Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST
In a cynical world where we seem to delight in finding fault with our political leaders and role models, Ali stands out as a truly legendary example of man against the system. George Bernard Shaw wrote, "The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable...
Published on 12 Nov 2005 by Lee Hendricks

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ali DVD
Quality of product was not great. Film itself is well-made but while I laud Mohammed Ali's principles, I dislike boxing which I think is tantamount to a blood sport.
Published 10 months ago by rospillai


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST, 12 Nov 2005
By 
Lee Hendricks "Jimmi" (Ascot, Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
In a cynical world where we seem to delight in finding fault with our political leaders and role models, Ali stands out as a truly legendary example of man against the system. George Bernard Shaw wrote, "The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
This film shows that Ali was far from reasonable. He made exacting demands of himself, which on occasion he fails to meet. Will Smith portrays Ali the legend with dignity and sensitivity, giving us an insight to the man, his motives, loves and hates. In an Oscar winning role, Will Smith becomes Ali and exudes the trademark charisma, strength and power that Ali was so famous for.
The film is touching showing our hero flaws and all: the difficult relationship with his father; the rise to early stardom; the fall from grace at the hands of the American Senate; and his remarkable come back to defeat the powerhouse George Foreman in the sensational Rumble in the Jungle.
The film, unlike many Hollywood productions, makes no attempt to romanticise the life of the greatest heavyweight champion the world has ever seen. Will Smith portrays a womanising Ali who appears to struggle with his Muslim beliefs, and yet is mindful of the Nation of Islam's hypocrisy that comes across in the film. There is also a hint of things to come when Ali confronts Don King following another successful defence of his heavyweight title.
Neither a love of boxing, Will Smith, or Ali are prerequisites for owning this film. It is a touching, inspirational and entertaining film that strives to remain historically accurate, whilst condensing some of Ali's brightest moments into the available viewing time. Funny, thrilling and emotionally engaging, the film is a must buy and an essential addition to any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Smith is a revellation, 12 July 2002
By 
jbezzo "jbezzo" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
There some pretty challenging roles for an actor to play and trying to bring the energy and sheer presence of Muhammad Ali to the screen must rank with the toughest. Yet Smith handles the task admirably and lifts an otherwise ordinary film into reaching distance of an Oscar. Smith earned his second nomination for his portrayal of Ali in the defining decade of his life 1964-74 in which Ali bookends his conversion to Islam and his refusal to accept the draft, with title wins over Sonny Liston and George Foreman.
The film plays like a documentary and judged on this; it would be easy to recommend the Oscar winning "When We Were Kings" - after all,if you want Ali, why not get the real one. Smith, who trained for a year to pack on the weight and to look convincing as a fighter is electric in the scenes when he does the former champ off to a tee in both his looks and diction - his interviews with a straight-faced Howard Cosell (Jon Voigt)are vintage stuff, with the spontaniety of a genuine ad-libber. In the quieter moments he struggles a little bit, almost as though he is moving from Ali setpiece to Ali set piece. You'll definitely watch this for performance if not content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I don't think I've ever seen Will Smith act as good as this. He has the mannerisms and turn of phrase of Ali so spot on it's spooky. This film looks at Ali's rise to glory, his religious discovery and development and his relationships with his wife and lovers, contemporary journalists (which provide some of the best scenes in the film) and with other fighters and the public. This is a long film, but doesn't feel like it at all. This is one of those films I am able to watch again and again and i highly recommend it.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film really catches the moment of when Ali grew to fame. Will Smith plays the role well and does a great impersonation of Ali.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
You forget it is Will Smith and believe it is Ali himself, really enjoyable and a good précis of his fighting career
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ali DVD, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Quality of product was not great. Film itself is well-made but while I laud Mohammed Ali's principles, I dislike boxing which I think is tantamount to a blood sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars knockout, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
will smith playes the part really well in fact he is the perfect actor for this he rattles off the old ali rhymes spot on the action in the ring is convincing and the emotional side of ali is beliveable to.well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ali or willi, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Yep good representation of his life and some big surprises for me I hadn't realised about him dodging the draft etc very thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ali, the greatest - the film, not so much!, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because it was cheap - 1.27, inc shipping - so I was not all that disappointed in what I recv'd.
It's an OK film and there's a bonus disc with a Making Of featurette and a behind the scenes bit too.
My biggest problem was that Will Smith is too recognizable an actor to portray such an iconic figure.
He doesn't disappear into the role and make you believe you're watching Ali, like, for example, Jamie Foxx did in Ray.
He had Ali's voice down pretty well but I could never get past it being Will Smith.
If you're curious and can get a copy as cheaply as I did, go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Ali [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I was looking forward to seeing this film having followed Ali's career since his totally unexpected defeat of Liston in 1963.

But I was disappointed. The music and singing were intrusive, loud and totally unnecessary. Ali's infectious public character and humour were lacking and the story did not cover his early years as an amateur and later self promotion. It dwelt overlong on the religious aspect and its influence.

I was hoping for a film of his boxing career from his amateur days till the time he regained the title for the third time, with passing reference only to other influences along the way.

The film also suffered from the disease prevelant in current films; actors mumbling their lines making it sometimes difficult to follow the story.

I like Will Smith but he couldn't convince in this role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ali [DVD] [2002]
Ali [DVD] [2002] by Michael Mann (DVD - 2002)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews