Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a oustadning combiation of comedy and pure genius!
I have been a great fan of the Vicar of Dibley for a long ime but I have never had all the first series on video. So when this new video came along I could not believe my luck! With Dawn French in the title role as the heroic vicar of the paish of Dibley, and with her eccentric side kick, Alice, the Verger played superbly by Emma Chambers and all the other characters,...
Published on 26 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Best
I know people reading this will castigate me for only giving this 3 stars but it just wasn't for me. Dawn French et al were excellent as usual but I just didn't find it funny.
Published 9 months ago by D. J. Burgess


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a oustadning combiation of comedy and pure genius!, 26 Nov 2001
By A Customer
I have been a great fan of the Vicar of Dibley for a long ime but I have never had all the first series on video. So when this new video came along I could not believe my luck! With Dawn French in the title role as the heroic vicar of the paish of Dibley, and with her eccentric side kick, Alice, the Verger played superbly by Emma Chambers and all the other characters, with their individual mannerisms, for example Jims' dithering and Mrs Cropleys' unorthodox recipes makes this programme aa comedy classic. Truly, one of he greats! This, video containing the start of what is too be a 3-series (and two speacials) story of the lives and loves of the Dibleys' inhabitents. From Geraldines arrival, to Davd's election, and from Geraldines' service for animals to The Christmas Lunch Incident amkes this a must see video for all lovers of British Comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation, 28 April 2004
This review is from: The Vicar of Dibley - The Complete First Series [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
I didn’t watch the series on the TV and I only caught it on DVD by chance. I don’t particularly like Dawn French and I can find Richard Curtis’swriting style irritating at times. So, can you please explain why I nowadore the Vicar of Dibley?
Every episode is a gem and all the characters are well constructed,loveable and above all – well acted. They are so good in fact, that Inever once associated Roger Lloyd Pack’s Farmer Owen Newitt, with hisprevious incarnation as Trigger, in Only Fools and Horses.
Intended or otherwise, this series does have a message. I personally foundthe episode ‘Animals’ very moving, and hilarious.
Should you buy this DVD? No no no no no no no no no no YES. Oh yesindeed!
Amen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Dibley poisoner does her rounds" Take a dose of comedy!, 22 Nov 2003
the first and the best of the Vicar of Dibley! A video packed to the brim with seven episodes including the arrival of the hilarious vicar Geri played by Dawn French. Turning her church into a animal shelter when she gives a service to the animals of service must make her one of the most original vicars ever to exist. Then there is the unmissable 'Christmas Lunch Incident!' Here the Vicar finds herself accepting three different christmas lunch invitations but you'll have to wait and see just how many she can get down. This is a must for every dibley fan that will have you falling off your seat for hours! Don't miss out on this treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "That wasn't the Great Storm...that was the great wind!", 29 Nov 2004
By 
S. Murray "Nurse_Sooz" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vicar of Dibley - The Complete First Series [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This has all the episodes your looking for i can bet. Even the Christmas Lunch episode, everyone's favourite! Other episodes include "The Window", "The Village Fair" and the very first episode where geraldine first arrives.
You will NOT be dissapointed if you buy this video/dvd. Brilliant for popping on for an afternoon or just watching an occasional episode. And for Christmas you have the Christmas episode right at your fingertips!
Buy it, you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone for a slice of MARMITE CAKE????, 11 May 2003
By 
Mr Thomas Goodwin (Healesville, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Vicar of Dibley - The Complete First Series [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
It is difficult to express just how gorgeous this show is. It really represents the kind of simple and endearing lifestyle a lot of us crave. The characters are each so lovable and hilarious in their own unique way. But I'd have to say (besides our most excellent Vicar played by none other than Dawn French herself) that Letitia Cropley gets me chuckling with her less than apetizing, yet wonderfully creative recipes and her novel approach to flower arranging. I must try that peanut and anchovy sandwich filling or perhaps a lovely tripe salad with marmite cake for dessert. Mmmmm!!! Some of my most enjoyable and relaxing weekends entail watching a few episodes of Vicar with a hot cuppa. If only you could get the 2nd and 3rd series on DVD also - hopefully it will happen soon - because lets face it, who wants to rewind and fast forward tapes these days?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bless BBC for this peerless Vicar and more, 4 Dec 2001
This review is from: The Vicar of Dibley - The Complete First Series [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Can't get enough of it. Beautifully produced (an Ab Fab Jon Plowman's imprint), a joy to the ears, a joy to the eyes, extraordinarily well acted and directed, and -- yes, of course! --very, very funny, this endearing series will cast the strongest spell on you. Not a single weak link in the tremendous supporting cast and then -- praise the Lord! -- there's gloriously intense comedian Dawn French at the height of her powers in the title role; her entrance a thrill, witness, witness. Mind you, I live in Brazil where both players and TV sets are incompatible with UK's Region 2 PAL DVD's -- or are they? Actually, with a very simple setup trick (no hardware changes involved), I managed to have them all spinning...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've watched it 10 times and counting...., 28 Jan 2002
By A Customer
The vicar of Dibley video had me laughing for hours on end. I've watched the video over 10 times now and I never get bored. Classic, feel-good episodes including the Arrival, Community spirit (the Autmn Fayre episode featuring Kylie Minogue) and the Christmas Lunch incident. I'm off to buy the series 2 video..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, enjoyable and loved the jokes feature at the end, 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Vicar of Dibley - The Complete First Series [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved being able to see the hole series again, in order and I loved the special feature with the jokes that the Vicar tells. If your a Dawn French Fan it is a must have. It is so nice to be able to jump from one episode to the other with out the hassel of rewinding. A very good buy and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great addition to the video library of any Dibley fan., 18 July 2000
By 
Contents of video: 1. The Christmas Lunch Incident. 2. The easter Bunny. 3. Engagement. The antics of the Vicar of Dibley, played by Dawn French, are as funny as ever in this specials edition video, which shows possibly three of the best ever shows. It is certainly a 'must have' addition to the video library of any Dibley fan. Watch as the Vicar's plans for a quiet, chocolate-ful Christmas Day are uprooted by more than one invitation to Christmas Lunch; How she takes to wearing a rabbit costume; And how she manages to pursuade Alice and Hugo to share their first kiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best - but where are the bunnies?, 27 Mar 2002
By 
Benjamin Hampson (Melbourne, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Vicar of Dibley - The Complete First Series [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Without doubt, one of the funniest situation comedies of all time. Unlike many, this series does not become tedious after repeated viewings. Always fresh, always funny and always a pleasure.
You may ask why I have only given this DVD four stars. Well, I am bemused that there is no sign of The Easter Bunny special which chronologically should fit between the first series and the Christmas Lunch Incident. Any self-respecting fan will know exactly what I am talking about, so I shan't give away a major plot detail. Very disresepectful to Letitia, that is all I will say...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vicar of Dibley - The Complete First Series [1994] [DVD]
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews