Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Classic but a Pleasant Enough Comedy
Fools Rush in is like a Mexican version of "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" with a dash of "Along Came Polly" thrown in, although it actually predates both of these movies by several years. Blue-blooded Manhattan-based New Englander, Alex Whitman (Matthew Perry), gets feisty Mexican, Isabel Fuentes (Salma Hayek) pregnant during a one-night stand when he is sent to Las Vegas to...
Published on 3 April 2005 by Seamus Martin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute film
I like both the lead actors so I am biased. Not a huge amount of depth to the film but it is enjoyable.
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by andym


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Classic but a Pleasant Enough Comedy, 3 April 2005
By 
Seamus Martin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fools Rush In [DVD] (DVD)
Fools Rush in is like a Mexican version of "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" with a dash of "Along Came Polly" thrown in, although it actually predates both of these movies by several years. Blue-blooded Manhattan-based New Englander, Alex Whitman (Matthew Perry), gets feisty Mexican, Isabel Fuentes (Salma Hayek) pregnant during a one-night stand when he is sent to Las Vegas to build a night club. After a mystifying post-coital disappearance, she re-appears three months later to announce her condition.

Following their spur of the moment wedding at a Las Vegas chapel with an Elvis impersonator as their witness, there ensues much predictable mayhem and comic intimidation at the hands of Isabel's father, brothers and ex-fiancé. Fire is added to the flames when Whitman's straight-laced parents, who know nothing of the marriage, turn up unannounced. Isabel's volatile temperament and disagreements over whether to live in Las Vegas or New York add to the mix.

"Fools Rush In" is hardly a must-see, but it is a pleasant enough way to while away an evening. And Elvis fans will enjoy the soundtrack. As for the technical aspects of the DVD itself, the makers have been pretty miserly - minimal extra features and no expanded or deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...WHERE ANGELS FEAR TO TREAD, 24 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a delightful romantic comedy. Matthew Perry is a charming, self-effacing leading man. Salma Hayek is a most fetching and winsome leading lady. Strong performances by the supporting cast help make this a most enjoyable movie.
Alex Whitman (Matthew Perry) lives in New York and has a high powered job as a field agent for a builder that specializes in the construction of night clubs. He is sent to Las Vegas to supervise new construction. While there, he meets a fiery, latin beaty, Isabel Fuentes (Salma Hayek), with whom he has a very memorable one night stand. This is totally out of character for both of them. In fact, she is so embarrassed by what happened, that she sneaks out of his house first thing in the morning. Before he even knows it, she is gone, never to be heard from again, until she shows up on his door step three months later to announce that she is pregnant with his baby.
Alex tells her that he supports her right to choose. Isabel chooses to have the baby. She asks nothing from him other than he meet her family, so that it is not such a shock when she announces that she is pregnant. He agrees to do so. He meets her traditional, Mexican-American family and is taken by their warmth, a quality that is sorely lacking in his family. He rarely sees his own family, except for the obligatory holidays, while Isabel meets hers once a week for dinner.
Alex and Isabel fall in love and have a quickie marriage ceremony performed in Las Vegas. Naturally, as they are now husband and wife. they move in together. Then, reality sets in. They contend with cultural difference, with pain in the you know what in-laws, and with the every day adjustments necessary, when living with someone one does not, as yet, know. Then, the trust that had developed is violated, and they each go their own separate ways.
What happens with the baby? Does the marriage survive? Watch the movie and find out. The experience will be an enjoyable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 23 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fools Rush In [DVD] (DVD)
Just watch it. This is romcom at it's best. Loved it. Both leading actors are excellent. Good script. Funny. Moving. But, although all romcom (largely) is formulaic, this has heart. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, feel good movie, even for the cynics amongst us!, 15 Oct 2000
By A Customer
All the reviews state the same. It's a great light-hearted movie with an exceptional soundtrack. Even if you're not into "Friends". Matthew Perry comes over well as a guy who suddenly has to face not only responsibility, in the name of parenthood, but a new family from a totally different culture. ... Don't take it seriously just enjoy the movie and the soundtrack. It's a feel good movie in a rather cynical world! The actors involved do credit to the movie. What else is there to say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel Good Film.., 8 April 2010
By 
S. E. Wainwright (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fools Rush In [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't seen Matthew Perry in anything other than 'Friends' and wasn't a big fan of the series, but when I first saw this film on TV and enjoyed it thoroughly, I thought he'd been wasted in the series..
They couldn't have gotten anyone better paired off than Matthew Perry and Salma Hayek in this film, as the old saying 'opposites attract' is the perfect adage..
The film although a romance, had its moments. (see the sketch in the desert, with the brothers and his arrival home, - put me off cactus for life!)
It was also nice to see more to Las Vegas than casinos as the outlying countryside as the film progressed, was outstanding..
Up to date, I've watched it at least half a dozen times..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 5 July 2000
By A Customer
A good light entertainment film. Nothing exceptional but a very enjoyable film to watch. Matthew Perry is probably one of the better "Freinds" actors to go from the series to a Film. Most of the other "Friends" cast, just seem to be them selves playing another role, where as Matthew Perry acts very well in this film and you don't just think of him as Chandler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a sweet film, 12 April 2005
This review is from: Fools Rush In [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film quite a few years ago now but still love it as much as I did the first time I watched it. I find it hard to see Mathew Perry as anyone other than ' Chandler from Friends' but this film helped me to see him in a different light. Although the film is a comedy it is easy to see the more serious side to it. It's nice to see a flim deal with some realistic matters for once and still be able to see the funny side.
I think that Mathew Perry and Salma Hayek make a fantastic combination for this film, their performance is really touching. They make a fantastic pair.
I'd recomend this film to all the fans out there of ' Feel Good' films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Love is a gift..., 11 Feb 2014
This review is from: Fools Rush In [DVD] (DVD)
Alex Whitman is a New Yorker sent to Las Vegas to oversee a construction project.

There he meets Isabel, and some serious chemistry brings them together for one night.

But Alex doesn't see Isabel again until three months later, when he learns she is pregnant.

On a whim and prayer, he proposes.

However, there's more to marriage than a Vegas chapel and an Elvis impersonator, as Alex and Isabel soon learn......

I can imagine the producers saying to Perry on the first day of filming 'just be Chandler, everyone loves Chandler', and that is what he does, not because he has no other range but because the makers know that people of a certain age will relate to him, and see the film because of his success in Friends.

And thats wherein the problem lies. The vehicle isn't for Perry, it's for Chandler, and in my opinion, he is the most annoying one from that series.

So thank heavens for Hayek, who shows here that she isn't just beautiful, but she can carry a film and make it that little more interesting when shes on screen.

The story is amiable enough and quite sweet, but it's nothing we haven't seen before, and we will see plenty of them again.

It's pretty forgettable stuff, which is a shame, because Hayek is great..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fools Rush In [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films I have ever seen. Great price too. Excellent value for money and very entertaining too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good movie, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fools Rush In [DVD] (DVD)
this was a very good movie with a few twists and turns. perry ends up having a one night stand with hayek, but it comes to nothing as she disappears, much to his disappointment as he wanted to get to know her. She then turns up later in his life to say she is pregnant, and it comes as a bit of a shock to him, but then to help her out he visits her dad under the pretence he is engaged to her, which eventually happens as he starts to care about her and they fall in love. There are afew ups and downs during the movie which I will not mention but hopefully I've provided you with enough to want to watch the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4384630)

This product

Fools Rush In [DVD]
Fools Rush In [DVD] by Anne Betancourt (DVD - 2004)
3.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews