Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique Love Story
This is one of those movies that while completely predictable and very unlikely to happen, is still unique and captivating in it's own way.

It's a wonderful love story about Jonathan and Sara, two people who meet by chance trying to buy the same pair of Cashmere gloves in Bloomingdales just before Christmas. Both are in a relationship with different people...
Published on 20 Jan 2007 by Dismal Angel

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BOY MEETS GIRL...BOY LOSES GIRL...BOY GETS GIRL...
This film tells the story of soulmates who seem destined to be together only to be torn asunder by fate. It relates the journey that each one will make alone, only to have the fates ultimately put to right what once went wrong.
Kate Beckinsale is positively luminous as Sara Thomas, the beautiful, young woman with whom Jonathan Trager, earnestly played by John Cusack,...
Published on 11 Nov 2002 by Lawyeraau


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique Love Story, 20 Jan 2007
By 
Dismal Angel "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Serendipity [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is one of those movies that while completely predictable and very unlikely to happen, is still unique and captivating in it's own way.

It's a wonderful love story about Jonathan and Sara, two people who meet by chance trying to buy the same pair of Cashmere gloves in Bloomingdales just before Christmas. Both are in a relationship with different people yet, on this one chance meeting and spending a day together, are quite taken with each other.

Although Jonathan wants to continue seeing Sara, Sara - as a firm believer in fate - thinks they should let it be fates decision whether they should end up together, and so, Sara writes her name and number in a book which she will give to charity, and Jonathan writes his name and number on a five dollar bill which Sara uses at a Kiosk to buy something. Her logic is that if they should happen upon each others names and numbers in future, it's obvious they should be together again.

Some years pass after they depart from each other - both have moved on and are now engaged to other people, and yet, they still have thoughts about each other. Jonathan has been endlessly searching for the book with Sara's number, and as he's soon to be wed, he decides to take one last stab at finding her before it's too late. Sara is also soon to marry, and decides to take off to New York in order to find him.

Throughout their search for each other, a huge number of coincidences weave in and out of their lives linking them unknowingly to the other, physically being blocks away and unaware the other is searching, and seredipity is working to bring them together.

A wonderful romance with some great comic moments from Molly Shannon, Eugene Levy and Jeremy Piven, and some brilliantly delivered scenes from John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale. You won't be sorry you bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feel good movie of the highest order, 7 Feb 2007
By 
Jennifer Hastie (Aberdeen,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serendipity [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Does Fate exist? And can it guide and reach Jonathan and Sara-despite their current partners,and over time and distance? Some people may doubt that magic/fate exists in this day and age but magic this film truly is. After a hard day,sit back and bask in the warmth that this movie will put in your heart(even the hardest of cynical hearts). Treat yourself to the romance and magic of New York,great acting and direction,superb script and a wonderful soundtrack. Whether you believe in fate or not this movie will make you feel so good you may just admit to yourself that such a wonderful encounter is possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant entertaining comedy, 22 Jun 2007
This review is from: Serendipity [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is more a review of the film than of the DVD.

I saw the film for the first time yesterday and found it very entertaining. The main thing which worked for me was the story more than anything else. The story is inspired to say the least, and is pleasantly supported by some good acting and cinematography.

The story centres around 2 people who meet and feel like there's more to their meeting than chance, though they are both with other partners at the time. However the same fate that brought them together conspires to sunder them until the time is right. And when would be the right time? Cut to a few years in the future when they're both on the brink of serious commitment and both want to lay to rest the feeling they got from that one evening years ago. This forms the bulk of the film as we see how the pair struggle to make face swing another meeting, and then are cheated time and again.

Splendid viewing - I hardly noticed how the minutes went by. This film made me smile and cheer and all the rest of it.

John Cusack, Kate Bekinsale, Eugene Levy, Jeremy Piven et al deliver the expected performances with ease. But this is not the best film to watch for acting or direction or anything deep. Rather watch this film for a 90 minute (or so) vacation to pleasantville. Set in New York, this film has a distinctly "Friendsy" feel to it. Spend an evening with Serendipity - you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surrender to Serendipity..., 10 Jan 2007
By 
Rw Chapman (Thundersly,Essex,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serendipity [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is more than a film, it is an inspiring and heartfelt approach to life, it specifically contributes it's enlightening story from a favoured belief;destiny- the idea that each and everyone of us have a soulmate, you can be thousands of miles apart but you're lives will inevitably entwine.

To adapt this heart warming belief to the big screen, John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale contribute their commendable talent to play the star cross lovers as they simply float through their everyday lives, blinded by the truth that will bring them together, New York is magically portrayed at every angle and complemented with meaningful lyrics by an original soundtrack.

This film gives you faith and comfort in your pursuit for love, Knowing there is someone out there for you, this film is worth savouring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous and heartwarming film, 31 July 2007
This review is from: Serendipity [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Romantic comedies aren't normally my sort of film (due to the relatively low explosion count and lack of gunfire :)), but I defy anyone to fail to be moved by this tale of not so much star-crossed as star-somewhat messed-about-with lovers. The script is excellent, and the central performances from both John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale are perfect. Perfect. With strong support (especially from Piven as Cusack's best friend), there's no shortage of laughter, but one genuinely comes to care about these two people and I was desperately keeping my fingers crossed that there WOULD be a fairytale ending. I can't recommend this film highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fated to be a minor classic, 11 July 2007
By 
m "macey" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serendipity [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
OK so the rubbishy cover is going to put a few people off but this is one of those modern `romance films' which are actually quite good.
The central premise of meeting someone once and knowing they are `the one' isn't new, but it is handled very nicely here with our star-struck couple deciding to leave everything to fate, with problematic results which ensue. There are some great moments and ideas - the writing down of the phone number on the dollar bill etc but you get the sense that they weren't really sure if the whole thing would work. In my experience they always set things at Christmas if the idea is a bit quirky - a kind of `if all else fails' philosophy.

They needn't have worried - John Cusak is in his element in his niche role of the ordinary guy trying to do something extraordinary with his life. And the two supporting actors - Cusak's best friend and Beckinsale's daft eastern flute-playing boyfriend are standouts, worth an honourable mention. Beckinsale is good, but it's a hard job keeping up with Cusak on any day of the week.

All in all, very nice - and `nice' in a good way I mean. One to watch with your other half if you have one. Nice package too - commentary and feature on the making of etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have a heart..., 22 Dec 2006
By 
M. Stocker "Joey217" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serendipity [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
If you're the kind of person who already has or longs for love, the kind that swells within you, bursting to the seems so much that all you know of is love.

Then this film is for you, its truly heartwarming and even gives me a hope that love like that is there when you're lucky enough to find it, it has such a feel good factor to it and the acting is superb.

I've watched so so so many films and plenty of romantic ones, and for a guy of 26 to sit and watch it so fervently is impressive enough in my mind.

So if you want that warm and toasty feeling inside?!, buy and watch this great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to watch with the girls and a glass of wine, 30 Nov 2002
By 
S. German (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serendipity [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a sweet harmless film and is definetly one for the girls. A true chick flick. John Cusack does a splendid turn as the man about to get married but who still wonders what might have been had things work out differently with "glove girl". Kate Bekinsdale and John make a good couple and they seem to have a good chemistry going on. Film will never win any awards but it is good light entertainment. DVD has good extra features but the storyboard comparison and theatrical trailer bits that were supposed to be on it did not appear when I watched it on my DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A romantic comedy you can enjoy if you don't think about it, 5 July 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Once upon a time Jon (John Cusack) and Sara (Kate Beckinsale) have a chance encounter in a department store. There is some instant chemistry between the two, but each is involved in a relationship and so they are decidedly indecisive. However, she keeps talking about Fate as if Lachesis herself was dropping constant hints into her ear. They part, but are brought together again by Fate (or Serendipity if you will; what is important is that you capitalize the word), and he takes this as a good sign but she insists that a higher standard must be met. He will write his name and number of a $5 that she spends without looking at; She writes her name and number in a book that she will sell to a used bookstore. However, not even that is enough to finish tormenting this poor guy because to prove that "now" is not the time they should be together they walk into separate elevators in a hotel to see if they push the same button. Apparently, Fate not only has a sense of humor, it is a sick sense of humor.
Are Jon and Sara supposed to be together? With this set up you cannot think otherwise, although getting her to tell him her name almost proves impossible (As soon as she said her name my immediate question was "How do you spell it?" and that turns out not to be an idle question because both of these soul mates have dropped the "h" from their names). Now, we know that Jon and Sara are going to end up together because in the final analysis this is a romantic comedy and not an exercise in existential horror. But we also know that until he finds the book and she comes across the $5 bill that the cosmic wheel of chance is not even close to having finished spinning. "Serendipity" is a movie that pours on the close calls and near misses with gay abandon. The problem is that the stars do not start aligning for this fated couple until both are about to get married. In other words, while toying with Jon and Sara before allowing them to live happily ever after each gets to ruin the live of another human being. Maybe the cosmic balance must be maintained and the ultimate joy of our happy couple has to be equaled by the pain inflicted on their fiancées.
I think if there were not human wreckage behind the happy ending I would have enjoyed "Serendipity" more. The film I kept thinking back on was "My Best Friend's Wedding," where you come to the point of deciding that Julie Roberts's character does not deserve to stop the wedding and get the buy; she does not, but the ending is still quite satisfying. There was another recent romantic comedy where the wedding was interrupted at the last moment but everybody still ended up happy. However, "Serendipity" has a cruel streak: notice the circumstances under which Jon discovers the book. What could have been crueler?
Clearly, this is not a film to think about too much because it will collapse under the weight of critical scrutiny. Cusack is an engaging romantic lead and has been every since he lifted up that boom box in "Say Anything." Beckinsale is cute but her character apparently knows nothing about tempting the gods in general and the Fates in particular. The only explanation is that she does not really believe in the Fates when she prattles on about them at the beginning of the film and it is not until circumstances literally force her to connect the dots that she becomes a true believer. Special mention goes to Jeremy Piven as Dean Kansky, Jon's best friend and one of the more memorable of that type to come down the road since, well, Rupert Everett in "My Best Friend's Wedding."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fateful Encounter, 8 Nov 2003
By 
Mrs J (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Serendipity stars the talented John Cusack and British actress Kate Beckinsale. Set in New York the film unfolds gently from an unexpected encounter in a shop where Jonathan Trager (Cusack) meets an enigmatic young lady (Beckinsale) who tries to buy the same pair of gloves as him. Therein follows a special night where the pair spend time together and Jonathan gets a 'crush' on someone else's girlfriend and when the time comes to part Sara, who strongly believes in fate and destiny, decides it must be left for them to find each other again as the time is not right. Jonathan somewhat reluctantly agrees and the couple go their separate ways. Some years later, when each are engaged to other partners, something niggles them and they both set out to find their 'true' love and indeed, their soulmate. Kate Beckinsale is quintessentially English in her role as Sara and gives a sweet, convincing performance whilst John Cusack as Jonathan is, as ever, charming and charismatic. Jeremy Piven (Cusack's best friend in real life) is in a good supporting 'best buddy' role who encourages Jonathan to keep up his search for Sara and Mollie Shannon gives a believeable performance as Sara's friend.
I enjoyed this film immensely as, being a hopeless romantic, it proved to be right up my street! Of course, it is a fairly predictable film but it is gentle and entertaining in its own sweet way. I thoroughly recommend it for all you romantics out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serendipity [DVD] [2002]
Serendipity [DVD] [2002] by Peter Chelsom (DVD - 2002)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews