Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars disney matures...
Yes, it's a cartoon. Yes, it's Disney. But Atlantis is also an impressive science fiction film in its own right, and refreshingly different from the standard Disney fare. Disney have made some excellent cartoons in the past, notably Aladdin, The Little Mermaid, and The Lion King but recently have been failing to deliver that standard. Here we see a departure from the cute...
Published on 24 Oct 2003 by Priyan Meewella

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but only half the picture is on it.
I must admit, the movie was great. Loved the story, beautifully drawn. I really enjoyed watching it. BUT, the movie on this dvd does not contain the full 2.35:1 video, but it's cropped (or pan&scan) for a 4:3 tv. Which means almost half of the picture is missing from this dvd. Very sad and disappointing. Since I have a widescreen tv, I end up with black bars on my screen,...
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by Stitch


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars disney matures..., 24 Oct 2003
By 
Priyan Meewella "Phoenix" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Yes, it's a cartoon. Yes, it's Disney. But Atlantis is also an impressive science fiction film in its own right, and refreshingly different from the standard Disney fare. Disney have made some excellent cartoons in the past, notably Aladdin, The Little Mermaid, and The Lion King but recently have been failing to deliver that standard. Here we see a departure from the cute sidekicks and sugary songs, and are offered a darker action film which kids can still enjoy.
Milo Thatch [Michael J. Fox], a linguistics expert working as a museum boiler room attendent, has been continuing the work of his grandfather and has finally solved the puzzle of the location of Atlantis. With the aid of an eccentric billionaire, he and a team of intrepid explorers set out to find the fabled lost city and its power source, the Heart of Atlantis. When they arrive, however, Milo discovers from Princess Kida [Cree Summer] that the Atlanteans' power is slowly waning, and realises he might be the key to saving their way of life.
Disney have pushed the boundaries considerably with this film, earning it a PG rating in the USA. Ferocious battles, including realistic gun use, abound as well as gigantic robot monsters defending the city. The characters are also darker, but equally characterised in greater depth, than usual, with the team including pyromaniacs, chain smokers, and a dirt-obsessed frenchman (Mole is the least impressive of the character designs, providing a rather bland variety of slapstick comic relief). Most impressively, the romantic connection between Milo and Kida is neither love at first sight, nor filled with longing gazes. Instead it is subtly infused in their relationship, and develops in a sweet and mature fashion.
The computer aided artwork and cell shaded animation varies in quality throughout the film. Atlantis features some top notch underwater sequences and a brilliantly creative portrayal of an entirely new civilisation. However, at times backdrops lack the detail of some of the previously mentioned Disney greats. While the animation of those films looked virtually identical, Atlantis utilises a distinctive and unique style, a dramatic departure for a Disney film. Indeed influences can be seen from Japanese anime, with the wide-eyed characters and especially in the sharp hair of the Atlanteans, who look genuinely attractive! The more squared-off adventurers contrast the lithe Atlanteans, utilising different artistic styles to highlight the differences between the two cultures. Other influences come from the comicbook style of drawing, but these sources are not being copied or exploited, but instead are infused with Disney's own design skills to produce something new and innovative.
The plot is hugely flawed, with many holes or threads that are not developed. The film runs are almost a quarter of an hour longer than any previous animated Disney release, in order to allow its story to develop at a slower pace, and yet there are a still a few scenes which appear rushed. Disney shot high in trying to weave a truly epic tale with this cartoon, and the tangled plot just misses the mark. The voice acting talent is excellent, and rarely can such a cast be brought together. Older sci-fi fans will love having Fox, Nimoy and also Claudia Christian (Ivanova from Babylon 5) in a single film.
Atlantis is not a perfect Disney film, but it is delightfully original in both its content and execution. It maintains a Jules Verne-esque epic quality throughout, and it may have gained more commercial success as a live-action film, we are instead offered some of the most stunningly ambitious animation in a Disney movie yet. Having hit the peak of cutesy sing-along cartoons more than once, and probably achieving all they can in that area, surely the future of Disney lies in this more mature direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 14 July 2009
I saw this film in the cinema, and loved it ever since. It's good because it's one of the few disney films in recent years that is a) animated not CG'd and b) original and not a crappy remake. I could also add a c) not high school musical or one of it's clones.

There are no songs in this, which was a shame, but it really doesn't need it. The storyline is great, the characters fun, and the visuals are spectacular! It's disney on a really grand scale, and i don't think i've seen disney on such a scale before, the locations are brilliant for an animation!

I wouldn't bother with the sequal, because it makes the mistake of all disney sequals, of trying to recreate something that is gone. They take loveable characters, accentuate their amusing points, dull the animation, and essentially rip out anything that was good.

So watch atlantis, it's truely a disney classic! Just avoid...well any sequal of disney's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great movie, but not exceptional., 9 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Atlantis continues the recent trend of unconventional animated movies (which began with The Emperors' new groove, which by the way is hilarious and if you don't own it you'd better have a good reason) with Atlantis. It is a really good movie with a great voice cast; Michael J. Fox is perfect as the slightly nerdy hero, James Garner is a great villain and Don Novello is, at times, hilarious. This movie is like a comic book come to life, and even though parts of the story are a little sketchy, and the dialouge sometimes too fast or unclear, the animation is breath taking and the movie very enjoyable
It contains no songs, which is a good thing because even though Disney songs are usually great, they would be out of place in an action adventure movie such as this. Don't expect a cutesy fluffy bunny movie, but top-notch special effects action sequences. One thing which really annoyed me was a character called Mole. I hate him, and without him, or if his character was less zany, I probably would have given this movie five stars.
A departure for a Disney film, but well carried. A definate must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's such a good film, though the side characters are a little ..., 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis - The Lost Empire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Not one of Disney's well known movies, but it should be! It's such a good film, though the side characters are a little bit off...the mole freaks me out, to say the least. But it's good nevertheless! I love the Atlantians, and their technology, it's such a fabulous, whimsical idea. Highly recommended.
My one complaint: Michael J. Fox is great, but it's hard to separate his face from his voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis.....wait is this Stargate?, 5 Nov 2014
By 
Kyle Edgecomb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis - The Lost Empire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Poorly performed when it released, probably due to poor marketing but damn I remember first watching the trailer to this and how those glowing eyes use to creep me out.

Rewatching this years later though, I started to realize that the plot is practically the same as the 1994 film "Stargate" but using Atlantis instead of a far off planet. Think about it.

Young archeologist who is shunned because of his theories on ancient civilizations and mythologies, and is hired by a rich elderly person to uncover the secrets of an ancient civilization/device. His apartment is evicted....not to mention Milo and Daniel Jackson looked alike and acted alike

They reach their destination to find a civilization, evil plot yadda yadda yadda (the only differences in the film really) and by the end, he stays behind with the girl while the others just go home and say he died during the expedition

Not that I mind it being a copy of Stargate in many aspects, I think its one of Disneys underrated films, and should be treated better because I still enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC picture and sound, 1 Aug 2014
BLU RAY review ( Australian release ) : FANTASTIC picture and sound. One of the most under-rated disneys ever and this is MILES better than the DVD... rich colour saturation and high detail through-out... this transfer is exactly the same as the ones used for any current and further blu ray releases of this film in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun Jules Verne inspired adventure, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis - The Lost Empire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Considered one of the lesser Disney films this turns out to be actually quite good. Clearly inspired by lots of Jules Verne especially Journey to the Centre of the Earth and 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea this will get kids into Verne by showing all his fun, inventive, adventurous ideas (while missing out the too much focus on endless science). What's so great about this film is that it's quite mature, there aren't any songs, it even has a couple of subtitled moments, there is little to no toilet humor or cheap slapstick and the characters often play against stereotype (such as the buff guy who turns out to be the ship's doctor). The animation style is really good deliberately inspired by Mike Mignola and the 1914 setting creates a nice historical backdrop and a steam-punk style. Voice acting by Michael J Fox, Leonard Nimoy and John Mahoney is of the excellent standard you'd expect from these great actors and in fact all the voices and characters are interesting and engaging.
Problems? Well the structure of the script has a few issues, we are introduced to the massive submarine and lots of time is spent showing us around it (it even features prominently on the cover) however this is destroyed very early in the film by a brilliant sea monster. This is a big set piece and I was looking forward to when this sea monster would reappear in the climax, only it doesn't. Instead we have flying bikes and stone giants. The problem is that the film has too many ideas and is trying to cram them all into a tight 90 minute film so we have several lose ends and slightly underdeveloped moments. They've designed these great submarines and monsters but don't use them enough because they want to show the other cool ideas they have.
However, this is really a small problem in what is a very engaging adventure story with some quite deep and interesting themes. It is a very good adventure movie, with shades of Indiana Jones and themes from great Science Fiction this is great family entertainment that wide-eyed boys, thrill seeking teenagers and nostalgic men can all enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit more thoughtful than your usual Disney, 1 Sep 2007
By 
Simon "Simon" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atlantis - The Lost Empire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I liked this. But it's not saccharine-sweet, the square-cut animation is distinctive (but I think adds to the attempt to firmly place the film historically) and it requires some leaps of faith to buy-in to the sci-fi stuff about Atlantis' crystal. I do think the makers pushed Disney's boundaries and ought to be supported for trying to do somethig a bit different with the brand. The other reviews on this page raise some intereting points, but come on guys - it's only a movie!! It would indeed have been interesting to see what Dreamworks would have done with the project. BTW, my kids love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i loved atlantis, 10 Jan 2002
This review is from: Atlantis - The Lost Empire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Atlantis is an excellent film. It really lives up to the disney name. Everyone will be glued to the screen as soon as it starts(adults and children alike). It is a pure classic. It is a about a guy who decides to follow in him grandfathers footsteps and try and find the magical city of Atlantis. If you only buy one dvd this year please let it be Atlantis the lost empire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney does it best., 4 Jan 2010
This review is from: Atlantis - The Lost Empire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Read some reviews saying it was not very good. Well its not a cute cuddly disney movie more like a great adventure movie, which makes a change. And not really for youngsters (subtitles at the begining are quite quick).I recently bought 12 or so disney movies from amazon for my little girl. And this and treasure planet are my fav. Cant believe Disney films are still this good. Dr spock voice as the chief...cool. Excellent film. Also if you have a ps3 they look stunning especially brother bear.

Bigkid34.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlantis - The Lost Empire [DVD] [2001]
Atlantis - The Lost Empire [DVD] [2001] by Kirk Wise (DVD - 2002)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews