Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Blondes???
We all know the reutation that blondes have, and most of us have heard the jokes at some point, but i think that this film certainly puts all those to rest, and does in fact prove that blondes are not as dumb as some people might think.
Elle Wood is a happy, bubbly, fun-loving, not so dumb blonde who decides to study law at Harvard University in an attempt to win...
Published on 17 Oct 2004 by no1filmaddict

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching
I have always been a fan of Reese Witherspoon and this film did not dissapoint. Very simple, easy to follow storyline with an instantly likeable main character. What I liked most about this film is that Elle(Reese)is not one of those irratating overly dumb blondes, she is just misunderstood and blonde! The plot falls down a little in the romance department, the...
Published on 9 Jan 2006 by Charlie Day


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Blondes???, 17 Oct 2004
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
We all know the reutation that blondes have, and most of us have heard the jokes at some point, but i think that this film certainly puts all those to rest, and does in fact prove that blondes are not as dumb as some people might think.
Elle Wood is a happy, bubbly, fun-loving, not so dumb blonde who decides to study law at Harvard University in an attempt to win back her boyfriend who dumped her for somone more serious. At first she is given the cold shoulder by some of the snobby students for eing too dumb (and blonde) but with a burning passion to do well, she studies like mad and soon shows them a thing or two when she wins a murder trial.
Reese Witherspoon plays the sweet, fun-loving Elle, very well indeed and brings a chirpy light heartedness to the whole film which makes the audience warm to her immediately. Luke Wilson (the brother of Owen Wilson) plays Emmett Richmond the only person not to ingnore Elle when she arrives at Harvard. Selma Blair (who worked with Reece Witherspoon in 'Cruel Intentions') plays the very snobby new girlfriend of Warner, Vivian Kensington. Finally Matthew Davis plays the two faced bone head, Warner Huntington the third, who only wants a smart 'serious', and successful girl on his arm rather than one he loves. There are many more people in the film who were equally good in their roles, but i would be here all day.
As regards extras on this DVD, there are quite a few. Theres a featurette: The Hair That Ate Hollywood, a feature length audio commentry from the director Robert Luketic, several deleted scenes, and an original theatrical trailer. So theres plenty to keep the fans happy.
Although this film is of course about blondes and their intelligence, the thing that stuck me was that there was somthing much deeper. A passion for being successful and not letting anyone stand in the way, as one of the proffessors in the film said "If you're going to let one stupid prick ruin your life... you're not the girl I thought you were". Now theres a metaphore for life.
Overall, 'Legally Blonde' really is a brilliant light hearted comedy that should not be analysised socially, legally, or sexually, but just accepted for what it is, an enjoyable movie that proves one thing; that blondes are not as dumb as people think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Perm Defence., 26 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Beverly Hills blonde Elle Woods seemingly has it all, the looks, the friends, the money and a wealthy boyfriend, Warner. But when she is dumped by her beau her world caves in. Jumping out of her depression she decides to follow Warner to Harvard Law School in the hope of winning him back. A complete fish out of water, Elle surprises everyone by proving to be a hit with her unorthodox, blonde methods.

A monster hit that took many by surprise {it made a staggering Worldwide profit of nearly $124 million}, Legally Blonde stars Reese Witherspoon {Elle}, Luke Wilson {Emmett}, Selma Blair {Vivian} and Matthew Davis {Warner}. It's directed by Robert Luketic and is adapted by Karen McCullah Lutz & Kirsten Smith from Amanda Brown's novel.

Essentially a film that's outcome is never in doubt, Legally Blonde became the success it was on account of Witherspoon's impressive performance and the fact the writers never resort to dumb frat humour to get its laughs. Yes all characters are stereotypes, Elle and her friends are spoilt bubble-heads and the Harvard Law crowd are boorish stiffs. Yet once Elle gets to Harvard, in a blaze of shocking pink and with token Paris Hilton dog in tow, she proves to be resourceful. And the fact that she's very much alone, means she becomes a character the audience can quickly get on side with. Her solitude as she is shunned by the so called next generation law elite, only strengthens her resolve, and thanks to Witherspoon's engaging turn, we are with her all the way. Good support comes from Wilson and Blair, while Ali Larter adds some sexy spice as we get to the inevitable court room finale.

Simple without being stupid, Legally Blonde is an easy film to like and enjoy. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
What a great little film. I rate this alongside other amiable comedies such as Liar Liar, 10 Things I Hate About You and Election as one of the most watchable, cliche-less, well acted and scripted comedies I have seen. It is not a classic film by any stretch of the imagination and it falls in the category of safe, formulaic comedies but it is certainly worth a watch, especially on video.
Reese Witherspoon is excellent, almost an antithesis of her character in Election, but playing the ditzy blonde par excellence, lending to her role so much heart that you really are won over by her despite the West Coast affectations that have marred so many teen comedies to date. This is NOT just another teen comedy. LB is a film that can be appreciated by anyone. It has little in the way of slapstick gags that made American Pie so accessible to younger teens and actually has a very clever (if formulaic) story with hundreds of little sub plots coming and going throughout. The relationship with her ex boyfriend's new fiancee is spot on, especially the way Elle endears herself to her by the end. The filibustering in the case she finally gets to defend is also inspired to a degree.
Yes, it is predictable and unbelievable but it does not pretend to be anything but an enjoyable hour and a half romp. All of the cast do superb jobs, the jokes are spot on (especially the catiness that exists between Elle and Veronica) and it actually makes you feel good, something that many, so-called, feel-good films do not. I will be buying it and watching it for a long time to come.
At last, amid all these many dire teen comedies comes a comedy that beats all the American Pies and Road Trips and Scary Movies that Hollywood can throw at us, hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth watching atleast once, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This was much better than I thought it would be. I expected it to be another boring old film were the girl just runs after the guy and they live happily ever after but instead I actually got quite intralled in it and wanted to find out I the girl would get her law degree. Reese Witherspoon plays the part very well and deserves all the credit for making the film a hit.
I now want to see Legally Blonde 2 but I hope I'm not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legally Blonde: Legally proficient!, 8 May 2004
By 
Mr. T. Speller "tomtedspeller" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Now I'm a guy, so I should have hated this film. Except rather surprisingly (since every other bloke I know hates it, makes blonde jokes or goes into giggles at any mention of it) I found this to be quite a good film. Okay, it is also very clichéd, entirely predictable and fluffy as a poodle(and it's why I haven't given it 5 stars)... but what made this film good was that:
1)The dialogue is incredibly funny in places. And I know everyone's mentioned it, but Warner's one liner "I need to marry a Jackie and not a Marilyn" is just priceless, fantastic. Whoever wrote that bit of the script was a genius, :)
2)Reece Wetherspoon is ideally cast as Elle- incredibly blonde and daffy on the surface, yet driven, determined and actually quite sharp deep down. The kind of girl that you underestimate at your peril. And what is more, Elle is an inherently optimistic- and attractive- character- no matter what obstacles are in the way(sneering fellow students, sexist lecturers, a fashion major etc etc), her optimism and her spirit get her through. That's not bad going.
3)The film does make a very valid point about the nature of being a lawyer- that it is not necessarily what you know but how you apply it that is important. Okay, so her knowledge of fashion techniques used to win the day is entirely expected, but if you are able to use any sort of knowledge to win a big case then that is really quite a priceless asset- the kind of thing that makes a good lawyer.
Now do not even think I am taking this as a serious film, I am not. To be honest, I can see why more girls (particularly of the blonde variety, lol ) would like it than guys like me; as it is very fluffy, very sentimental in places and very much aimed at the female clientèle. However, for a chick flick this is actually surprisingly good. It is a thoroughly likeable, feel-good movie that will make you laugh- and even guys should be able to get something out of this film. And Reese Witherspoon, for the record, is not just a pretty blonde, she's actually a very good actress, who has got onto the Hollywood A-list by merit(as shown not least by this film).
So what to make of Legally Blonde? I'd say this is "legally proficient" (read: very good). If there is a message to be learnt from this film, it is don't judge a blonde by her hair! For this is better than your average film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars But if I'm going to be a partner in a law firm by the time I'm 30, I need a boyfriend who's not such a complete bonehead., 9 Jun 2009
By 
Tried and Tested (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I just can't help it, I absolutely love this film, I know I shouldn't, it's pink froth, but it's brilliant. Although definitely a chick-flick I can't find anything to complain about with this film, even though I want to!

I love the message that if you put your mind to it you can do anything you want - even if this is getting through Harvard Law School just to get to the man you love. Reese Witherspoon is a fantastic actress and really makes you warm to her character. The sub plot with Paulette is also absolutely briliant, delivering some of the funniest lines ever.

It's not a taxing film and most men are going to hate it, but for a girls night in or a Saturday afternoon in front of the tv, you couldn't ask for more than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching, 9 Jan 2006
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have always been a fan of Reese Witherspoon and this film did not dissapoint. Very simple, easy to follow storyline with an instantly likeable main character. What I liked most about this film is that Elle(Reese)is not one of those irratating overly dumb blondes, she is just misunderstood and blonde! The plot falls down a little in the romance department, the love-interest seems a little unbelievable and towards the end and it all ties together a little too fast which doesn't fit the flow of the film. But for a nice simple film to watch on a Sunday afternoon when you don't really want anything too taxing then this does hit the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally a great film, 27 May 2003
By A Customer
Legally Blonde is one of those 'chick flick' films. However if you like a fun filled film, you most likely will love it. Reese Witherspoon plays a great part and inspires us all to be a lawyer just like her.
A great watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a rich blonde girl who shows that blondes can be intelligent and nice too, 14 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A highly entertaining film that makes fun of rich blonde women but shows that at least one of them - Reese Witherspoon - is highly intelligent.
I think women will love the fancy clothes and witty one-liner bitchy put-downs in Legally Blonde (all said with style and grace) and men will wish they had a girlfriend who looks this stupid and beautiful but still manages to have an IQ.What impressed me most about the film was that by the end of it I actually cared about the outcome of the trial and whether or not Elle (played by Witherspoon) won her case.The extras section has
some unused scenes and a documentary about the 40 different kinds of blonde hairstyles used and a great music video "Perfect Day" by Hoku.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pink, Pink , PINK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 20 Feb 2008
By 
S. Arden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
i LOVED THIS MOVIE!!!!!! I am a big fan of pink and this film suits me perfectly not to mention the hair, the dog, the friends and Reese Witherspoon in the lead role. It's about a young woman - Elle and her cute chichiuhwa. Elle goes to Law school and is determind to get back her boyfriend, Warner who had dumped her. However he is engaged to another law student and with the help from her friend, she wins him back, but by then she met someone else. Elle Woods certainly knows what she is doing! Just not so dumb a blonde as she first appears! Movie Number 2 is nearly as good, but the first is more fun. BEST MOVIE AND I WATCH IT ALL THE TIME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001]
Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] by Robert Luketic (DVD - 2002)
£4.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews