Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic gets much deserved respect on well packaged dvd.
This story has all the hallmarks of a true classic: a compelling story, ambitiously shot with a powerhouse soundtrack.
This stands as possibly the best example of the unfortunetly scant remaining Troughton era stories, and newcomers shouldn't be put off by the fact that it's in black and white- the story and performances are strong enough to captivate on any format-...
Published on 9 April 2002

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I saw this the first time around
Good for nostalgia freaks, and Patrick Troughton always was a fine doctor. People who criticise the current Dr. Who should watch this, it is full of plot holes, wobbly sets and such, but it's definitely good Dr. Who.

It's very cheesy, and more than a bit clunky, and the suits of the cybermen have plastic childrens balls on them painted silvery. It's only black...
Published on 12 July 2008 by R. Court


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars First older Who..., 22 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Ok, so this was the first time I stepped out of my Doctor Who comfort zone: first old-OLD episode, first Black and White episode, first non-Tom Baker episode.

I loved it.

Yes the costumes are crap and sometimes the Cyber-voices are hard to understand but that's enough to look over.

Patrick Troughton is extremely watchable and makes you think that an older Doctor might still work in the current series.
The Companions Jamie and Victoria are both very watchable.

It's also interesting to see the Cybermen used in a very low-key way. They do not, for example, come across the Doctor as they try to destroy the universe. They are simply there to make for an excellent story, and show you don't have to be BIG to be scary.

All in all, it's a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Cyberman story., 3 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The Doctor and his companions join a team of scientists investigating what turns out to be the building where the Cybermen have lain dormant for untold ages.

This is a fantastic story. Not to mention a classic example of suspence and horror, from the Hitchcock-like "old dark house" to the "Mummy awakening" scene where the Cybermen burst from their tombs. Patrick Troughton's Doctor is as his best here, shows an unusually darker manipulative side to the character's nature. The special effects don't look as good now as they did then, true, but this intelligent, well-crafted story is still as great as it ever was. Plus we see the Cyber Controller, who is much more effective and sinister here than in the later "Attack of the Cybermen".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Tomb of the Cybermen, 8 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The TARDIS takes the Doctor, Jamie and new companion, Victoria to the world of Telos.

Part 1: The Doctor meets some archaeologists investigating the Cybertombs on the planet Telos.

Part 2: Professor Parry and his team begin to unlock the secrets of the Cybermen's tomb.

Part 3: The tombs are a trap. The Cybermen have risen from their centuries long slumber.

Part 4: The Cybermen have left their icy tombs, planning to turn everyone into Cybermen.

02 - 23 Sep 1967
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chilling classic of 1960's british television, 19 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The best of the remaining complete Patrick Troughton adventures, 'Tomb of the Cybermen' still retains a chilling menace thirty five years since first broadcast. Troughton's Doctor is a joy to watch fey, compassionate and three steps ahead of everybody else. The Cybermen are in this story at the height of their glory, huge and implacable, they dominate the screen. Lovingly restored for DVD release by the BBC, marred only by a few amateurish special effects, this is a classic of 1960's british television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC WHO!!, 8 Jun. 2012
By 
Mrs. D. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
this troughton story is deffinantly one of the best not only do we see telos for the first time but the cybermen are back for there 3rd story and perhaps there best appearance although i thought the cybermen appeared to late into the stroy sadly part 3. oh and about 10 minutes towards the cliffhanger of part 2 great set great voices and the cybermats for the first time to i really enjoyed this story i would reccomend people to buy this dvd :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC At Its Best, 3 Feb. 2004
By 
James Cameron "Artist / Filmmaker / Nerd" (a world of my own) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This absolute classic slice of Dr.Who is a perfect example of just how much can be done on a tight budget, and easily shows up some of the later, much higher budget stories.
TOTCM sees the 2nd doctor with his two slightly irratating companions, joining in on a dig on the cybermen's home planet, where they dicover that not all the cybermen where wiped out as orignally thought.
This is a beautifully made 6 part story that reminds people that even old black & white TV can be very very good veiwing.
A must for sci-fi fans & who-fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 22 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this episode and it will go down as one of the best. The Cybermen are at their greatest as are the main cast and the excitement and intrigue is unreal. This was only Deborahs second story and she portrays her character excellently to say she was just getting used to it. One word for this serial Cybertastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I would have liked the original because I already have revisitations 3, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
It came very well sealed the was no damage to the disc. Although it didn't say if it was the special edition or original. I would have liked the original because I already have revisitations 3. Its great because I had needed a copy of the tomb of the cybermen Special editions when my discs got scratched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic., 8 Oct. 2014
By 
M. M. Bennett "Miles" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This is Classic. Some people regard this story as best remembered from childhood rather than watched. However, I don't agree. Yes, the special effects (i.e. the set) are just that - a set, but the story remains (with a tad of forgiveness for the passing years) very strong. This is Troughton on-form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grave-robbing for children's TV?, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Not sure if the Doctor should have so willingly joined in a spot of grave-robbing. I'm glad he did though because it leads us into a chilling and claustrophic story that borders on Hammer Horror. One of those rare stories from Patrick Troughton's era that survives intact and shows how good story-telling combined with great production values could make Doctor Who top-notch viewing - the new series has managed that with great effect. The Tomb story is a chiller in every sense of the word. The suspense builds as the scientists from a future Earth "succeed" in breaking and entering into the tombs on Telos containing what they believe to be the remains of the Cybermen. But it's all too easy...and has someone just turned up the temperature to make those chilled tombs warm up a bit? A proper old-fashioned suspense-builder that takes time to develop the characters but thankfully avoids the padding that sometimes slowed up some of the Troughton and Pertwee era stories. Sadly the other top notch Cybermen stories from the Sixties - Moonbase and Invasion are incomplete - but Tomb looks really well on screen and ranks alongside Web of Fear, Evil of the Daleks and Fury from the Deep as a classic 1960s Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963]
£11.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews