Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Li's best english speaking flim.
Out of all the english speaking flims that Martial arts star Jet Li has done upon writing this review, (that including Cradle 2 the Grave) Kiss of the Dragon has to be the best of the lot.
KOD sreenplay was done by acclaimed French director Luc Besson (Leon, Fifth Element) who also was one of the producers as well and you can tell this by the moody, gritty, stylish...
Published on 10 May 2003 by sademokid

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars “Kiss Of The Dragon” on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The ‘US’ Disc…
"Kiss Of The Dragon" features the usual mixture of Jet Li Martial Arts mayhem and a bad-guy body count that's satisfyingly large.

However - UK fans should note that despite it's dirt-cheap price across the way - the 'US' BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which...
Published 9 months ago by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Li's best english speaking flim., 10 May 2003
This review is from: Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Out of all the english speaking flims that Martial arts star Jet Li has done upon writing this review, (that including Cradle 2 the Grave) Kiss of the Dragon has to be the best of the lot.
KOD sreenplay was done by acclaimed French director Luc Besson (Leon, Fifth Element) who also was one of the producers as well and you can tell this by the moody, gritty, stylish feel which most his work has.
The story, first conceived by Li himself, is basically about a Chinese Government agent (played by Li) who is sent to Paris on a serect mission to assit the French police. But things go wrong and Li is double cross by the police, lead by Tcheky Karyo. From then on its a chase to clear his name.
While the story has been done a million times before, you don't really notice it due to the fast-paced sreenplay by Besson and the hard hitting action scenes.
The action scenes are all choreographed by Corey Yeun (director of a few Hong Kong flims featuring Jet Li like 'Bodyguard from Beijing') and they are all quite slick, managing to show off Li's incredible speed. For a 'modern day' set flim ,KOD manged to have just the right balance so you feel these moves that Li's pulling off, can be done in real life.
But a problem I do have is sometimes; the fight scenes are directed too close. In most Hong Kong Martial arts flims, the action is panned out so you get to see the whole scene (think Matrix's Dojo fight scene with Reeves & Fishburne) and in KOD their just too close, meaning fights may get confusing.
While most Jet Li fans don't see his flims for his acting ability, he doesn't do a bad job in KOD. Portraying a calm & understated persona in the flim and flexing his english speaking skills more than his previous outing in Romeo Must Die. Tcheky Karyo is OK as the bad guy but too frequently his acting goes over the top as his character verges on pantomime dame. Bridget Fonda, the only main female character in the whole movie is completely underused, which is a shame.
Overall a highly watchable Martial arts thriller with plenty going for it. Its fast paced, has nice set pieces, reasonable acting, nice hip hop-ish sound track and it doesn't make you think too much.
For People looking for a better Jet Li experience, try his old Hong Kong flicks like 'Once a upon a time in China' series, 'Fist of Legend', 'The Tai Chi Master' etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best of Jet Li's Recent Films, 14 Sep 2004
This review is from: Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Wow! All the other reviewers have said just about everything there is to say about this film (some of there reviews must be longer than the film's script).
The action in this film is nicely filmed. Jet Li is stunning. Burt Kwok (star of the Pink Panther and Harry Hill) shows that he can be a very good serious actor. Fonda is spot on.
I'd rate this film above The Enforcer and The Black Mask, but below Once Upon a Time In China and Fist of Legend.
With a little more Kung Fu and a bit less gunplay it might have rivalled Jet Li's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars “Kiss Of The Dragon” on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The ‘US’ Disc…, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"Kiss Of The Dragon" features the usual mixture of Jet Li Martial Arts mayhem and a bad-guy body count that's satisfyingly large.

However - UK fans should note that despite it's dirt-cheap price across the way - the 'US' BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Buy the UK issue instead – it’s also available for a peanuts amount of money - it's a looker on the format - and has the fab Bridget Fonda looking cute enough to engender marriage proposals...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kick of the dragon, 30 July 2009
This review is from: Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Wow,what can i say,he's fast and he's fit in more ways than one.invinsible like steven segal and a master of his art like bruce lee,but with his own unique style,and never ceases to amaze, jet li kicks butt again.i really enjoyed this movie with a combination of action and some good fight scenes.sometimes a really good action film can be ruined with over the top humour which just makes it silly,but this film had small amounts of humour which made it entertaining and didn't spoil the movie.also in the special features(the jet li technique/fight philosophy),you get to listen to the man himself,which is a plus. it was good to see one of his films where he had plenty of lines,he can act as well as kick butt! at the same time when he is given the chance.so if you like action/martial arts and are a jet li fan,its worth watching this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Furious & Fun, 2 Aug 2002
This review is from: Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I felt the villain was superb. He portrays a really nasty piece of work. The tension that he creates is very tangible. It is refreshing to see that the lead villain was NOT casted, on account of his Martial Arts abilities for the final battle, as in many other poorly scripted films, but was there just for his sheer malevolence. Jet Li, was again, unassumingly fantastic. He is, I am sure a valuable role model for young Martial Artists, not just for his technical abilities, but also for the way he seems to carry himself. His acting abilities far outstrip other Martial Art Actors. This is a gritty, fast action film which is well worth watching. OK, so some parts of the script were a little bit unrealistic, but the important point for me was the fact that the fight scenes on the whole were again, refreshingly accurate. A decent kick to the head drops people.
People do not queue up in order to hit you sequentially. For me, this film, together with "Romeo Must Die" are the best films with Jet Li. Forget buying "The One" (the one to avoid watching) and "Black Mask" etc. Have a look at this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kiss of the dragon, 25 April 2003
By 
Mrs V E Mitchell (Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I'm not a big fan of martial arts type of films but having seen this one twice now, I can say truthfully that I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end. It had me hooked! and so my father and husband also.
I think with this sort of film, you need to sit back and enjoy it for what it is. Jet Li was brill and Bridget was on top form and in the best role I've seen her for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice action, 29 July 2003
By 
Mr. D. Boss "Nuclear.Penguin" (Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I brought this film because of a recommendation from a mate. What an action film. Cool fight scenes and a great ending, which I won't tell you about, you'll have to watch it.
The reason why I only gave it 4 stars is because it was sloppy in places. And it took a long time to gt back up again. But a defenate if you like action films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Jet Li's other American films (Romeo Must Die, The One (2001) and Cradle 2 the Grave), 19 Mar 2014
Jet Li's true masterpiece of the 2000s is a blitzkrieg of crazy, hard-R martial arts. The film was made to satisfy Li's fans, who requested more realistic fight scenes.It is notable as most of the action sequences did not use CGI or wire work; only two scenes required CGI enhancement and only one scene involved wire work.Nicely filmed, acted and scored, "Kiss" is almost more of a drama than an action film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not a good film, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Jet li is not my favourite martial art actor , infact his moves are similiar to many others , I did enjoy some of the fight scenes aswell as jet li giving us some adventure but the story line is not intresting , so really this is just about drugs and crime assosiations not good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique!!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
An excellent movie, great story, good acting and of course brill martial arts!
Just love actor's who can deliver their martial arts naturally on screen, no doubles,
no speeding up of the camera's. It's just how it should be.
This is one of my favourite Jet LI movies to date.
One of the best scenes in the movie was when Jet's character stumbles into
the dojo by accident and is confronted by a class of martial arts experts.
He has to fight his way out of trouble, reminded me of the scene in "Fist of Fury"
when "Chen" beats up the Japanese guys! I recommend this movie highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001]
Kiss of the Dragon [DVD] [2001] by Chris Nahon (DVD - 2002)
£3.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews