Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant
Ive seen U2 three times now, from Zoo TV through Popmart and now Elevation 2001. I thought they were absolutely brilliant on this last tour because of its full on 'concentration'if you like.. on their music rather than the visuals of the past tours. This DVD quite simply proves that fact right from the off. Bono knows how to work the crowd, and the band as always,...
Published on 2 April 2002 by garyclark73

versus
5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All that you CAN leave behind!
Well done U2, an absolutely average offering from the Elevation tour. This is a DVD for die hard U2 fans only.
Disc one, which contains the concert, is a quite mediocre offering with what seems like a serious amount of over-dubbing in the studio. The sound is nothing spectacular and the camera angles become quite annoying as they jump from the crowd (shots of Bono's...
Published on 26 Nov 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR U2 FANS, 23 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have been a big fan of U2 since the release of the Joshua Tree album. I have seen them in concert 8 times, and this is without a doubt the best they have ever been. This beats the Zooropa tour handsdown. The special features are brilliant.
If you like U2, You will love this !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reminder of a Memorable U2 Night., 11 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Anyone who attended the Elevation concerts will love this. I was at the Berlin outdoor and the 1st Manchester concert. The Boston venue looks very similar to the MEN Arena.
The video takes you back and my recollection of a brilliant U2 performance is there on my TV screen, updated in front my eyes. The band walk on nonchalantly, Elevation starts up and you're back at the gig....makes the hair on the back of your neck stand on end.
The concert footage is shot close up to the group and the audience, not from a distance. You feel that you were there.
It's unmissable and for £12 or so it's a bargain.
For those who missed the concerts this video will make you want to attend next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not watched it yet, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Rev. G. R. Mumford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
But I am sure it will be excellent - I just wanted it for my collection, having seen the show in UK live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD GOD!, 28 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
After waiting impatiently since the evening of seeing U2 live for the first time, the live dvd has arrived. And trust me , it's amazing. Most of the gigantic hits are to be found, the likes of Sunday Bloody Sunday and Elevation bringing the roof down, and the moving Stuck in a Moment, Kite and With or Without You are truly memorable. And while about 5 of the tracks on the dvd would not have been my first choices for inclusion(New York and the like), this does not take away from the fact that this is the greatest music dvd on the market at the moment and it's going to be hard to steal it's throne. Here's to the greatest band of our time! OUTSTANDING! Nuff said really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but not brilliant, 29 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I just don't understand why they only recorded the Boston shows. I felt that it would have been profoundly more significant if the band presented the market with a DVD of the Slane shows!
Yes, the concert was live but there's more of a studio feel to the mixing, I would recommend this to any U2 fan but feel that it will not win new followers. Moreover, I believe there should have been some interviews with the band on the disk. I'm holding my breath for the "Live in Sydney" concert to be released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolby 5.1 Sound Track, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
One thing I feel is missing from the current reviews is any mention of the high quality of the sound production. The video is the high quality you expect from DVD.
However, on this DVD you get an amazing soundtrack. All 5.1 channels are used to the max. There is so much bass is will blast poor subwoofers through the roof and the depth and clarity are second to none. It has to be the best Dolby 5.1 live concert I have heard, it gets very close to the DTS classic of the Eagles.
If you have Rattle & Hum on DVD and think that sounds good Elevation 2001 is in another league.
The PCM sound track is also very good, but when you switch to Dolby 5.1 it's like opening the doors and going into the concert hall.
Never saw the concert's live, but now I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love u2 then make this a priority now, 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
If you love u2 then you'll love this .It comes as a2 disc set and at £19.99 you really can't argue.It has 2 of the same concerts, one of which is multi cam version, a very interesting making of ,bonus tracks and more.If like me you've never seen u2 live then this is as close as you will get..Sound and picture quality is first class right through .If there has to be a negative about this dvd then it's got to be what to watch first..The packaging is great to,coming in a fold out box and not yiour standard plastic boxes. It's got 19 great songs some old,some new but all of them we have come to know and love.If you like music then make
this a priority now,it really does put most music dvd's,and fiilms,to shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Show On Earth, 21 Jan 2002
This is the greatest concert I've ever watched!!!
This makes you feel you're actually in the crowd.
There are some great songs on here like Elevation, Streets Have No Name and The Fly. There is also a good version of In A Little While, sung as a tribute to Joey Ramone. The DVD has lots of extras like a 30 minute road movie, other camera angles like Crowd Cam and Director Cam and extra tracks. There is some trailers for Zoo TV and PopMart Videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !, 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I saw this concert live in London, but it almost seemed better watching it on DVD than actualy being there. The quality of video and audio on this DVD is awsome and the production is excellent as well.
This is a definite must-buy. Bono's voice and the way Edge makes a guitar 'sing' will make the hair on the back of your neck stand up.
Why are you still sitting there reading this stupid review? Order it. NOW !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live show DVD!!, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
now I don't have so many live DVDs but this is the best live performance I've ever seen. U2 is playing the songs so perfect and some of the guitar solos by The Edge is great, the greatest is on Bullet The Blue Sky. Please buy this one, it's truly great!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001]
U2: Elevation Tour - Live In Boston [DVD] [2001] by Hamish Hamilton (DVD - 2001)
£14.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews