Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad and deeply disturbing
This has to be a contender for one of the most disturbing films of all time. This is because it addresses a central question of existence - what is love? Can it be created? Does it have to be earned? Is it it always unquestioning? The answers it comes up with are painful and incredibly sad. Ironically, I don't believe this film is about 'what happens if we make machines...
Published on 8 Mar 2005 by ajac2

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A modern take on Pinochio
A bit of everything type of movie , Basically a couple lose their child and the husband buys a custom made robot replica , it keeps you captivated till the end ,but not my type of film really (it's a bit of a weepy soppy affair)
Published 3 months ago by Russ Nutter


‹ Previous | 115 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I ROBOT vs ET?, 2 Jun 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.I. Artificial Intelligence [2001] - 2 disc set [DVD] (DVD)
The ideas and story of the film are the typical mind boggling problems of our technological age. What is life? Can we create life? What is the implications? Speilberg places on the screen a small boy who was created because science could create him. He has to endure a very strange land, full of predjudice and ignorance. The film works particularly when David takes off in amphibian-copter to find his creator. We are then treated to remarkable techniques in cgi and just as mind blowing thoughts and questions are raised about creating robots to order. Based on a story board and much work by the late "2001" Stanley Kubrick it gets too much of Spielbergs ET treatment. But in the end what a ride! The extra disc is well worth it in seeing the gigantic herculean task facing the film makers and how they did it. Speilberg conquers and easily pulls this off. This one will not stay on the shelf long. Buy it or ignore some of the most important questions of our age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense,frighteningly accurate view of how life could be, 23 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A.I. Artificial Intelligence [2001] - 2 disc set [DVD] (DVD)
A truly beautiful film, and one I feel that would appeal to anyone regardless of age. For younger viewers there's a fairy tale like quality to the story, with the pinocchio like tale. Older viewers will be taken in by the dreamlike aura of the film and the stunning graphics. The plot mixes good old fashioned story telling,fantasy and morality. There are the messages of what can happen when technology is in the wrong hands,and how easy it is to create and then destroy,regardless of the consequences.
If I have one bad comment about the film,it's that it is overlong,and there is a point where it should have ended but didn't. Other than that I feel it is definitely one of the cinematic highlights of last year, and would recommend it to anyone whether young or old(though obviously not too young,as it is a 12 certificate)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but this was a bit confusing boring and not very inter, 16 Dec 2002
By A Customer
When i saw this i thought it started off well. it was very futuristic and quite good. This all started to change when the little mechanical boy was thrown out and there was other freaky robots and stuff. Then came the far fetched aliens (who incidently were stereotypical little green men but ghostly white!). it started to go mad when the blue fairy came along from the film pinnocchio. The film lasted about 3 hours and for the first hour it looked good but after that it went down hill. there were pointless sex robots that were not in the slightest bit related to the story and it was basically a bit pantz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A film thats very over rated, 30 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A.I. Artificial Intelligence [2001] - 2 disc set [DVD] (DVD)
The film is visually stunning and raises some good points, however, the film never really has a kick in it to get your mouth watering. The way of the filming has touches of Kubrick in it, but it doesn't seem like one of his films. Speilberg trys to hard to shoot a Kubrick trademark film, but it never quite works.
The acting is good, but the story can't keep you interested for 2 hours. The film throws emotions of happyness and sadness, but you never really feel a bond with the main character 'David' which may be the point of the film. Maybe the point of the film is to point out that if it was a real child you would have different emotions about the story, but because it's an A.I. Robot Child with emotions, you don't feel the same.
For me the film should have ended 20 minutes before it actually did, which would have been a very good ending and if you have seen or going to see this film i think you may agree.
Overall it is a film to see for the stunnig effects and futuristic landscapes. It's a film you will either love or hate. But for me it was highly overated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pinocchio, 9 Jan 2005
This review is from: A.I. Artificial Intelligence [2001] - 2 disc set [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this film because it was a Spielberg directed science fiction film. I had seen trailers for it and the special effects looked very good. What a shame it didn't have a story to go with the effects. It appears to finish a couple of times before the actual ending...Possible alternative endings? This was the most disappointing film that I have ever wasted my time with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Pants., 1 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: A.I. Artificial Intelligence [2001] - 2 disc set [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting a lot from this film but in the end did not manage to watch the whole film through to the end as it bored me to death. I thought I would give it another go but after trying to watch it the second time I gave it away to a friend. To me it's a complete dud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars AI = Absolute Idiocy, 23 Aug 2002
By 
J. A. M. Bernhardt "jamb5" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me start by saying that I am a person that believes that sometimes the setting for a movie changes your outlook of it. So with this in mind, you'd think a hot day in October 2001 would be the perfect time to see AI, with a couple of friends. No matter how happy I was at the start, I was sensationally disappointed by AI. The whole concept was disgusting, with a mix between Pinnochio, Star Trek and 'adult entertainment', as Spielberg desperately attempts to make the movie adult and unsuitable for children. There were several things wrong with it, and they can only be listed.
1. The whole 'the world is near extinstion' thing was completely unnecessary.
2. At the time of mother and father seeing their little boy you are so hung up on the fact that this whole movie is awfully dramatic that you miss several key important storylines.
3. When Haley Joel Osments character comes in, he is creepy and not quite hero material. Nor is he at the end (if you were wondering).
4. The whole idea of them agreeing to have a mad robot in their house is highly unlikely.
5. The idea of saying some random words to a child so they will love you is sickening.
6. Leaving your son in the woods? Surely there's an orphanage he can go to...
7. Putting sex objects and a gigolo in the movie to make it more adult is pointless. It would have been a U if Spielberg hadn't done that.
8. That annoying Einstien guy.
9. The fact New York is flooded.
10. It goes on too long, and it never ends. There are dozens of opportunities to end it before it does, but none are taken.
11. The BLUE FAIRY??
There are thousands more problems that could have been shown here, but they may have given away a fruitless ending.
It would be wrong to say that the whole movie is awful, worse than any movie of all time. Jude Law tries like hell to make the movie tolerable, and Osmonts character develops (like Pinnchio, mind). The child acting is OK, but it's nothing to Haley Joel. The special effects are good, so all those who aren't bothered by a lack of storyline can watch eagerly, but there isn't enough killing to satisfy most brainless 'Jason X' viewers.
Buy AI for a bed time movie, for your kids (but fast forward any sexual moments), and possibly for the acting. Other than that, it can ruin a perfectly good night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ai..Oh O, 20 July 2006
By 
C. Crowther "green_zink" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A.I. Artificial Intelligence [2001] - 2 disc set [DVD] (DVD)
Let's just say it had it's moments (Jude law and the teddy were great) but I definately don't ever wish to see this film again in my life. It was long winded, pointless and had a wishy washy American ending. Rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too long, 27 Feb 2005
This review is from: A.I. Artificial Intelligence [2001] - 2 disc set [DVD] (DVD)
This films is very slow at the beginning, then outstays it's welcome by dragging through the last unnessecary 20 minutes. Had they heavily edited the first scenes and then disposed of the last few totally it'd have been better.
Actually it probably wouldn't, it's really boring the whole way through. When it does actually get started it still seems directionless and the kid in it is really irritating. Gets 2 stars because Jude Law is good in his part and the SFX are nice as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b16150)

This product

A.I. Artificial Intelligence [2001] - 2 disc set [DVD]
3.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews