Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous & Magical
This set looks fantastic. It has a cardboard sleeve and the main box inside is large, solid and and very well-presented with lovely detailing. If you have all the sets together, they are quite phenomenal to behold! Inside there is a 'Creating The World of Harry Potter' photo album and this contains photographs of many of the Harry Potter film sets. There is also a paper...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by Quinn

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but a disappointing Blu-Ray
The film is wonderful, for me clearly the better of the two Christopher Columbus 'family films', and in many ways my favourite before the obsession started with making Harry Potter increasingly 'darker'. Extras are not bad including around nine minutes of deleted scenes and numerous behind the scenes features. But the main issue here is the Blu-Ray quality and that is why...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Mr. Blu


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but a disappointing Blu-Ray, 8 Jan 2010
The film is wonderful, for me clearly the better of the two Christopher Columbus 'family films', and in many ways my favourite before the obsession started with making Harry Potter increasingly 'darker'. Extras are not bad including around nine minutes of deleted scenes and numerous behind the scenes features. But the main issue here is the Blu-Ray quality and that is why this great film gets only three stars.

The video quality is not very good. Contrasts are surprisingly poor, with many scenes too bright (Harry and his owl during the Xmas holidays) and the children's faces often looking vampirically pale due to excessive contrast. There is also far too much soft focus and too little sharpness for the film to ever really shine let alone 'pop' as the jargon has it. Scenes which are just made for HD, lingering close-ups, for example, often appear surprisingly soft and lacking definition. There are moments of HD magic - like the moving bricks in the wall before Diagon Alley - but they are far too rare and are never of reference character. Faces, particularly the children, often lack detail almost as though some form of digital noise reduction (DNR) had been applied! I say "almost" because the film is not short of grain/noise.

Audio quality is pretty good but well short of what it could have been. The PCM track is only 48khz and sometimes lacks the extra detail and spaciousness associated with HD audio. Surround sound is very well used though, particularly in the Quidditch match.

All in all a disappointing BD. The new audio-mix on the "Ultimate Editions" available in the US and continental Europe seems to be an open admission that the soundtrack wasn't good enough. But I wouldn't hold your breath for a new transfer. On the internet I read that some of the video problems are to be blamed on the limited budget for Part 1 and the not sufficiently careful integration of CGI. Although I hope, at the least, a new transfer one day could sort out the contrasts, and remove DNR if that is what is making the kids' faces look so lacking in detail and smoothed over at times.

Not really recommended. The only good news is that a better sound-mix is out there and that general feedback from BD-loving Potter fans is that the series gets much better on BD from Part II on. I'll be sure to post on "Chamber of Secrets" when I've seen it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous & Magical, 21 Dec 2011
By 
Quinn (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This set looks fantastic. It has a cardboard sleeve and the main box inside is large, solid and and very well-presented with lovely detailing. If you have all the sets together, they are quite phenomenal to behold! Inside there is a 'Creating The World of Harry Potter' photo album and this contains photographs of many of the Harry Potter film sets. There is also a paper folder which contains two artcards -Snape and McGonagall - and a digital film code leaflet.
The discs themselves are housed in a separate fold-out dvd set:
Disc 1: Blu-Ray Movie (Theatrical Version)
Disc 2: DVD Movie (Theatrical Version)
Disc 3: DVD Movie (Extended Version)
Disc 4: DVD Special Features (Additional Scenes, A Conversation With The Film-Makers, Visit Diagon Alley, Enter The Library, Attend Classes, Learn More About Quidditch, Seek The Mirror of Erised, Gallery of Art & Architecture)
Disc 5: DVD Creating The World of Harry Potter Part 1: The Magic Begins (1. The Magic Begins 2. Characters 3. Magical Creatures 4. Sound & Music 5. The Evolution of Harry Potter 6. Special Effects 7. Growing Up Potter 8. The Harry Potter Phenomenon)
Although this set is marketed as a Blu-Ray set please note that only one disc is Blu-Ray which is why I don't think it's perfect. Unlike the US version of this boxset, the UK version does not contain a Blu-Ray extended version of the film which is very disappointing. The special features from Disc 4 are not unique to this set but the hour long documentary on Disc 5 offers a spectacular behind-the-scenes look at the movies and how it all began. The real highlight is definitely the extended version of the film. The extra scenes really add to the film and aren't just fillers - my particular favourite new scenes include Petunia opening up the eggs to find Hogwarts letters in each one and the little conversation between the trio after they've defeated the troll. I loved these scenes in the books so it was great to see them on screen at last! This set is definitely one for the die-hard fans due to the price - it's just a shame that there isn't an extra Blu-ray of the extended version in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Sep 2003
I thought this DVD was excellent, it had superd graphics and really brought the magic of Harry Potter to life, my two children always ask to see it again and again. I can't help myself from sitting and watching it too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and The Philosopher's Stone, 11 Oct 2003
By 
Kat (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I came to the film without reading the book (which I've subsequently done) so I came with no preconceived ideas at all. The 3 main child leads are brilliant. Hermione trying to boss the boys, the lovable brave Ron and Harry who has the right mix of normal and the 'there's something about him' sort of quality you would expect from the novels' hero. But the real star of the film is Hogwarts, moving staircases, ghosts, talking paintings. It's a lovely textured world that rivals the BBC's Narnia chronicles, sharing their Sunday afternoon serial feel.
But there is menace but it waits until the end of the film where you realize these kids really are going to go up against something evil and the tension builds and builds before resolution and you get that nice tea and cake feel at the end.
Some of the concepts doesn't make it good for young kids or overly imaginative kids prone to nightmares but for the rest of us it's a good family round the televison after Christmas/Sunday Dinner kind of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 5 Mar 2002
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Two Disc Widescreen Edition) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I took my 3 young children to see this film with a little trepidation, knowing it to be 2.5 hours long. Also, having read the books to all of them as bedtime stories, they each had pre-conceived ideas about the characters, portrayed so vividly in the text.
My fears were groundless. From the moment Dumbledore walked onto the screen in the first act they were mesmerised, their sweets and drink were left untouched as they were transported to the magical world of Hogwarts. The time passed far too quickly as they were taken on a roller coaster ride of fun and excitement.
The atmosphere created by Columbus is engrossing, totally convincing. I watched my children's faces as the story developed, from looks of pure delight as the Dursleys house was bombarded with owl post, to hatred as Alan Rickman's Snape bullied the kids and finally to tears as Ron was knocked from his Knight.
The film is not perfect, some of the children's acting is a bit wooden (not helped by the script, which tries to stay too close to the book), some scenes should not have been cut (lets hope we see some of these on the DVD !!) and some subtle clue's provided in the book for eagle eyed kids are missing, but none of this detracts from the overall experience.
As we left the cinema, the first thing my children said to me was "when can we see it again ?". "Soon", I replied. I began to realise that I had probably enjoyed the film as much as they had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Radcliffe blew me out of the water, 2 April 2013
Length:: 0:10 Mins

Daniel Radcliffe's performance is stunning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Delight, 11 May 2002
By 
Craig R. Hodge "horrible_hodge" (Penicuik Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was one of the only people in the country not to see this film in the cinema. So I was really looking forward to the video release. I've read all the books so far & been highly entertained. So what of the video? Okay it remains fairly true to the book. But maybe looses slighly on the nastiness of some of the characters. The Dursley's, Professor Snape & the relationship between Harry & Draco Malfoy, could have been portrayed with slighly more venom. But over all the special effects were superb. The Quidditch scenes especially realistic. All in all as long as you don't expect to see everything in the book brought to life. (Would end up being the longest film in cinematic history) You'll really enjoy this film. Was I disapointed? No definately not. A highly entertaining film for fans (& muggles) who have not already been bitten by the Potter bug. I think I'll be dragging my nephew & neice along to the cinema for the next chapter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Cool extras, 10 Dec 2007
By 
Great Movie, Surely Everyone and their Dog have seen this fim by now, HD REALLY makes Hogwarts look AMAZING.

Incidently, for those wanting to know, the main feature is coded in 1080p resolution, while the extras are 480i/p.

Still worth it if your potty for potter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the French Ultimate Edition if you want the extended version and documentaries on blu ray, 22 Dec 2011
Shame on Warner Brothers UK. The Ultimate Editions in other countries have the extended edition of this film and the excellent lengthy behind the scenes documentaries on blu ray. In the UK - the home of Harry Potter, no less - we get the bog standard theatrical edition blu ray, packaged with everything else on standard definition DVDs. In effect, it's pretty much what was already available in a big box. What a stupid product.

If you want a *proper* high definition package of this film, buy it from Amazon.fr. It has English menus and doesn't even select French subtitles by default. Plus, it is the British version of the film - i.e. the title on the opening credits is "Philosopher's Stone", not "Sorceror's Stone", as in the US version. And it has the original versions of the scenes where characters refer to the stone, rather than the modified US version.

And the final bonus: IT'S CHEAPER than this rip-off, even with 2-3 day postage from France. Bargain... Amazon.fr even charges you in pounds, so you won't get stung by a conversion charge on your credit card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical movie for all ages to enjoy, 26 Sep 2004
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Two Disc Widescreen Edition) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
What a sensational family movie! Daniel Radcliffe stars as Harry, a rather pitiful orphan, who lives with his mean aunt and uncle. On his 11th birthday, Harry discovers he is a wizard! He happily leaves home for Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and makes his first-ever friends - classmates Ron and Hermione, whose friendship is heart of the story. We follow the trio as they go through their first year at school attending magic classes, finding adventure, and even solving a mystery that involves the evil wizard who killed Harry's parents!
Radcliffe captures the innocence and sadness of Harry, as well as his daring-do and sense of fun. Rupert Grint, as his sidekick Ron, delivers most of the comedy lines and is very likeable. Emma Watson plays Hermione with a heart of gold underneath her bookish bossiness. They are surrounded by a stellar list of British character actors, including Maggie Smith, Richard Harris, and Alan Rickman. All ages can enjoy this movie, even if you haven't read the book. It's wholesome family entertainment that will leave you feeling good and looking forward to the next film in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51e2f60)

This product

Only search this product's reviews