Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome gig Roger
Anybody who has listened to Pink Floyd before will have a treat watching this. Roger Water's voice has faired well over the years and the Band plays exactly as it was meant to sound. Katie Kissoon is mind blowing, Doyle Bramhall II is wicked on guitar and are Andy Fairweather-Low and Snowy White. I've owned this DVD for at least 3 years now, but every time I play it the...
Published on 30 Mar 2006 by DJ Emm

versus
3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Disappointing
It's RW's choice of material that disappoints me, rather than anything else - I could've lived without 'Set the Controls...', 'Dogs', 'Mother', and even yet another live version of 'Comfortably Numb' (one of my favourite songs). I LOVE RW's solo material and was extremely disappointed to find much of it ignored (a smattering of 'The Final Cut' (a RW album in all but...
Published on 3 Feb 2007 by DarkPoet


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome gig Roger, 30 Mar 2006
By 
DJ Emm (Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Anybody who has listened to Pink Floyd before will have a treat watching this. Roger Water's voice has faired well over the years and the Band plays exactly as it was meant to sound. Katie Kissoon is mind blowing, Doyle Bramhall II is wicked on guitar and are Andy Fairweather-Low and Snowy White. I've owned this DVD for at least 3 years now, but every time I play it the whole of my neighbourhood comes around to enjoy it all over again!
Go and buy it - you will not be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The flip slide of Pulse - if only 2 would become 1 !!!, 10 Aug 2006
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Basically if you want to hear songs from Dark Side and Wish ( plus Comfortably Numb ) you 'tend' to go for Dave/Nick and Rik, i.e Pulse, ... but if you want to hear brilliant versions of other Wall songs and an outstanding version of Dogs, (even though Roger doesn't sing on this one ) then this is the DVD for you. I never thought I'd get to see any Animals stuff live but I'd buy this purely for Dogs !!

Now they just need to get back together, and play for hours !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 19 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is fantastic. Nobody does the Pink Floyd songs as well as Roger Waters and his band. They are really incredibly tight. The guitarist who plays a lot of the David Gilmour parts is truly astonishing as he can reprodice the Gilmour riffs note and phrase perfect! That is not to say he does not go off on his own sometimes - he does to great effect. The other guitarist is Snowy White who played on the original Wall tour way back. You just have to see the joint guitar solo ending to Comfortably Numb - spine tingling. The Pink Floyd songs are better than the originals and I believe Roger's solo work is even better performed than the album versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Remarkable Concert, 14 Nov 2002
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best concert films - the quality of sound and image is crystal clear. Roger Waters previously of The Pink Floyd is a man who lets his music do the talking. The stunning visuals only enhance the experience of the concert.
The Classic Floyd standards of Breathe, Comfortably Numb and Shine On are played with passion and a real commitment playing this music well. Roger appears in his element playing the music he wrote or co-wrote. As you can imagine this is more Roger than Floyd and bears some of his hallmarks - David Gilmours tendency to rearrange (which for me works very well) some of the songs is not evident here. The band assembled from various backgrounds includes Snowy White who played on The Wall concerts and Jon Carin who talents are shown by playing various instrument throughout the concert, and Andy Fairweather-Low a Waters Stalwart providing guitar and bass support.
This is also an good introduction to Rogers music for those who haven't had that opportunity. The Bravery of Being Out of Range is partially well timed with the current situation, The the reworking of Wish You Were Here is a real favourite and where else is the solo so long that the band can have a game of cards in the middle of it! I did go to his concert Wembley Arena where Nick Mason joined Roger on stage and watching this DVD brings back memories of a good night.
The Extras on the disc are good too. A thirty minute documentary which shows a jovial Roger preparing his band on the East Coast United States. From practicing in a local theatre moving on to a USAF Aircraft Hanger. Getting the visual and introductions right. Roger also has a quick play of a new song "Flickering Flame" and teaches the band how to play a new game of cards he has invented. Andy Fairweather-Low and his search for his missing socks is a little bit of Spinal Tap in the real world.
This disc is probably more for Roger fans than purely Floyd fans and fans of the early Floyd Material from Animals (Great to hear Dogs live) and Wish You Were Here. But rest assured that the music is lovingly cared for and played extremely well by some one who knows how to play it.
In short - It's Floyd as we know it but with a twist. Happy Viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It all makes perfect sense!, 8 July 2003
By 
Edward Teach (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
With the gap between new material such an expansive one, it is no surprise that people will clamber for anything that shows us that the old Pink Floyd stalwarts are still alive and kicking. It was therefore, with a great deal of suspicion that I viewed another repackaging of old material. What transpired however was a truly heart warming, life affirming production that did, at turns, reduce an old cynic to a lump of emotional jelly.
The world of Waters is not an altogether cheery one, as fans of both his Pink Floyd days and subsequent solo efforts will testify. However whilst the television news continues to depress us with sobering stories from around the world each night, Waters delivers his doom-laden worldview with an emotional totality that cannot be determined from mere journalism.
Gathering a collection of genius musicians is not always enough to give a production depth and soul. If anything, such a gathering often works against the product, highlighting the cold surgical delivery of bland, often lifeless material. Not here. The richness of the sounds and the deftness of its players only enhance a truly breathtaking production. Whilst no one musician takes centre stage, no one is a bit player. Snowy White, Graham Broad and Andy Fairweather Low provide incredibly solid support to the electrifying guitar work of Doyle Bramhall II and sublime keyboard skills of Jon Carin, both of who offer controlled vocal support. In addition, your heart melts to the sound of the faultless PP Arnold, here at her sumptuous best.
Water provides the cement in this dynamic and moving performance and it is with a sense of awe that we tip our hat to his often-unrecognised genius. Let us only hope that the new material, as suggested with the closing Each Small Candle, is as brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of perfection, 11 April 2002
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I firstly decided to buy this DVD because I am a regural P.Floyd fan-collector. It turned out to be a masterpiece. The picture and the sound are excellent and above all the atmosphere of the show is unique. Old Pink Floyd songs are marvelously combined with solo Waters' ones. For the first time one can enjoy live editions from "Mother", "Dogs", "Set the controls for the heart of the sun" and "Southampton Dock"(still nothing from Atom Heart Mother) as well as Waters' classics as "It's a miracle" or "Amused to death". Very important also the new song "Each small candle". The band is excellent and the floydian material is reproduced in a perfet way - very close to the original P. Floyd version. Bonus material includes photos, band bios, behind the scenes documentary as well as a scene (=track) selection menu. Don't miss the chance to own this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really very moving!, 4 Aug 2002
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I went to see Roger Waters on his last tour about fifteen years ago (now I feel old!) It is still the most memorable gig I have ever been to so when I saw this DVD available I bought it with eager anticipation.
I have to say I was not disappointed and although Gilmour, Wright and Mason are missed on the Pink Floyd stuff, on the whole this has more soul and integrity to it than any of the post-Waters Floyd efforts.
Musicianship is outstanding and I really was very moved as I recalled my own relationship with Waters' and Pink Floyd's music over the years. 'Dogs' is exceptional and in many ways better than the Floyd bootlegs I have heard.

Buy it, it is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roger waters - in the flesh, 14 Nov 2003
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
roger waters plays with a superb band covering most of the pink floyd classics. 'the wall', 'wish you were here', 'darkside of the moon' etc. sounds and visual effects are stunning.
the band includes veteran guitarist snowy white and also one doyle bramhall, who plays left handed on a right hand strung guitar with an awesome fluidity.
a definite must have for pink floyd fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the Music, 26 Mar 2007
If you like Pink Floyd, as I do, you'll love this Roger Waters concert on DVD. The line-up is brilliant. He has gathered some fabulous musicians for his tour. Surprise! Surprise, no David Gilmore, but isn't that a blessing considering the history. The music, as expected, is thankfully mostly Pink Floyd - captivating - the lyrics as expected are very anti-establishment, emotionally stimulating, and therefore entertaining. For me, the only thing that jarred was some of the lyrics of "It's a Miracle" where Roger rudely derided fellow musician Andrew Lloyd Weber. Why? Is he jealous of his millions? Me, I am a music lover of many genres, and will not be told whose music to dislike. So don't do it Roger, you only risk upsetting fans like me. Music is too precious. I like yours, but also Andrew's. I've watched this DVD at least 30 times, because I love your music. If you think it is OK for one musician to insult a fellow musician in his lyrics, OK. But just keep in mind that music, if good enough, can last for centuries. Lyrics however only remain meaningful and appreciated as long as they are topical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always was the backbone of Pink Floyd, 15 Sep 2006
By 
Paul GF (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Strange to see a review here proclaiming 'Perform your own Material!'. And here was me thinking that most of Pink Floyds material WAS roger Waters'.

This DVD proves that Waters was and always will be the true backbone of what made Pink Floyd so damn good.

His voice is in superb flow and the show is stunning. Renditions of all of the familiar tunes are executed with perfection. It really does not get any beter than this. Seeing this live is the only way to top it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roger Waters: In The Flesh - Live [DVD] [2002]
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews