Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'GREAT STORY' AND A GREAT ROLE FOR 'NICHOLAS CAGE'
After his heroics during the 'Solomon Island' campaign, 'Sergeant Joe Enders'
who had to recover from injuries sustained is determined to return to active
service, even persuading a nurse to help him fool the medics to do so.
the 'Japanese' have broken every code the U.S. military have used.
they come up with the idea of using the ancient 'Navajo'...
Published 21 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointing, no matter how much second chances you give to it
It could have been such a great movie. The story of code talkers AND of the terrible and tragic battle of Saipan in one movie - and they had Nicholas Cage, who, contrary to all his haters, is a good actor (remember a little movie called "Moonstruck"?). But the way this film was made... oh, brother... I couldn't believe it.

First, the director messed up...
Published on 14 Sept. 2007 by Darth Maciek


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'GREAT STORY' AND A GREAT ROLE FOR 'NICHOLAS CAGE', 30 Jun. 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Windtalkers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After his heroics during the 'Solomon Island' campaign, 'Sergeant Joe Enders'
who had to recover from injuries sustained is determined to return to active
service, even persuading a nurse to help him fool the medics to do so.
the 'Japanese' have broken every code the U.S. military have used.
they come up with the idea of using the ancient 'Navajo' language needing
'Navajo' conscripts to use the code ........Wind-talking'
'Joe Enders' is assigned a Windtalker 'Private Ben Yahzee' with a mission of
keeping his charge safe and out of enemy hands at 'all costs' protecting the
code.
The sergeant doesn't do friendship............until....
a terrific and well made war-drama..........realistic, action packed, inspired
by a true story.
there are always 'new films' to watch, '2013' is shaping up to be a great year
for new releases.
the slightly older 'Gems' tend to be pushed to the back of the shelf as new
films are collected.
I think we tend to forget just how good many of the 'let's say -a little older'
movies really are.
it's worth taking time out to, like I am trying to do, to revisit some of these,
it's easy to forget them with so many promising new releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointing, no matter how much second chances you give to it, 14 Sept. 2007
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Windtalkers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
It could have been such a great movie. The story of code talkers AND of the terrible and tragic battle of Saipan in one movie - and they had Nicholas Cage, who, contrary to all his haters, is a good actor (remember a little movie called "Moonstruck"?). But the way this film was made... oh, brother... I couldn't believe it.

First, the director messed up a potentially passionate story by showing the recruitement, training and arrival of the Indian code talker to the front in possibly the dullest, colourless way possible. Expect a looooong introduction.

Then, Nicholas Cage character was made in a depressed, half suicidal idiot. Good grief, he plays a man with a mission here, an intelligence officer, charged to protect an invaluable asset (the Indian code talker) - there is no way that in time of war somebody so depressed and dejected could be assigned such a mission. Except in direst of circumstances - and to invade Saipan US Marines and US Army had lots of ressources, including good officers.

The fighting scenes on Saipan - they are exactly like in the worst Chuck Norris movies from the 80s. A short message to moviemakers in Hollywood: "Hello, guys, Spielberg with "Saving Private Ryan" and Ridley Scott with "Blackhawk Down" already revisited war movies - and the kind of cheap stuff we were OK with before, we, the viewers, we do not buy it anymore". I fully agree with some of the previous reviewers - in this film Japanese soldiers act like total morons and get killed by bushels from a single burst of machine gun. This is ridiculous. The fighting scenes on Solomon Islands in the opening scenes (featuring Nicholas Cage) are EVEN worse!

The ending was supposed to be sad and touching - but at that moment I was so tired of "Windtalkers" that I was just relieved that it is over.

I give this movie two stars just because I simply like Nicholas Cage, no matter how bad is the movie he is in. Also Adam Beach, the Canadian actor who comes from the Ojibwa nation, gives a great performance and he saves some scenes from the total disaster. But it is still a disaster. Do not waste your money and one evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars windtalkers, 11 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windtalkers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I was looking forward to this DVD as I had heard about it and was intrigued by the thought of the deception by the Americans using Native Americans speaking in their own language to fool the Japanese. I believe that Welsh speakers were used by our Army in WW11. I enjoyed the film although it is extremely noisy and is let down by having Nicholas Cage in it. I read about the real Windtalkers on line and it seems to follow reality pretty well. If you like war films, as I do you will enjoy this. I particularly enjoyed hearing the Native American language and looked up the alphabet and learned a few words. I wanted to find out what happened to the Windtalkers after the war, those who survived went back to their homes and continued life normally although I believe they were never really recognised for their bravery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars more Wind than Talk, 9 July 2013
This review is from: Windtalkers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
A new slant on the Pacific War, but not a patch on 'Pride of the Marines'. Guadalcanal and Saipan feature highly in US operations during 1942-4, but I had the feeling, which other reviewers shared, that the Japanese displayed moronic rather than Kamekaze traits. The battle scenes were in fact extremely good, apart from the CGIs of low flying fighter aircraft. Nicolas Cage looked like a volcano about to erupt, while Adam Beach learns how to grow up fast. For those who are looking for a 'modern' uptake on the Pacific War, I would recommend 'Flags of Our Fathers' and 'Letters from Iwo jima'. This film isn't in the same class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story lies buried in here somewhere, 12 Sept. 2006
By 
Mr. Joe (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
From mid-1942 to the end of the Pacific war, approximately 400 Navajo Indians served in all six Marine divisions, Marine Raider battalions and Marine parachute units as "code talkers". Their job was to transmit military traffic by radio and telephone in their native language. It was a code the Japanese never cracked. This is the inner kernel of the script for WINDTALKERS.

Nicolas Cage plays Sgt. Joe Enders. He's already demonstrated his ability to follow orders. In the Solomon Islands campaign, his unit fought to the last man - Enders himself - to defend some piece of scummy swamp. After recovering from injuries, Joe is assigned as guardian to a newly enlisted Navajo, Pvt. Ben Yahzee (Adam Beach), who's a rookie radioman in a Marine recon outfit that's part of the assault on Saipan. Joe's orders are to protect the Navajo code "at all costs", which means, in effect, that Enders must be ready to kill Yahzee rather than allow the latter to be captured by the enemy.

Director John Woo has buried the nugget of a pretty good story in so many dead bodies and special effects that it's virtually lost to view. Woo must have been trying to outdo WE WERE SOLDIERS and BLACK HAWK DOWN in body count. Even when the beleaguered Marines discover they're almost out of ammo, they still manage to mow down the onrushing Japanese in scores. Joe Enders himself, suffering the guilt and rage from being the only survivor of his former Solomon Islands unit, is a one man killing machine seemingly capable of storming Tokyo single-handed. The hapless Ben finds himself put in harm's way as he's forced to trail along after his minder and watch the carnage. The combat action isn't even always plausible. At one point, a Marine infantry column in a valley is having the bejeezus kicked out of it by Japanese artillery entrenched on a ridgeline. Somewhere between the two, the last of our heroes' recon unit is scrambling to recover a radio - the last one on Earth apparently - with which an air strike can be called in to paste the bad guys. Are you telling me that the larger Marine detachment in the valley didn't have its own communications gear to call for help?

I'm awarding three generous stars to WINDTALKERS solely on the strength of Cage's gritty performance as the vengeance-obsessed Enders. And although Beach has extensive screen time as the naive Navajo who must become a warrior while under fire, he rarely serves as much more than a foil for Joe's wild-eyed blood lust. The battle sequences themselves are fairly good, though those in the other two films mentioned in this review are a cut above by far. Quantity doesn't necessarily equate with quality.

If anything, this film may inspire the viewer to do additional research on the role of the World War II Navajo code talkers. That, I guess, is something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars to the navaho indian, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windtalkers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
in world war two japan troops occupying the saipan islands are at war with the u.s .to stop the Japanese getting secret messages they use Navaho Indians to transmit in their language with great affect,winning the war for the islands but not without heavy fighting.a god warfilm,and without the help of the American Navaho indian could have been won by the Japanese,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little known fact, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windtalkers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A true story...I had the pleasure of visiting the museum dedicated to the Navajo Indian people who were so valued and of meeting a son of one of these remarkable soldiers who helped win the Pacific War despite being despised by many white soldiers. They really were in fear of their lives as their facial appearance and colouring resembled the Japanese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Brilllant opportunity wasted..........., 24 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windtalkers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Yet again a white American won WWII. I thought this film would tell the story of the native american code talkers but it was Nicholas Cage winning the war in the Pacific. I hope a director somewhere makes another film on the lines of the Dambusters, Reach for the Sky etc. They may be old films but they "tell the story" with drama and action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars windtalkers, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windtalkers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Brilliant war movie about the U.S. army campaign against the Japanese in WW2. The windtalkers in the movie are native americans whose langauge baffled the japanese and was used to carry information.
Its a gory film as you would expect and sad in places because the characters are well portrayed and easy to identify with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An 'A' for effort, but still fails, 28 Feb. 2003
By 
Alun (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Windtalkers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
When I heard John Woo was directing a war film I was intrigued. After his great popcorn flicks 'face/off' and 'broken arrow' I wasn't sure how he would cope with a serious story line that 'Windtalkers' entaled.
The script was moderate with some new ideas, accurate history (surprising for an American film!) but still with cliches and cardboard background characters. "The racist", "The open-minded one" etc.
The two Navaho's were by far the best characters and acted splendidly but Cage and Slater I think were miscast. Cage is a fantastic actor and Slater is far from bad. But in this film they just plod on almost as if they had no character description and I quickly lost all empathy for them. Shame since its their interaction with the 'Windtalkers' that drives the film.
The special effects in my mind fell flat on their face. You have the normal gunfire with blanks etc but the Naval bondbardment was terrible. The effects were better pulled off in 'the longest day'. And once again there are the typical hollywood mistakes of all explosions have sheets of flame, grenades that don't seem to break skin but throw people ten feet in the air and guns that don't recoil (at one point Cage is holding a 11mm tommy gun firing fully automatic with one hand and keeping it level. Any veteran will tell you how unlikely that is!). The Japanese all seem to die to easily, one shot kills which never seems to happen to the Allies, strange since the Japanese were famed for how tenacious in battle they were. The aircraft looked like they were catoon animated and the list goes on,,
I know it sounds like I am nit picking but I just can't help it. For an action movie it stands quite well, but with the story it was trying to tell, a much director with more passion for drama or realism may have succeded better than Woo. If your looking for a good war film try the sugary 'We were soldiers' or the brutal 'enemy at the gates' instead. But if your looking for an action film with simple drama, watch this,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windtalkers [DVD] [2002]
Windtalkers [DVD] [2002] by John Woo (DVD - 2003)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews