Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunningly heavy follow up to a metal classic
Kittie aernt exactly the most liked band; on the contrary many people hate kittie for their female screamy antics. But if you see through just the vocals, "oracle" has stunning bass lines, pulse boosting drums and some spectacular riffs from the lead. Morgan's vocals may not be everybodys' cup of tea, to a kittie fan her lyrics and delivery of them fit so...
Published on 29 May 2002

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
I've been a fan of Kittie for some time as I enjoy heavy music, I got the album and read through the lyrics (so I could sing along, haha) and they were crap. The overall music is good and you will enjoy it if you are a Kittie fan but the lyrics have really put me off of them, they sound stupid when you understand what they say. If the lyrics were better they would be an...
Published on 27 July 2004 by P. Black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunningly heavy follow up to a metal classic, 29 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
Kittie aernt exactly the most liked band; on the contrary many people hate kittie for their female screamy antics. But if you see through just the vocals, "oracle" has stunning bass lines, pulse boosting drums and some spectacular riffs from the lead. Morgan's vocals may not be everybodys' cup of tea, to a kittie fan her lyrics and delivery of them fit so perfectly with this album's raw metal sound its like they are perfect partners. They are. They make a truly spectacular album; its called "oracle".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Album from the heavy Canadian trio, 26 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
When Kittie wrote "spit", they were rather young, yet they still produced an excellent selling record with many stand out tracks. Now they are back, and they are louder and heavier than before. And, more importantly, better.
This new album has shown a more mature and musically developed Kittie. The songs range from the loud 'Oracle' to the superbly written 'Pink Lemonade'. These are not the only stand out tracks, far from it. 'Run Like Hell', the Pink Floyd cover is again excellent. Mouthful of Poison is great, Morgan Lander's vocal talents particularly good here.
But what makes the songs good is the way they have matured with their instruments. Now minus bassist Fallon, they still pack the punch, the gravely riffs and savage beats make this record a must, epecially for the Kittie fans. However, first timers may want to opt for "Spit" first.
A good second album which should silence all critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mosh-Pit Fodder, 5 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
This album rocks! Whereas Spit was an incredible, mature debut for a group of teenage girls, Oracle proves they have really grown up musically. While the departure of Fallon to pursue her own projects left a huge hole in the band, Kittie have gone from strength to strength to make this incredible album. They have a talented bassist, Talena, an advanced drummer, Mercedes, and intelligent lead guitar from Morgan, who proves she's not just a guitarist with use of gentle piano on 'Safe'. Her growling vocals match perfectly with the raw riffs and hard metallic drum beats, but she also has an angelic lilting tone (which reminds me of a hardcore Madonna! Does it remind anyone else of her?) which proves to those who buy the album that there is plenty of diversity within Oracle, and indeed, Kittie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something special!, 12 Feb 2002
By 
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
I have had this album for awhile now, and always enjoyed it. But I recently saw Kittie perform live and decided to re-evalute the album.
This is a high quality heavy album, with many standout tracks including 'In Winter', 'Pain', 'Run Like Hell' and 'What I Always Wanted'. Each one different in pace and direction, offering an adrenaline fueled listen each time.
I wouldnt say the other tracks are fillers, as with more listens I begin to add them to my list of favourites. 'Wolves' in particular is a good track, maybe lacking of the quality of the others I have mentioned, but sound none the less.
Having seen Kittie live has opened my eyes to this album, and I will be getting my hands on a copy of their earlier offering too! And very soon!
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT A NORMAL ROCK BAND!, 7 Jan 2002
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
KITTIE are one of a kind. after reading an artilce on them i found out they were 4 girls, so i went out and got this album-then i found out that they made such an amazing sound with only 3 members! this c.d came with a short lyric book so you can understand some of the lyrics that are growled by lead vocalist MORGAN! this is a superb buy for those who have an interest in this band. i cannot describe their sound so buy the c.d and listen to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still their best!, 24 Nov 2007
By 
Mark_T (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
I've been a big fan of Kittie for some time, and although they've done some other great stuff, I still rate Oracle as their best album by far. Whereas their more recent material attempts to mix singing with their trademark growling, to varying effect, Oracle is simply about raw aggression: brutal, heavy and remorseless. Definitely their finest achievement to date, and if you buy one Kittie album, it has to be this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! Sublimely heavy, 15 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
Before I got this album I hated metal, but found that I listened to Oracle over and again. This record is awesome and astonishing. Now Kittie is the only metal band I like, they are very accessible for this style of music. They are easily the best metal band I ever heard. Kittie is so talented everyone should have this album. Beware though this album is VERY heavy! Also if you get this you WILL want the other records as well.
Kittie is one of the best bands for powerful, stunning emotive music and for raw power Oracle is near unmatched. Remarkable considering they now have less members and the bassist keeps changing. Compared to Spit, which was an excellent collection of individual tracks, Oracle has more consistency and continuity, and flows as a steady stream of bile from start to finish.
My favourite tracks include Mouthful of Poison, which has a great build into a stunning chorus; and No Name, with the growl at the start and fast aggression throughout. Both tracks feature Amazing guitar work . In contrast In Winter and Safe are atmospheric and eerie, but equally effective. Even if you don't like metal this album is so wonderful you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kittie still rule, 30 Oct 2005
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
One of their best albums, Kittie are a revelutionary band that are slowly taking the planet by storm and they ROCK MY SOCKS! Love their music, love them, love this album 10/10!! (and more)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 27 July 2004
By 
P. Black "applehead" (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Kittie for some time as I enjoy heavy music, I got the album and read through the lyrics (so I could sing along, haha) and they were crap. The overall music is good and you will enjoy it if you are a Kittie fan but the lyrics have really put me off of them, they sound stupid when you understand what they say. If the lyrics were better they would be an awesome band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Disappointment, 9 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Oracle (Audio CD)
I, like any other Kittie fan was shocked to hear of Fallon's departure from the band but eager to hear the 'new' Kittie. If Fallon opted to leave cos of musical differences, hats off to her! The band has become a joke. U can't possibly listen to even a whole song before getting pissed off with the continual shrieking of Morgan Lander. This is similar to Slipknot's 2nd album, Iowa (also a huge disappointment). Morgan is concentrating so hard on screaming as hard as she can on each word, it becomes a constant irritation. One song, Pain, isn't screamed at all and became a pleasure to listen to. Apart from that one decent track, the rest is pure rubbish and contains far too much wailing. Loved the first album, returned the 2nd album. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oracle
Oracle by Kittie (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews