Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honestly it's not that bad
I first saw this film at the cinema when it was first released. I saw the film purely for the fantastic cast, unfortuantely on first viewing it was disappointing but after a second glance my opinion has changed.
There are some hilarous moments here. OK the storyline could have been better but this film wasn't made to change the world it's a romantic comedy. For me...
Published on 20 Jun 2003 by Musicfan83

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars saw it on tele
saw it on tele couple of times and will look again come winter when I am not too busy to look
Published 13 months ago by josepha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honestly it's not that bad, 20 Jun 2003
I first saw this film at the cinema when it was first released. I saw the film purely for the fantastic cast, unfortuantely on first viewing it was disappointing but after a second glance my opinion has changed.
There are some hilarous moments here. OK the storyline could have been better but this film wasn't made to change the world it's a romantic comedy. For me John Cusack's portrayal of neurotic Eddie is very enjoyable as is Julia Robert's Kiki.
If, like me, you are a John Cusack fan then this is definitely worth a view. Cusack plays Eddie who is left devastated after he finds out his wife and co-star Gwen (Catherine Zeta-Jones} has left him for another man - Hector (the hilarous Hank Azaria). The problem is they have one more film to promote together and with the help of Lee (Billy Crystal) and Kiki (Julia Roberts) the pair try to convince America they are still a couple in order to save their careers.
All in all this is a great film to sit and watch on a Saturday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is in my top ten favourite films. Billy Crystal and John Cusack are really funny. It shows the neurosis of acting and film world and Catherine Zeta Jones does a really good send up as a Prima donna. Julia Roberts is her usually attractive self and there is a great supporting cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever & Amusing, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite films. Amazing soundtrack, great cast, and very amusing in places. The humour is well timed and this is a good chill-out film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars saw it on tele, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
saw it on tele couple of times and will look again come winter when I am not too busy to look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A strong cast and great entertainment. A romantic comedy, but with enough story and humour that it crosses genders. Some of the humour is slightly coarse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take this movie with a pinch of salt and you'll love it, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love this movie. I've seen it a hundred times. It might not be perfect, but if you're looking for an easy watch this is exactly what you want. The actors definitely hold this movie together and there is great chemistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable film, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this film. its perfect for a boring sunday afternoon. It arrived promptly sealed in a plastic sleeve. I would purchase from these sellers again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars American Sweethearts, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a underrated film with great performances from all the cast.
Thoroughly recommended if you want a relaxing film with lots of laughs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly funny, but full of clichés and oh so shallow, 18 May 2002
An uninspired film, with few surprises. John Cusack is a very good actor and a great asset to this otherwise mediocre movie. Christopher Walken's cameo is an uplifting part, and the ending ads an atleast somewhat funny twist to the story. Julia Roberts does what she always does. Billy Crystal seems lost. Watch it if you have nothing better to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's really worth more like 3.5....., 17 July 2004
Good movie even if you can pretty much tell whats gonna happen the whole way through. Billy Crystal is superb and the rest do well enough. Christopher Walken makes a very good but tiny role as a mad director who looks like a scary hippy, even better then!
overall a decent movie that isn't at all a typical hollywood blockbuster - and all the better because of it. Its a little quirky at times yet also slapstick at others....very intresting for a romantic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

America's Sweethearts [VHS] [2001]
America's Sweethearts [VHS] [2001] by Joe Roth (VHS Tape - 2002)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews