and has two children: a girl, Jane, and a boy, Danny. World War II causes Jane, the eldest, to forget about...
Published on 15 Sep 2002 by Brittany Sousa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the laughter!, 12 Feb 2009
This may not be the best film ever made, or event the best Disney film ever made, but my 4 (almost 5) year old son loves it, possibly more than the original ("a tiny winy better" apparently!).

In essence the story is about Wendy's daughter, Jane, who is growing up during the Blitz, having been asked by her father (who has gone off to war) to look after her mummy and little brother Danny. Wendy takes this very seriously and forgets how to be a child, insisting that Peter Pan and Never Land don't exist. So, to cut a long story short this film is about learning to be a child again, and learning to believe.

I could watch my son watching this film for ever. He giggles for at least half of the film, totally entranced by the antics of the "Lost Boys" and Peter Pan getting one over on Captain Hook. It is one of the most enchanting sights I have ever seen. So, I guess what I'm saying is I don't mind if this doesn't live up to the original. I'm not watching it to see the film, but to bask in my son's enjoyment of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RTN was great! *whispers* ...but the original is better..., 15 Sep 2002
By 
Brittany Sousa (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Pan - Return to Neverland [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The title of this review says it all. I think Return to Neverland is an enchanting and magical sequel to Disney's original Peter Pan, but it definitely wasn't perfect.
The biggest problem with it is that the plot is entirely predictable. Wendy grows up and has two children: a girl, Jane, and a boy, Danny. World War II causes Jane, the eldest, to forget about "childish things" such as Peter Pan and Neverland, but her brother still believes. Then one night, Captain Hook arrives and captures Jane, mistaking her for Wendy, and takes her back to Neverland. There's more to the story, but the ending is typical: Jane believes in Peter Pan once again. (But really, what other plot could Disney use for a Peter Pan sequel?) I thought that the original was better plot-wise because it was based on the original story, though I must admit that the special effects, coloring, and sound used in Return to Neverland somewhat made up for the story.
It looks like Disney used a computer to animate Tinkerbell's pixie dust, making it look more realistic. I also liked how they cast leaf-shadows when the characters were standing under trees and such. It makes them look more life-like. But the animation isn't perfect; I think Disney could have done better. If you pay close attention, you'll notice that some characters appear to be cross-eyed or much more cartoonish than they should. (e.g., Mickey Mouse looks more cartoonish than Snow White because Mickey is a talking mouse in red shorts and Snow White is simply an animated human.) This is another reason why I like the original better: everything might look less 3-D than the sequel, but you can tell the Disney animators spent more time making sure everything was perfect.
I also noticed that Peter, Hook, Tinkerbell, and the Lost Boys's personalities seem to slightly differ from the original. Peter, Tinkerbell, and the Lost Boys are generally much more playful -- Tinkerbell actually does things like blowing raspberries and making faces at Hook. The crocodile has been replaced by a giant octopus (which I seriously don't understand), and Hook acts more afraid of it than the croc. It was also a bit of a disappointment that the mermaids were in only one scene and the Indians, John, and Michael Darling weren't mentioned at all, unless you count the opening sequence (which was actually one of the best parts of the movie).
My point: Return to Neverland may not be the best Disney sequel yet (I believe that was Toy Story 2), but it's still a very good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good sequel, 25 Aug 2007
By 
Mr Chips (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
I was more than a little wary to buy this very belated sequel to Disney's original classic, Peter Pan. Such a long time had elapsed that I felt sure that it would prove to be nothing more than a poor production aimed to make as much money as possible with minimum effort. But I was wrong...

In Return to Neverland, Wendy is all grown up and has children of her own. She tells them stories of Peter Pan, which delight her son but which her daughter, Jane, comes to resent. On the eve of the children's evacuation to the country (the story is set during the Blitz), Jane finds herself in Neverland and meets all the major characters from the original: Tinkerbell, the Lost Boys, Captain Hook, Smee, and of course, Peter Pan himself. The animation and vocalisations are both excellent and good imitations of the old film.

The story seems to be unconnected to J.M. Barrie, the author of Peter Pan, but it is still entertaining and at only 70 mins, it is just the right length of time to keep the little ones enthralled without their losing interest. However, the songs are distinctly out of place, having a modern style that is not consistent with the 1940's context. That said, I would definitely recommend Return to Neverland to any fans of the original Disney movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the laughter!, 12 Feb 2009
This may not be the best film ever made, or event the best Disney film ever made, but my 4 (almost 5) year old son loves it, possibly more than the original ("a tiny winy better" apparently!).

In essence the story is about Wendy's daughter, Jane, who is growing up during the Blitz, having been asked by her father (who has gone off to war) to look after her mummy and little brother Danny. Wendy takes this very seriously and forgets how to be a child, insisting that Peter Pan and Never Land don't exist. So, to cut a long story short this film is about learning to be a child again, and learning to believe.

I could watch my son watching this film for ever. He giggles for at least half of the film, totally entranced by the antics of the "Lost Boys" and Peter Pan getting one over on Captain Hook. It is one of the most enchanting sights I have ever seen. So, I guess what I'm saying is I don't mind if this doesn't live up to the original. I'm not watching it to see the film, but to bask in my son's enjoyment of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the original but kids should love it, 29 April 2005
By A Customer
No, it is not as good as the first but it is nearly impossible to follow a classic. However, my son loved it so what more do you need - it made him laugh and he has happily watched it multiple times. If you are an adult I am sure you can pick holes in it but I don't think the makers were expecting its audience to analyse changes to the characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Better-than-Average Disney Sequel, 23 Nov 2012
By 
J. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The original Walt Disney Studio's version of Peter Pan was released way back in 1953, an era in which The Walt Disney Company released some of their finest titles. Released alongside the likes of Cinderella and Alice In Wonderland, J.M Barrie's beloved tale was brought to life with incredible animation and colour, a witty and heartfelt message and an excellent voice cast to boot. Since then we have lost Uncle Walt and now the Disney company is run by executives, who have fallen into a strange obsession of mass releasing sequels to the early classics (for example The Little Mermaid II, Cinderella II, The Lion King II) and of course this, Peter Pan 2: Return to Neverland. These sequels are not created by the great Disney artists of our time, but rather by seperate corporate artists who are responsible for many of the cartoons on the Disney channel network, and therefore the quality is always much lower. For this reason many of these sequels are released direct-to-dvd (as they are not of high enough quality for a theatrical release) however Return to Neverland DID get a theatrical run in 2003. That would suggest that Disney either a) sees Return to Neverland as good enough to be deserving of a theatrical release compared with other sequels or b) needed extra cash and therefore released it anyways and disn't really care what critics had to say.

Whilst the latter is probably the correct answer, I am pleased to announce that Return to Neverland is not half as bad as some of the other Disney sequels (Cinderella II and The Hunchback of Notre Damn II spring to mind.) That isn't saying it isn't bad- compared with the original this is a turkey, however it is at least entertaining during its mercifully short running time unlike some of the other duds mentioned. The storyline (as with most Disney sequels) is virtually a rehash of the original. Wendy Darling is now grown up and has a husband and children of her own. Unfortunately her husband has to go away and fight in the war and therefore Wendy spends her time charming her children with stories of Peter Pan and Neverland. Wendy's daughter Jane however is too caught up in the realism fo a grim war-stricken London to care much for her mother's enchanting stories and decides that Pan and indeed Neverland are nothing but "nonsense." Cue Captain Hook, the bumbling villain from the original who sails to London with his buckaneers to kidnap "Wendy" in order to lure Peter Pan out of hiding, only it is not Wendy who they kidnap but Jane. The rest is as predictable as you'd imagine. Jane goes to Neverland, is saved by Peter Pan who battles with Hook, Tinkerbell doesn't like Jane and is jealous of her relationship with Peter Pan, the mermaids don't like Jane and are jealous of her relationship with Peter Pan, Jane wants to go home, in order to go home she must learn to fly by "believing" in fairies, she finally "believes" but now must foil Hook blah blah blah. There is even a octopus drafted in to replace the tick tock crocodile from the original. It even makes a tick tock sound with its tentacles! Yes it is that much of a retread that the plot is virtually identical. There are a few touching scenes such as the scene where Tinkerbell disintegrates due to Jane not believing in fairies and of course the grim opening scenes in London where Wendy is about to be seperated from her children (what is it with Disney and mother characters?) however everythign else is basically rinsed and repeated from the original.

The characters this time around are more unlikeable than before. Jane as the heroine is completely unlikeable from the start. Bratty, bossy and downright mean she is not really a positive role model until the very end when she starts to conform to make believe. She is also rather annoying. Peter Pan has gone from playful in the original to just mean spirited in this one. He is a masoginystic arrogant bully. Hook has lost all of his charisma and is a bumbling fool and his sidekick Smee is just the same comic relief that he was in the original. The Lost Boys (a big deal to Pan fans) are pretty one dimensional. The only character who is on top form is Tinkerbell who is as hilarious and cutesy as ever. Her scenes are touching and she looks amazing as usual. The animation is above average for Disney sequels with the dark and dreary use of grey and white in the opening London scenes transformed into an ever colourful and wonderful looking Neverland. The voice acting is pretty spot on considering many of the actors in the original are now long deceased. The actors who voiced Captain Hook and Smee are especially worth mentioning. The story is pretty much what you'd expect for a Disney sequel so not much to say on that.

The transition to DVD is wonderful. The picture and sound quality are top notch, as is the detail (especially Tinkerbell's pixie dust.) There are not many extras (virtually a bare disk) however this is a rare Disney sequel now that frequantly goes out of print so snap it up if you are a collector of Disney titles or if you have the original. Children will probably really enjoy this and it is definately better than some of the other Disney sequels, however it simply cannot hold a torch to the original.

6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great for the kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jun 2014
good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars USA product does not play in UK, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does not play in UK even with the best player on the market, so don't feel it is right to be selling on amazon UK when clearly it is only USA product! Very disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered as present for my nephew arrived on time and my nephew loves it and has already watched the DVD time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Pan - Return to Neverland [VHS]
Peter Pan - Return to Neverland [VHS] by Robin Budd (VHS Tape - 2002)
3.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews