Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9/10. 'Just Like Heaven'
While some of The Cure faithful may feel aggrieved by the absence - 'A Forest' notwithstanding - of tracks from their gloomiest period (Faith, Seventeen Seconds, Pornography), the more casual listener will find much to enjoy here. Having had a big Cure phase in my teens, I might quibble that the Boys Don't Cry/Three Imaginary Boys era is under-represented. 'Jumping...
Published on 21 July 2007 by Demob Happy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing spectacular
Not the best album I have heard. One of those where initially starts off well with boys don't cry but not my best decision to purchase this.
Published 7 months ago by Paul Batty


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're new to The Cure, this is the place to start., 1 July 2002
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
As with the majority of bands, if you are new to them and they've got a greatest hits album that's usually the best place to start, and with the myriad of styles displayed here this is certainly true of The Cure.
The album kicks off with The Buzzcocks-esque Boy's Don't Cry (1979), a song which seems to be gaining in popularity again due to being continually namechecked by bands such as The Strokes and The Hives. A Forest (1980) comes next and is arguably the song that created the goth movement, although The Cure would not thank you for saying so. It has easily the most memorable bassline of any song ever, one which has been stolen by quite a few bands such as Fields Of The Nephilim, and is an appropriately spooky tale of being "lost in a forest all alone...".
That A Forest should be quite a scary affair makes the following song, Let's Go To Bed (1982) all the more peverse. Basically think Master And Servant by Depeche Mode, think Mad World by Tears For Fears (sped up a bit) and you have Let's Go To Bed. It's pure pop for the next 6 songs, through The Lovecats (1983) a fantastic jazz singalong which REALLY should be picked up by Disney someday if they ever make another Aristocats-type movie, The Caterpillar (1984) which is a Marc Bolan-esque accoustic ditty without the cheesy glam edge, Inbetween Days (1985) which is 100% pure New Order (not them again!!!) although for a couple of years it was hard to tell who was ripping off who, Close To Me (1985) which to me is a bit of a pop parody of a sped-up Green Onions (Booker T and the MG's) !!!! which features Robert's craziest singing yet, Why Can't I Be You (1987) is another mad slice of pop with crazy trumpets and funky guitars and they even stole the drumbeat from "I'm Walking On Sunshine" (or whatever it's called), Just Like Heaven (1987) is another return to the New Order sound (not them again!!!!) although this time it was actually The Cure who were ripped off when the guitar riff from this track was used on a 1989 New Order song.
Lullaby (1990) is a return to the early goth sound with it's plain spooky orchestral sounding keyboards and lyrics about being eaten by a giant spider ! Lovesong (1990) is driven by a catchy organ riff and a complicated bassline (Lovesong shot to number 2 in the US singles chart, kept off number 1 only by Janet Jackson which was quite an acheivement considering her popularity at the time, and it won an award for being the most played song on US radio in 1990), Pictures Of You (1990) is an edited version of the album track and brings a bit of extra energy and urgency to the song although it's at the expense of the much longer album versions emotion. It still gives you a good idea of the bands ability to sound quite poppy and breezy even when tackling serious subject matter and the three singles of Lullaby, Lovesong and Pictures Of You should be enough to convince you to immediately purchase Disintegration, the album they are taken from (and described by one of the South Park characters as "the greatest album ever made" !!!).
Never Enough (1990) was at the time of it's release the heaviest track the band had released. It's got a very similar feel to Jimi Hendrix's Purple Haze, the whole song is loose and funky with some well cool wah-wah guitars.
High (1992) took the band back to the jangly pop of the Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me album and was neatly followed up by Friday I'm In Love (1992) a Beatles-esque piece of great songcraft which became their highest charting single (to date at the time of writing this). Mint Car (1996) does not follow on very well after Friday I'm In Love as it is essentially the same song with different lyrics and not quite as good ! If you have never heard Friday then you'd probably like this song a lot, but it really should have been left off as Friday serves it's own purpose quite well enough, plus Mint Car wasn't a "hit" anyway......
Keeping up that theme, after Friday I'm In Love there aren't anymore "hits" on this album.
Wrong Number (1997) was a stab at what Americans like to call "electronica", which features some quite tough guitar by special guest Reeves Gabrels (ex-David Bowie band). Unfortunately it has been subsequently revealed (in the sleeve notes) that Robert Smith (vocals) and Jason Cooper (drums) are the only Cure members to play on this song. It was okay on it's release but it already sounds really dated. It's alright as a bit of a different style on here but it's easily one of The Cure's weakest songs. My advice to them would be to erase all of the drum machines and sequenced bass on this song and play some real instruments on it, then we'd be in business.
The last 2 songs Cut Here (2001) and Just Say Yes (never released - which again means it doesn't qualify as a "hit"....) are another attempt at returning to their classic pop days and while Cut Here is very good, both are a bit worn and Just Say Yes sounds like a Black Grape tribute band !!!
Anyway, start your Cure collection here !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Band, Ready For Reinvestigation, 9 May 2003
By 
D. Winchester "atomic83" (Bushey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Cure: Greatest Hits. One of the least appreciated bands by mainstream, The Cure’s curious brand of perky/moribund pop wasn’t blissful enough to match the pop-by-numbers of Madonna or Bananarama, and not lyrically complex enough to enthuse fans of The Smiths. The Cure were a band that plowed their own furrow; unfortunately, this furrow found the wrong field and they were restricted to limited commercial success. Even flooding of the market with record after record (an astonishing eleven albums in ten years) failed to attract mass appeal, despite a succession of timeless pop singles. The Cure were so out of touch with the concurrent market that, during the acid house revolution of 1989, they were busy creating an concept album of near-prog soporific tunes of hopeless romanticism and doom. Such a ‘band out of time’ label has benefited The Cure greatly, as they have resurfaced as a cult act, especially in the U.S., where they were largely ignored first time around.
As you would expect with such a large output, The Cure’s gems were thinly spread, and thus The Greatest Hitsis a wise starting point for prospective fans. The collection begins with the title track from their 1979 debut, ‘Boys Don’t Cry’. The Cure began as a new wave band in the midst of Blondie and The Police, yet marked their quirky style in this record with a wistful tale of gender repression and separation. Their more purely pop tendencies can be seen elsewhere in ‘The Lovecats’ and later in ‘High’ and ‘Friday I’m In Love’ (both from 1992’s ultra-commercial Wish), but The Cure’s enduring beauty lies surely in their less accessible tracks, such as the chirpy yet despressive ‘Inbetween Days’ and the comic pastiche ‘Let’s Go To Bed’.
Lead singer Robert Smith has one of the most distinctive voices in music history: alternatively breathless and forthright, Smith’s wistful delivery strikes a yearning, aching bone. This is most clearly seen in the trio of singles taken from 1989’s Disintegration, a collection that South Park’s characters have termed the ‘best album ever’(!) In spite of this dubious recommendation, ‘Lovesong’ (the most played song on US radio in 1989) and ‘Pictures of You’ represent the pinnacle of Smith’s emotive outpourings. The deceptively-titled ‘Lullaby’, also from Disintegration, is a doom-laden tale of fear and impending demise, for ‘Spiderman is having me for dinner tonight.’ All semblance of comedy is lost in Smith’s melancholy whispers, gently laid against a wall of haunting strings and keyboard. Greatest Hits’ selections post-‘Friday I’m In Love’ leave much to be desired: the band’s appeal seems to disappear amongst slicker, modern production of ‘Wrong Number’ and ‘Just Say Yes’. From track one to fifteen, however, is timeless pop eclecticism at its highest, from the disturbing goth-initiating ‘A Forest’ to the gawky jazzy ‘Why Can’t I Be You?’ to the rockier impulses of ‘Never Enough’. One of the most intriguing bands of the last two decades, The Cure deserve their belated cult success. (8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview, 24 Aug 2007
By 
Cuban Heel "Neil Schiller" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I'm not a Cure purist, I never really thought of myself as a real fan of the band. But this is a great collection of songs. Maybe not a fully representative one in terms of their overall goth agenda, but for those non-goths of us out there, it's just a great set of indie classics.

For the casual listener (like me) there are a couple of tracks that detract from the overall quality. I don't really like 'Caterpillar', 'Lovecats' was never their greatest song, and the cd tails off a little bit after 'Mint Car'. But the bleak brilliance of 'Forest', the jangly guitars of 'In Between Days' and the joyous build-up of melody in 'Close to Me' represent real class, the like of which is just too rare these days. And who can forget 'Just Like Heaven' which has become my firm favourite for the intro alone.

The acoustic cd is not really worth much attention. I think I've listened to it twice. There's no real variety or inventiveness evident on this - the tracks sound like exact replicas of the studio versions played on acoustic instruments, slightly less enthusiastically than they were the first time around.

If you're a die hard Cure fan I'm sure there's a whole lot more out there for you and this will probably just leave you wanting. For the rest of us, it's a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Light in the Dark, 11 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Standing On A Beach/Staring At The Sea is a much more representative collection than this as it includes all the non-album singles, however If you're after instant-Cure (sorry) then Love Cats, Friday I'm In Love, Close To Me, Just Like Heaven etc are all here.

Yes it's missing for example "Killing An Arab", "Walk", "Charlotte Sometimes" and the 'Faith' singles, but this is pure garden party Cure, for summer lawns and polite company.

Oh, and you might as well get the 2 CD edition with the dubious acoustic versions if 'campfire' Cure sounds good to you.

You can't really give this less than four stars but you shouldn't start listening to The Cure here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice 3 disc package, but video quality and omissions let down, 15 Jun 2010
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits: +DVD (Audio CD)
There are so many slightly differing formats of this, but I am attaching my review to the listing I actually bought (even if the picture doesn't quite match!).

This version had 2 CDs (inc the 'acoustic') and a DVD in a fold-out card digipack (in outer sleeve) DVD size. Also includes a slim booklet/insert.

18 tracks on both CDs and the same tracks on the standard DVD menu. You also get 6 of the acoustic sessions on DVD but to be honest once you've seen one...they are a bit boring, although you can try them 5:1 ofcourse, if you wish.

Other reviewers on Amazon have rightly pointed out:

- the early vids are straight from "Staring at the Sea" and badly chopped to appear here, plus no remastering or tidying up so often grainy etc. However they are generally still enjoyable.

- tracks such as "Charlotte Sometimes" and "Caterpillar" are dropped altogether, and no inclusion for US only release "Fascination Street".

- for some reason there are 3 hidden videos, for "Caterpillar", "Close To Me (Closer Mix)" and "Pictures of You". Various ways to access but the simplest appears to be go to the Play Track option and on each of the 3 available screens (A-C) just type "13" and press Play.

I'm not a huge fan/completist so am generally happy to have this as a career summary in my collection, as the Sight & Sound series offers audio and visual elements. The audio is good throughout, and whilst not exactly acoustic in feel, the alternative low-key re-recordings of the 18 tracks on CD2 is an interesting take on Greatest Hits. A worthy 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and it's got some great tracks on it, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
Was never much of a Cure fan growing up, but now hearing more on 80's radio, it was about time I bought this, and it's got some great tracks on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure of the Music boring era! Buy the Cure, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great CD! The Cure is an iconic band that is a must have in any household. Four or five tracks to dance to and in general an inspirational band of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
Love the cure, this album is really good, great to mix with my 80's and 90's playlists. Nice addition to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure: Greatest Hits, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I loved all of this album. Sure, there could be some of their more elusive tracks, but I'm just being picky.
There's not a single song on here that I don't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cure Greatest Hits
The Cure Greatest Hits by The Cure (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews