Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars295
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2013
This films actually not as bad as I remember when watching it at the cinema. I always thought Hayden Christensen was a bit wooden, but maybe he was actually directed to play the role that way.

Anyway, delivered quickly and in good condition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2004
Let me just say that George Lucas doesn't know what the hell he's doing anymore. With all the fancy shmancy special effects, I seem to keep asking myself, "Where's the drama?" I mean this is supposed to be the tragic story of Anakin's downfall, and all we get is a moody, brooding teenager who complains when his master (Obi-Wan) gives him sage advice. The performances in this film (aside from McGreggor and Lee) are just downright wooden, but to some extent, you can't really blame the actors since they have such little to work with (horrid script, lack of directorial motivation, non-interactive/intagible scenery or supporting cast, just to name a few). With all the intertangling plots, subplots, EU cameos, fanboy extras, and special effects, this movie is just a mess. It has no driving force and no true end. The little consolation we do get, however, is a spectacular fight between Yoda and Count Dooku (worst villain name ever), but this cannot atone for the other 141 and 1/2 minutes of this cheeseball and its attempt at reclaiming fans lost after the last episodic debacle. In short, Lucas really needs to just stick with what he's good at (i.e. producing, special effects, and merchandising) and leave directing to those who can. My prayers are with Episode III...
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2007
Hype, or hyperbole to give it its full title, is defined as a figure of speech in which statements are exaggerated, and is used to evoke strong feelings and create a strong impression, but is not meant to be taken literally. Lets be honest here, with that definition I could have described any of the Star Wars movies, and if anything has been associated with so much hype it makes your head spin, it has been these movies, in particular the so called prequels. However, other words are also associated with these films, words such as disappointment and anger, especially after the travesty of a movie that was the Phantom Menace, so it was with some trepidation that I came to the second of the movies.
To briefly sum up, Attack of the Clones deals with the ongoing attempts by the dark lord of the Sith to fracture the federation so that he can step in and sieze power, using a rebel jedi Count Dooku (Christopher Lee) as his cats-paw, whilst the true jedi attempt to hold things together and stave of the inevitable war. Along the way we are treated to several bits of Star Wars history, including the precursor to the infamous storm troopers in the shape of the Clones, a huge army that is being secretly built by agents unknown, and the romance between Padme Amidala (Natalie Portman), and Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christenson), a romance that we know will only end in tragedy.
Unfortunately, the film is just such an ungodly mess that it is hard to really give a damn about any of it. The plot rattles along at such a pace that it is sometimes dizzying, with revelations coming on top of revelations as deep dark secrets are exposed and plots uncovered with such ease that it makes you wonder how they have remained secret for this long (apparently, no one in the Star Wars universe understands the concept of security). The cast do their best with some hackneyed dialogue (even Ewan McGregor as Obi-wan does not come out of this looking or sounding good). Samuel Jackson as jedi Mace Windu is pretty good, but the real problem with the film is the love story between Anakin and Padme. Instead of a gradual, believable romance, these two spell their feelings out in long winded conversations, laying everything on the table and spouting some of the most cringe worthy platitudes I have ever heard in a movie. Portman looks great but spends an awful lot of the movie staring wistfully of into the distance or at Anakin, and whilst I have seen Hayden Christenson in Shattered Glass, so I know he can act, in this movie he has all the acting ability of a lump of wood.
Even the special effects grate after a while. The battle between the clone army and the droid army of Dooku never looks anything less than impressive, but this is exactly what we have come to expect, and the speeder chase through the towers of the Coruscant cityscape is annoying in its frivolousness. Even watching a small army of jdei's cut loose cannot lift this film above at best the mundane. On the plus side this film is better than the simply awful Phantom Menace, but once again this is a film that does much to damage the reputation of the cherished originals.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2004
Personally i think many of you are being far too hard on this film. Yes, there has been a few problems and some rather annoying characters (the floaty alien things at the clone base for one), but doesn't every film have its weak points? It has been over twenty years since the originals came out and George Lucas will have changed as will his crew-this will make a difference, yes? Ideas will have evolved, artists changed, so i think we should stop analysing the small details and look at the larger picture.
The basic story is-Anakin's (played by newcomer Hayden Christensen) mother is killed and he starts the downward spiral to becoming Darth Vader, despite his being only nineteen. Obi-wan discovers a massive clone army, and that a renegade Jedi (a masterful Christopher Lee) is behind it. He also discovers a droid army that will be used until the clones are ready. Padme is now senator for Naboo and not Queen. She and Anakin meet again and he is made her bodyguard. They cannot deny the powerful attraction between themselves, although Padme tries to desperately. But before they are about to be killed (but they survive) she admits she truly loves him and Anakin becomes even more protective and biased-which leads him even more towards the dark side. A showdown between the droids and the Jedi council ends the film and Obi-wan realises that Anakin is too deeply in love with Padme to be saved. They fight the Jedi-turned-sith lord, Count Dooku and the scene ends with Anakin having his left hand cut off, Obi-wan knocked out and tiny Yoda kicking Dooku's butt-seriously!!! The last scene is Anakin and Padme on Naboo-getting married, although Padme looks a little apprehensive.
And so it ends.
Now that story sounds terribly boring but i do have a word limit. The real story is much more interesting with some decent sabre fights (Yoda's and Dooku's far outshines the original films in some ways) a rather stilted romance which improves as the film progresses(i think Hayden Christensen was finding his feet here-he's much more relaxed in 'Life as a House'.) and a clone army which are destined to become the Empire's army. Some of the graphics are outstanding-some are a little false looking. Some of the characters are amazing and rich-some are a little too odd.
Whilst it might not be the best sci-fi film to date it has its brilliant points and like every other sci-fi film it has its bad ones. Just take it the way its meant-with a pinch of salt-and dont analyse too much because you'll enjoy it all the more.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Out of the prequel trilogy this is my least favourite one, its by no means a BAD film but i dont rate it as highly as the other two, its a bit flat and drags out in places but its OK. 3/5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
This is my favourite installment in the new Star Wars trilogy. Although I was impressed with the Phantom Menace which has a lot to offer, this film is darker and continues the story of the transformation of Anakin Skywalker to the dreaded Darth Vader. Anakin is now a young man and has undertaken his Jedi training. However sinister events are taking place, the Trade Federation are building a clone army and a mysterious cladded bounty hunter is hot on the tail of the master and his apprentice. A great film whether you are a Star Wars fan or not and thoroughly enjoyable to the climax with stunning scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2006
attack of the clones at best is an intriguing and entertaining film, and is a step up from the fairly more "chilidish" approach of episode 1, however it does have a few low points.

if you can ignore things such as average casting and occasionally poor script, this is an enjoyable film for all, rather than criticising the actors and cgi, just sit back and enjoy the story for what it is and stop criticising it for its legacy with the other star wars films, its just sad.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2003
As a long-time Star Wars fan ever since the release of the original film in 1977, it pains me to say that this is by far the worst instalment of the saga.
Yes, the battle sequences are impressive and yes, Yoda's fight scene is excellent. But these two elements do not by definition make it a good film, as many fans misguidedly seem to think.
The main problem is George Lucas. By his own admission, he dislikes writing and doesn't feel comfortable working with actors. He feels most at ease in the editing room. And yet, despite his self-professed dislike of writing and directing, he doggedly insists on keeping both duties for himself, displaying a staggering flair for being very bad at it.
Star Wars dialogue has always been traditionally leaden, but is at its absolute worst here. Poor Ewan McGregor, who time and again has proved himself to be a great and versatile actor, is badly let down by having to punctuate most of his lines to Anakin with such ridiculous epithets as "My young apprentice" and such like. Saddled with such preposterous dialogue, and the pre-requisite "young Alec Guinness" voice he has little choice in using, pretty much everything he says just sounds silly.
The love story between Anakin and Padme is laughable and not in the least bit convincing. This is supposedly the love affair that brought the galaxy to its knees and destroyed the Jedi, and yet it is so abominably written, and so atrociously acted, that the only reaction it provokes is acute embarrassment.
Hayden Christensen is wholly unconvincing as the future Most Evil Man In The Galaxy. His rage and hate-filled rampage following the death of his mother, and subsequent tearful confession to Padme, should be frightening, ominous and poignant. But, thanks to an unrelentingly bad script and poor direction, it contains none of the above and it is left entirely to John Williams and his orchestra to fill this dramatic void.
The "comedy" of C-3PO and R2-D2's adventures in the droid factory is utterly lame, pointless to the story and filled with dreadful punning, bringing the level of the script to a new low. It would seem the only function of this sequence is to allow ILM to show off a bit.
The whole film is cursed with atrocious dialogue, self-referential in-jokes, and toe-curlingly bad acting from a cast who have all proved themselves (in other projects) to be excellent. The reason is simple; any actor, no matter how good they may be, needs a good script and a good director in order to shine. As George Lucas is both writer (with a little help this time around from Jonathan Hales, who fails to give the script the lift it needs) and director, the cast are very poorly served in both departments. Even the mighty Samuel L Jackson.
Of course, the special effects are awesome, as spectacle is what Lucas excels at. But it is at the expense of script and performance.
What many Star Wars fans need to learn is that just because it's Star Wars does not automatically mean it's brilliant, and that great special effects and action sequences do not make a film great. If this film did not come with the attached Star Wars logo, then it would rightly have received the same reception as Battlefield Earth.
There was talk, many years ago, of Steven Spielberg directing "Return of the Jedi". Ultimately this didn't happen. But, given his undoubted flair for both spectacle and bringing out great performances from his cast, not to mention his proven track record in collaboration with Lucas (Indiana Jones), think for a moment on how much better it might have been. How much better would "Attack of the Clones" have been had the industry rumours, which inevitably resurfaced following "The Phantom Menace", had actually been true?
Unfortunately they weren't, and what we were left with was a spectacular-looking but poorly executed disappointment. It would seem that Lucas, being an independent film-maker free from the constricts of Hollywood, steadfastly refuses to listen to his critics and is determined not to let anyone touch his creation, no matter how much better at it than him they may be.
The original trilogy came at a time when, politically and socially, things were very different in the world. The socio-political climate at the time was partly responsible for their success, especially the first film in 1977. That, and the fact that Lucas allowed others into his world to write the screenplays and direct because he felt, correctly, that they would make a better job of it. Everything has changed now, and as far as it goes for the Star Wars saga, not for the better. I am sad to say that this is a terrible film, and the seven-year-old boy in me, who excitedly clutched his father's hand as Luke Skywalker destroyed the Death Star all those years ago, was very badly let down. Lucas is currently planning to direct Episode 3... a thought which makes me shudder with dread.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2002
While Phantom Menace was in many ways doomed from the start in trying to fill in so many gaps from the start, Lucas succeeds here in pushing the plot firmly forward rather than treading water through a host of introductions.
10 years further down the line, Anakin is now approaching full Jedi status but we can see that he and Obi-Wan have a sometimes uncomfortable relationship and one that the older Jedi seems too intent on imposing his authority than letting Anakin use his abilities to the full.
Lucas (and the actors) do a reasonable job at portraying Anakin's growing frustration wit the restrictions of the order - a quietly pivotal aspect of the entire SW universe that escapes many in the thrills and spills of the film's incredible action scenes.
Some of the big set piece scenes are truly jaw-dropping. The arena fight between the Jedi and droid armies is terrific, and the ensuing land battle is something that could only have been dreamt rather than realised at the time of the original trilogy.
The only problem is that it takes a while for things to get exciting - unusual for Star Wars. Infact, it's only really when Anakin gets to Tatooine and Dooku appears on the scene on Geonosis that things really get interesting.
Lee steals the film in his fleeting appearances as renegade Jedi Dooku and although he's not as sprightly as Maul, he makes a brilliant Sith. His lightsaber duel with Anakin may not have been as breathless as the fight in Ep I, but it's filmed beautifully in a more 'old skool' fashion reminiscent of the Vader/Kenobi clash in A New Hope. And as for the Yoda battle scene? I think it's incredible.
The only disappointment is the lack of screen time for Palpatine and his tinkerings with the Senate and maybe more should have been made of Anakin's loss of his mother. It would have been nice to see him say 'I'll never come back to this planet' to explain why he didn't search for the plans in Episode IV, but that's no major beef.
Otherwise it looks great and is generally top notch. The romance scenes are a touch painful and R2 and 3PO are very annoying, but other than that it's a great addition to the universe.
My only worry is that Lucas now has only two-and-a-bit hours to fill in lots of gaps. What he leaves out will be just as important as what he chooses to reveal.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
DVD is fine but it episode II and i don't like it because its a bad film, the originals where much better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse