Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic gets much deserved respect on well packaged dvd.
This story has all the hallmarks of a true classic: a compelling story, ambitiously shot with a powerhouse soundtrack.
This stands as possibly the best example of the unfortunetly scant remaining Troughton era stories, and newcomers shouldn't be put off by the fact that it's in black and white- the story and performances are strong enough to captivate on any format-...
Published on 9 April 2002

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I saw this the first time around
Good for nostalgia freaks, and Patrick Troughton always was a fine doctor. People who criticise the current Dr. Who should watch this, it is full of plot holes, wobbly sets and such, but it's definitely good Dr. Who.

It's very cheesy, and more than a bit clunky, and the suits of the cybermen have plastic childrens balls on them painted silvery. It's only black...
Published on 12 July 2008 by R. Court


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC WHO!!, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs. D. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
this troughton story is deffinantly one of the best not only do we see telos for the first time but the cybermen are back for there 3rd story and perhaps there best appearance although i thought the cybermen appeared to late into the stroy sadly part 3. oh and about 10 minutes towards the cliffhanger of part 2 great set great voices and the cybermats for the first time to i really enjoyed this story i would reccomend people to buy this dvd :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 22 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. D. P. Metcalfe "DMETCALFE" (WEST YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this episode and it will go down as one of the best. The Cybermen are at their greatest as are the main cast and the excitement and intrigue is unreal. This was only Deborahs second story and she portrays her character excellently to say she was just getting used to it. One word for this serial Cybertastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars INDISPENSABLE, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Guillermo Moure (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
If you're a Doctor Who fan, you can't miss this serial AT ALL.
Nicely cleaned but not so much extras. And be aware this DVD is coming in the upcoming REVISITATIONS 3, very soon (nex extras, new features, new remasterization).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Cyberman story., 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The Doctor and his companions join a team of scientists investigating what turns out to be the building where the Cybermen have lain dormant for untold ages.

This is a fantastic story. Not to mention a classic example of suspence and horror, from the Hitchcock-like "old dark house" to the "Mummy awakening" scene where the Cybermen burst from their tombs. Patrick Troughton's Doctor is as his best here, shows an unusually darker manipulative side to the character's nature. The special effects don't look as good now as they did then, true, but this intelligent, well-crafted story is still as great as it ever was. Plus we see the Cyber Controller, who is much more effective and sinister here than in the later "Attack of the Cybermen".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my faves ever, 4 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This is in my opinion one of the best stories ever and certainly one of my favorites. I am really glad that BBC found this one again after they lost it, they found this story again in 1992. Patrick troughton in this is utterly spectacular in this story and indeed just about all his stories, he is mad, clever,funny and played brilliantly, he is let down in a way by the BBC that this is one of the only seven Patrick troughton stories that survives as a whole out of an original twenty one. When watching this if you've got a good imagination and aren't picky you will look at the cybermen and see them as really effective, scary villains. I hear a lot that all the cybermen don't look as good then as now but what you need to do to make the story work is ignore that and see them then as you do now or it ruins the magic of the story. Only drawbacks for me is a couple of the supporting roles. Some of them not all of them and i like it in the new series when they turn people to cybermen and in the story they were threatening to do it but it didn't really happen. But i don't look at that i look at the story and i think the story is very clever and well performed and it has some very iconic moments like when the cybermen come out of the tombs at the end of episode 2. and did you know that Russell t Davies got the idea of seeing the cybercontroller's brain from the cybercontroller from this story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'You might say they've had a complete metal breakdown...', 3 May 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This late Sixties Doctor Who serial starring the late great Patrick Troughton is widely regarded as one of the series' high-points, and rightly so.
From the iconic image of The fledgling Cybermen bursting out of their resting places, to the giant Toberman straining to prevent them leaving their 'tomb', this serial is chock-full of great moments. The Cyber-Controller and the rodenty Cybermats also make their series debuts here; clearly rivalling The dreaded Daleks at this point as The Doctor's greatest foes, the silver meanies are buried on Telos and an archaeological dig led by the enigmatic Kaftan and her silent bodyguard the aforementioned Toberman, is about to awaken them in order to use their great strength for avaricious reasons of their own.
Even better, this serial that was prior to 1992 presumed to have been one more tragic victim of the BBC's heinous and short-sighted video wiping policy, has been cleaned-up by the restoration team, and looks pretty crisp and clear on the screen with just some occasional blurring.
DVD extras include the excellent 'Tombwatch', telling the story of how the film was recovered, 'Late Night Line Up', a kind of semi-Doctor Who Confidential of its day, an intro from Director Morris Barry, and a featurette on how the film prints were restored by the BBC's team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite good, 12 Jun 2010
By 
Stewart Mckellar (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Unlike a lot of the early Dr Whos this does not have much filler material and there is only a couple of times that the action seems to repeat itself. It's worth a look if you can get it cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story done justice, 1 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
One of the reviewers says that this DVD is a doctor who fan's idea of heaven. It is. It is a great story, with all the makings of a classic. Best of all, it has....the cybermen! In top form! When I first watched this (not when it was first shown), I was truly terrified! One of the scenes commented on time and time again in documentaries is the chilling one with the Cybermen emerging from their tombs. I love it! It kept me on the edge of my seat! The restoration team have done an amazing job of getting the episode to a good quality, and the documentaries are quite good. There is, like all other releases, an easter egg, which isn't really all that interesting.

But that's not the point. It is a fantastic set of episodes, at an amazing price. A must for all Doctor Who fanatics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First older Who..., 22 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Ok, so this was the first time I stepped out of my Doctor Who comfort zone: first old-OLD episode, first Black and White episode, first non-Tom Baker episode.

I loved it.

Yes the costumes are crap and sometimes the Cyber-voices are hard to understand but that's enough to look over.

Patrick Troughton is extremely watchable and makes you think that an older Doctor might still work in the current series.
The Companions Jamie and Victoria are both very watchable.

It's also interesting to see the Cybermen used in a very low-key way. They do not, for example, come across the Doctor as they try to destroy the universe. They are simply there to make for an excellent story, and show you don't have to be BIG to be scary.

All in all, it's a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Curse of the Cyborg's Tomb", 12 Feb 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This story once had such a reputation as a legendary lost story that anyone who was old enough to convincingly claim to have seen it was treated with respect. In 1992 it turned up and went to video and as for living up to a reputation, it does better than most.
It's an irresistable idea mixing Cybermen with old mummy films and Horror and SF gel together well, as the Doctor joins archaeologists investigating the remains of the Cybermen.
There's a clear Tutankhamen feel as they break into the cyber tombs and 2 people are quickly dispatched by traps. naturally we have villains who revive the Cybermen for their onw reasons and they are good villains too. It's a very original take on Cybermen to have them as the revived dead, here instead of wanting to mummify a lost love to have her live forever they want to make humans into Cybermen.
No Cybermen appear until the end of part 2, but then they always worked best with only a little time onscreen and not too much dialogue. Part of their menace lies in building up to them. When they do appear as the ice melts and they climb down from theirt tombs, it's a wonderful moment! Only the numbers of cybermen would improve if the idea was revisited now.
The supporting cast are all good particularly George Pastel & Shirley Cooklin. The regulars are on good form too, the loyal Jamie and Victoria trying to be braver than she really is. The Doctor is quite dark here, as this is all really his fault. he helped them open the tombs and made the Cybermen's revival possible. Patrick Troughton offers a complex and mysterious Doctor, as capable of using people as shwoing compassion to Victoria-witness their chat about the meaning of their lives.

At the time it was slated for violence but looks tamer now. it still pacjks a punch and despite some dating is still highly enjoyable. It shows its age the most in some unsuccessful effects and so on. There is a dummy Cybermen suit that we are clearly meant to think is a live one but no one bulked it up enough to convince. there is a very vsible kirby wire in a fight scene and a dummy replaces the Controller in a fight, is very obviously static and its head virtually comes off when it is thrown.

For all that, a classic story that we are lucky to be able to see.

There is a funny and enjoyable commentary with companions Frazer Hines and Debbie Watling, it just takes a little while to get going.

We have Tombwatch, panels filmed from a screening of the story in 1992, which feature most of the cast plus director, producer and script editor. All are on good form and full of fun stories.

Special footage recreates the climax of Evil of the Daleks and there is a vintage effects feature from a show called Late Night Line Up.

We also get some test footage for the Troughton Title sequence (an easter egg is alleged to have a story title free version of the used 1, but I've never found it).

I als found an easter egg (fiddle about by "Audio Options") of an Abominable Snowmen trailer oin audio.

a good package for a lovely old story, perfect for someone interested in more than the current version or who loved the new Cybermen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3088a08)

This product

Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963]
15.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews