Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars **** IT WILL ROCK YOU ****
Apparently audiences couldn't quite figure out A Knight's Tale when it had its theatrical release last year. This was in all likelihood due to the combination of rock music in ancient times clashing with our knowledge of history and our delicate sensibilities. However, having both seen this at the cinema and owning it on DVD, I would like to hope that this movie will be...
Published on 17 Oct 2002 by Mr. N. Carnegie

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My childhood memories re-visited (you'll read what I mean!)
In my home town of Wigan, Lancashire there's a kiddies theme park called Camelot which I frequently visited in my younger days. Throughout the day, visitors are treated to a staged jousting tournament with fun and frolics thrown in for good measure. As I sat down to watch A Knight's Tale these memories of me shouting for the "good guy" came flooding back for...
Published on 12 Aug 2002 by Louise Garrahan


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars **** IT WILL ROCK YOU ****, 17 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Knight's Tale [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Apparently audiences couldn't quite figure out A Knight's Tale when it had its theatrical release last year. This was in all likelihood due to the combination of rock music in ancient times clashing with our knowledge of history and our delicate sensibilities. However, having both seen this at the cinema and owning it on DVD, I would like to hope that this movie will be given a second chance to win new viewers as it really is a good film and great fun!
Heath Ledger (The Patriot) displaying great charm and a winning smile throughout, plays William Thatcher, squire to a washed up champion jouster, who dies during a competition, leaving William to masquerade as his master in order to collect their winnings. Aided by his initially less than enthusiatic pals Roland (Mark Addy from Full Monty) and Wat (Alan Tudyk, 28 Days) William fakes nobility to illegally enter competitions. On their travels they encounter a naked wanderer, the future famed author, Geoffrey Chaucer (Paul Bettany) who joins their 'crusade' and helps to forge William's ancestral lineage, so that he can take part in the noblemen only games. Whilst competing (according to my wife who seems to like every Australian film star) the very handsome William catches the eye of a lady, Jocelyn (the very beautiful Shannyn Sossamon), and sets out to win her heart. However, standing between William and his two goals of winning the World Championships and winning the hand of Lady Jocelyn stands the dastardly Count Adhemar (brilliantly played by Rufus Sewell, Dark City).
This is a surprising change of direction for writer/Director Brian Helgelend (LA Confidential). This movie is great fun and the mixture of rock music (they sing, clap and stamp Queen's We Will Rock You before each joust) and medieval times works surprisingly well, adding to the excitement and atmosphere of each competition. Both Heath Ledger and Shannyn Sossamon shine in their lead roles and share excellent on-screen sexual chemistry. However, it is Paul Bettany who steals most scenes as the occasionally naked, always in trouble, lyrical Geoffrey Chaucer. Also watch out for James Purefoy in a relatively small role (but tipped for greater things)!
Extra features on the DVD include a light-hearted commentary from Brian Helgeland and Paul Bettany, where they reveal some of the FX tricks of the trade and hear Helgeland feign ignorance of the fact that they didn't dance to David Bowie in 1366 or play Queen's "We Will Rock You" at jousting tournaments. There is also a passable documentary and some excellent deleted scenes and a music video where Britains most popular of current musical stars Robbie Williams performs Queen's "We Are the Champions" with all the pomp and grandiosity of Freddie Mercury, outlining why he is considered natural heir to Mercury's throne as Britains Greatest Showman.
Four stars for the movie (five stars are far too often and easily dispensed), four stars for the extras. Well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family viewing - romantic medieval jousting comedy, 10 Feb 2007
By 
Jenny L (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Knight's Tale [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Great film - and I would recommend getting this 2006 release which is an extended cut (137 mins) and includes 11 'featurettes' (each 2-5 mins long): these give a rare insight to the thinking behind and making of the film. I just bought/watched this version and thoroughly enjoyed it. The 2001 'Superbit' release would only make a difference if you have a home cinema; you would have the original 127 min version with this and no extra features.

The purpose of the rock music score and modern mannerisms used by the characters is to make them believable, so that the viewer is drawn into the film - this would not happen if pure 1300's language were used. The film starts as it would in real life if you came upon a group of people you never knew - you'd get to know them as time goes by; no need for lengthy 'character introductions', all is revealed as the story unfolds.

Quirky, passionate, amusing, the story links with history by its references to Chaucer and characters in "Canterbury Tales". It is described by one of the cast as a "romantic medieval jousting comedy", which just about sums it up! And when you discover it was filmed in the Czeck republic, including homeless people as extras, it adds to the poignancy of the film.

It is rated PG probably because of the jousting scenes which are pretty vivid and done for real, as the featurettes explain - they may be balsa wood lances, but a 40mph collision still hurts; the violence and 'romance' is otherwise carefully filmed and not OTT. The only person who dies is the opening character, clad with armour, who is already dead; and all ends up happily ever after. With visual detail, verbal banter and great characters, it's a great family film with something for all ages... unless you suffer from a sense of humour deficiency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic romp, 11 Oct 2006
By 
H. B. Hosegoood (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Knight's Tale [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have seen this film several times with different people, and everyone comes away from it feeling buoyant. Watch it with adults or children - there are no nasty surprises to worry about. It is hilarious in the British 'Notting Hill' tradition, romantic and exciting. The scenes of sword-fighting and jousting are great fun and the music uplifting. There is no attempt at historical realism, and yet this actually captures the sense of the time better than accurate mannerisms, clothing and language. For example, the serfs chant football songs at the inn, and sing Queen's 'We Will Rock You' in the stands, creating instant recognition and a sense of the excitement and comradship felt. Don't expect anything intellectual, just sit back and wallow in the fun. Geoffrey Chaucer, played expertly by Paul Bettany, surely has the best role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Campy good fun, 4 Mar 2003
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Knight's Tale [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A KNIGHT'S TALE is a light-hearted, romantic comedy set in the mid-14th century and centered around the sport of jousting.
Heath Ledger plays one of three servants of a knight who has the misfortune to fall from his horse and die immediately before his scheduled appearance in a tournament. Since his servants don't eat if their man doesn't compete and win, they find themselves up against it. Ledger, as Will Thatcher, has the daring idea of donning his dead master's armor and competing under his identity. As luck would have it, he wins. Afterwards, he convinces his buddies, Roland and Wat (Mark Addy and Alan Tudyk), to invest the prize money (15 silver pieces) into the equipment needed to prepare and train for the next tournament, then the next. The ultimate goal is the World Championship of Jousting to be held in London.
As Will trains in the forest away from prying eyes, he and his two pals provide slapstick comedy reminiscent of the Three Stooges. However, Thatcher perseveres. Finally, the only problem left is to acquire knighthood, since jousting is reserved for the nobility. Our boys soon encounter a naked man walking down the road, who turns out to be the young writer Geoffrey Chaucer (Paul Bettany), fleeced of all his possessions by a gambling loss. In exchange for clothes and food, Chaucer forges the appropriate documents that give Will an impressive upper class lineage as Sir Ulrich of Liechtenstein, and afterwards serves as Ulrich's herald.
All characters in this delightful film are attractive and well-played, even that of Count Adhemar (Rufus Sewell), the treacherous (but extremely capable) fighter who is Will's greatest obstacle to the Big Prize Money. And, since every gallant knight needs a Babe to provide some silky underthing as a token to fight under, we have Shannyn Sossamon as Lady Jocelyn. Sossaman has strong-featured good looks that are sometime spoiled, in my opinion, by coiffures that might be considered bizarre in this day and age, much less the Middle Ages. And Jocelyn's costuming is occasionally tongue-in-cheek humorous. At one point, she wears a hat that brings to mind Audrey Hepburn's Holly Golightly persona in BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY'S. (My wife, whose one-time hobby was making medieval costumes, chortled at the incongruity of some of Jocelyn's outfits.) Another character that attaches to Sir Ulrich's entourage is the blacksmithess Kate (Laura Fraser). Young and very pretty, one would have expected Kate to provide a love interest for somebody, but disappointingly never does. She serves principally as a foil for the boy-will-be-boys shenanigans of her traveling companions.
One of the more quirky elements of A KNIGHT'S TALE is the contemporary classic rock soundtrack. When a disguised Will enters the arena to compete for the first time, the spectators belt out a rendition of "We Will Rock You". Later, as the World Championship contestants ride into London, the crowd sings "The Boys Are Back In Town". While seeming absurd at first, it grows on you.
I recommend this film as excellent family fare for an afternoon or evening of laughter in front of the castle's wide-screen, HD TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too brilliant!, 27 Aug 2006
By 
S. Firth (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I cant believe some of the (very few) bad reviews on this film. i dont know what u see bad with this brilliant film.

I think the whole rock music in medieval times works brilliantly, even though u wouldnt expect it to. Heath Ledger is brill in this film and, unlike one reviewer said, the jousting scenes are fabulous. I loved Wat and Rowland too, they were so funny and supportive of William. And the brilliant Paul Bettany as Chaucer was fantastic. The girl who did his armour (i forget her name) was funny, trying to be equal to a man in medieval times. And the Nike bit suprisingly worked well.

I wasnt really expecting much from Shannyn Sossaman, but i thought for her first film she did brilliantly. And Rufus Sewell was brilliant as the dark, devious Ahdemar.

My favourite scenes were the dancing scene to the brilliant Golden Years by David Bowie, i thought this scene was fab. And the bit where William re-unites with his dad is touching and so good. The ending scenes were tense and exciting and oh so good!! I just could go on forever about this film but i shall stop, and remind people that it's a very tongue&cheek film (right down to the millenium wheel when they get back to London)! but it has a serious meaning, that anyone can change their stars and bring their dreams alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My childhood memories re-visited (you'll read what I mean!), 12 Aug 2002
By 
In my home town of Wigan, Lancashire there's a kiddies theme park called Camelot which I frequently visited in my younger days. Throughout the day, visitors are treated to a staged jousting tournament with fun and frolics thrown in for good measure. As I sat down to watch A Knight's Tale these memories of me shouting for the "good guy" came flooding back for this film truly is the movie version of Camelot's show. Lancers crumple like paper and chunks of wood fly through the air as the knight's William Thatcher (Heath Ledger) and Count Adhemer of Anjou (Rufus Sewell) charge full pelt at one another in order to gain victory as champion of the tournament.
In the first half hour William and his two sidekicks meet Geoffrey Chaucer walking down the road as naked as a jay bird- and that about sums up this character as open, unexpecting and a little O.T.T but Paul Bettany who plays the madhatter of a writer is excellent- check out his opening speeches! (as an aside watch him in A Beautiful Mind as he's just a great in that).
The film is a story of hope and eventual triumph as William attempts to "change his stars," with a little love interest on the side. Being an old romantic I personally would've liked to see the romance story between William and his princess Jocelyn played by the gorgeous Shannon Sossamon, develop a little further but hey that's just me.
Take Shakespearean talk and add a little contmeporary music and A Knight's Tale is a perfect blend of old meets new. A comedy drama that's sure to have you laughing one minute and sobbing into your hankies the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a few downsides, 19 April 2010
By 
M. Moroney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This Film is amazing, I watched it on DVD first and then decided to get it on Blu Ray, and film-wise, its fantastic, however, there are a few downsides to this Blu Ray compared to the DVD.

Firstly, this Blu Ray has about 10-15 minutes cut out of it from the DVD. And the worst thing about that, besides the film being shorter, is the scenes that have been cut are important to the storyline.

Secondly, the DVD to this film has about 5 different extra features on it, have a guess how many are on this Blu Ray. Nope, your wrong, there are none, that's right NONE! Is it me, or were we told that Blu Ray's could store the same amount of information 5 times over than a DVD.

So take it from me, if all you want is a good film ,which has superior imaging and sound, to watch on a Saturday night while trying to relax, then do not hesitate to buy this film, but, if your looking for a bit more than that, then I suggest that you buy the DVD version of this. It may be a bit more gritty, but it will be worth it if you want the special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family entertainment for anyone with some sense of humour, 10 Feb 2007
By 
Jenny L (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Knight's Tale [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Great film, but I would recommend getting the 2006 release which is an extended cut (137 mins) and includes 11 'featurettes' (each 2-5 mins long): these give a rare insight to the thinking behind and making of the film. The 'Superbit' release would only make a difference if you have a home cinema; you would have the original 127 min version with this and no extra features.

The purpose of the rock music score and modern mannerisms used by the characters is to make them believable, so that the viewer is drawn into the film - this would not happen if pure 1300's language were used. The film starts as it would in real life if you came upon a group of people you never knew - you'd get to know them as time goes by; no need for lengthy 'character introductions', all is revealed as the story unfolds.

Quirky, passionate, amusing, the story links with history by its references to Chaucer and characters in "Canterbury Tales". It is described by one of the cast as a "romantic medieval jousting comedy", which just about sums it up! And when you discover it was filmed in the Czeck republic, including homeless people as extras, it adds to the poignancy of the film.

It is rated PG probably because of the jousting scenes which are pretty vivid and done for real, as the featurettes explain - they may be balsa wood lances, but a 40mph collision still hurts; the violence and 'romance' is otherwise carefully filmed and not OTT. The only person who dies is the opening character, clad with armour, who is already dead; and all ends up happily ever after. With visual detail, verbal banter and great characters, it's a great family film with something for all ages... unless you suffer from a sense of humour deficiency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 11 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: A Knight's Tale [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
We have just sat and watched this film as a family on VHS. It was hilarious. The script is excellent, the acting first class especially Paul Bettany who gets 6 out of 5. I suspect some of the scenes were improvised and it looks like the whole cast enjoyed them selves. The music is great too. Fantastic, funny, clever and good family viewing. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feel-good film for all the family-fabulous!!, 15 April 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is a great laugh and a good one for all the family to watch together. The jousting scenes are exciting, the costumes are gorgeous,the music and dance scenes are brilliant fun and we watched it over and over again. A simple story of love and friendship with plenty of laughs thrown in. Watch and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Knight's Tale [DVD] [2001]
A Knight's Tale [DVD] [2001] by Brian Helgeland (DVD - 2002)
3.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews