Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic gets much deserved respect on well packaged dvd.
This story has all the hallmarks of a true classic: a compelling story, ambitiously shot with a powerhouse soundtrack.
This stands as possibly the best example of the unfortunetly scant remaining Troughton era stories, and newcomers shouldn't be put off by the fact that it's in black and white- the story and performances are strong enough to captivate on any format-...
Published on 9 April 2002

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I saw this the first time around
Good for nostalgia freaks, and Patrick Troughton always was a fine doctor. People who criticise the current Dr. Who should watch this, it is full of plot holes, wobbly sets and such, but it's definitely good Dr. Who.

It's very cheesy, and more than a bit clunky, and the suits of the cybermen have plastic childrens balls on them painted silvery. It's only black...
Published on 12 July 2008 by R. Court


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic gets much deserved respect on well packaged dvd., 9 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This story has all the hallmarks of a true classic: a compelling story, ambitiously shot with a powerhouse soundtrack.
This stands as possibly the best example of the unfortunetly scant remaining Troughton era stories, and newcomers shouldn't be put off by the fact that it's in black and white- the story and performances are strong enough to captivate on any format- whilst for Dr Who fans it will represent DVD heaven.
If the tale has a weakness it perhaps lies in the simplicity of the supporting characters- there are good ones and there are bad ones, and they all seem capable of behaving in the most illogical way at times. However, Troughton's Doctor is a treat to watch, and the whole piece is laced with excellent humour and even some insight into the Doctor's past.
The picture has been especially restored for dvd release and is now pristine; a detailed synopsis guides the viewer through the restoration process. And there are plenty more extras on this generous disc. Hopefully this release will pave the way for more of the sixties material to be represented on dvd alongside the seventies and eighties stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a show, 14 Feb. 2008
By 
Greystone (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
What really annoys me is people who view this story and say things like: 'It's not as good as it's supposed to be.' No doubt they would say the same thing about Power of the Daleks if it turned up. You know, you really have to place this yarn in the context of when it was made. Of course the effects aren't Star Wars, they didn't have the technology back then! But the mood, the setting and the characters make this great. It was never going to live up to the hype, wasn't possible... But it remains a classic example of sixties Dr Who at its best, and more power to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely SUPERB, 14 Jan. 2002
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The BBC have once again excelled themselves by releasing another of (in my opinion of course) the greatest episodes of Doctor Who history, in what I would call the best era. Patrick Troughton was an excellent doctor and this is the best script he had to act out. I would even go as far to say it was better than Earthshock.
I managed to get my hands on a copy of the VHS release of Tomb a few months ago, unaware that the DVD was in production. Having both doesn't mean comparisons are made easier. On the contrary, the "remastered" presentation on the DVD is superbly explained and very well produced. This DVD has definately the best extras (with the possible exception of Remembrance). The test footage from the starting sequences is excellently presented and it's interesting to see "what might have been" (including a sequence where the graphics are spiralled into a fossil shape).
The story itself is a cracker. I'll not go into great depths though, I'll let you see for yourselves. All I can say is if ...you're questioning whether to get it or not, take it from me. "Do not hesitate to buy this DVD".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total must for any Dr Who fan!, 17 Jan. 2002
By 
P B HAWKE (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
As someone who was not born until 1972 The Tomb of the Cybermen is a fantastic piece of late '60's TV and the only complete classic Patrick Troughton story to survive the mass junkings of the 1970's (his other surviving complete stories are no where near as good as this).
The story is set on the home planet of the Cybermen in the far distant future where the Cybermen are just archeological relics to be discovered and studied, having been extinct for sometime. The Doctor, Jamie and the new companion Victoria stumble across the archeological team who have just discovered the entrance to the Ttombs. From there they whole group come to discover the delights and horrors waiting for them in the Tombs.
Patrick Troughton's Doctor is a relevation to me personally. He is both restraining and gently cajoling to the archeological team, giving them the answers they want to revive the Cybermen, but viewing the unfolding drama with fascinated horror, one moment manipulating events in the background, the next taking charge. There is some great interplay between the Doctor and Victoria too. And the scene of the Cybermen being thawed out from the impressive cocoons still sends a shiver down the spine 35 years on. Yes there are one or two dodgy special effects but you can see how this terrified children and adults alike in 1967!
This is classic stuff (without giving too much away). The quality of the picture and sound is great and the little documentary on how they restored the episodes (splitting the picture showing before and after restoration)shows how much work was put into this release. All the other extras are great to see but the highlight is the 8mm footage of the special effects ending of the previous story 'Evil of the Daleks' (no longer in existence bar Part 2) matched with the actual soundtrack of Part 7 with the Daleks being blown up left, right and centre.
Lets hope that more Doctor Who DVD's are put together with the care of this one, with more restored and digitally remastered prints, particularly the Hartnell & Troughton years. And lets hope they find some more classic Troughton stories currently missing because if they are anything like this then they deserve to be found!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Oct. 2006
By 
DB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
To me the cybermen have always been good, and most enjoyable to watch. It is great to watch, and unlike the normal Doctor Who, instead of ending with the cybermen defeated, it was left on a brilliant cliff hanger!

This is so far my only viewing of the Troughton episodes, but it was very good and I think that this is a brilliant cybermen story, even though the cybermen are rather unrecognisable by comparison to the Cybermen of this day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Release for Doctor Who Fans, 22 April 2006
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Many Doctor Who fans may be divided about this release, but I do think, despite its flaws, is rather good though. One reason is episodes of Victoria (Deborah Watling) are quite rare since many of the original tape recordings made between 1966 and 1969 were lost forever due to the BBC attempting to save time and money wiping the tapes and using them for new recordings. That is one plus point. Second plus point about this set is the numerous extras which will delight golden oldies like myself who watched these episodes when they were first transmitted. Picture and sound have been digitally remastered and is very good indeed. Now for the story itself. A tomb is discovered where the Cybermen have been frozen in time. Attempts to revive and control them goes terribly wrong though which leads to some exciting sequences when the Doctor and his friends try to reverse the process and refreeze them. What I like about this production is it doesnt go on too long like some stories, certainly not plodding or padded out. A good buy because like I explained earlier, many episodes with Patrick Troughton as the Doctor were lost, so grab it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cybermen at there best, 10 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
My mum and dad bought me this for my birthday many years ago and i have only just got round to writing a review about it, this was the first cybermen episode i ever saw and no doubtably the best. I wanted to see this because my mum told me that she remembers watching this episode on tv when she was my age. The special effects are brilliant for 1967 and the picture restoration is crisp. After watching this i researched the history of this episode and discovered that the original film was damaged and then lost a few decades after being broadcast until 1999 when it was remastered and repaired. Also on the special features of the dvd there is a short video showing you the original quality of the episode and then the remastered quality, let me tell you that the remastered version is a million times better. It looks like a black and white HD film. All of the crackles and scratches on the original copy have been filtered out.

At the moment i have only told you about the technical details of this product, now im going to tell you about my opinion on the actual story. I know now a days with all the high-tech special effects and ultra realistic costumes and all that, the cyber suits used in this episode would't look very convincing now but iv'e seen the modern cyber suits in the David tennant and Matt smith episodes and despite the improved effects i still prefer the old 1967 suit. Anyway back to the story, the acting is brilliant (good old troughton), the story is well planned, i simply just can't fault this episode. It kept me hooked all the way through, if you are a true fan of doctor who (like me) i would definately recommend this. I hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tomb of Cybermen review, 24 Aug. 2005
By 
Fish Dude (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Tomb of the Cybermen is the earliest episode of Dr Who that I have seen, and I thought it was very good.
In this episode, an archaeological team discover the lost city of the Cybermen on planet Telos, and plan to form an alliance with them. But the Cybermen are frozen in 'honeycomb' tombs, and the team unfreeze them. However, the Cybermen plan to attack them and turn them into Cybermen as well.
This episode features the first viewing of the Cybermens' leader, The Controller. Unlike the other Cybermen, he has an enlarged helmet and no chest unit. But, like the other Cybermen, he has to be 'revitalised' when his energy levels get too low.
The special features on this DVD include:
-Intro to Morris Barry - The director talks about the Cybermen.
-Late Night Line Up - Programme from the 1960s featuring visual effects on Doctor Who.
-Tombwatch - Some of the cast return to see the screening in April 1992.
-The Final End - A shot of the last part of the previous episode, 'The Evil of the Daleks', because the last episode no longer exists, except this bit.
-Title sequence tests - A selection of raw footage of the creation of the Patrick Troughton version title sequence.
-Restoration - A feature showing how the original film was cleaned up for the DVD.
-Photo Gallery - Screenshots of the film.
-Commentary - By Frazer Hines (Jamie) and Deborah Watling (Victoria).
The animated menus are really something, and the feature is a lot better now it has been cleaned up, and I think the cleaners did a very good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Troughton story, 25 July 2005
By 
A. R. Forbes "gforbes" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
A clever plot although based too much on "logic". It also is a bit slow to start off with but has an exciting and creepy end to episode 2. I am a younger veiwer and am moderatly new to doctor who but i would say these four episodes are very clever and have several memorable scenes. I like the characters and their names not to mention them being hard to get your tounge round, such as Eric Klieg(a logician). At the same time as ordering 'the tomb of the cybermen' I got 'The robots of death' although I definatly prefered 'the tomb of the cybermen'.
I have noticed a few cheesy moments but not as many as 'the invisible man' (not Doctor Who). It is not as fast moving as the new seiries with Christopher Eccleston but I did certinly enjoy wathching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare gem, 14 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Patrick Troughton as the second Doctor with assistants Victoria and Jamie have a memorable run-in against the cybermen in this particularly thrilling story.
The story was thought to have been wiped from BBC archives and lost forever until a copy was recently discovered in Hong Kong. And what a discovery. The cybermen prove to be genuinely frightening once thawed out of their secret fortress by treacherous scientists.
It is easy to imagine that "Emmerdale" Jamie played the assistant role for laughs but Frazer Hines puts on a great performance and really co-leads the show.
The effects work but at times the cybermen fortress control systems look particuarly wooden and delicate. Never mind. Cybermats make their first appearance and the cliffhanger allows the cybermen to march onto another story and to become oe of the most popular baddies of the show's history.
There are plenty of excellent extras on the disc to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Tomb Of The Cybermen [1967] [DVD] [1963]
£15.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews