Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cut and Paste Hip-Hop that has to be heard to appreciate
The follow up to How To Cut and Paste Volume 1 improves in everyway to it's impressive predecessor, mixing classic hip-hop with tv and film theme tunes and some downright crazy samples into one of the best mixes on CD.
This album is really light hearted, and easy to listen for Hip-Hop fans and newbies alike. All the hip-hop tracks featured are excellent (personal...
Published on 6 Jan 2003 by J. R. Weetman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
This DJ Yoda mix didn't grab me as I'd hoped. Bought 'Adventures of DJ Yoda' more recently however, and that is superb!
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Mr. L. A. Woolley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cut and Paste Hip-Hop that has to be heard to appreciate, 6 Jan 2003
This review is from: How To Cut And Paste Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
The follow up to How To Cut and Paste Volume 1 improves in everyway to it's impressive predecessor, mixing classic hip-hop with tv and film theme tunes and some downright crazy samples into one of the best mixes on CD.
This album is really light hearted, and easy to listen for Hip-Hop fans and newbies alike. All the hip-hop tracks featured are excellent (personal favourites being Quid Control and the Outstanding C.R.E.A.M.) and mix in well to the other parts of the album. There are displays of Yoda's incredible skills on the wheels of steel (Yoda meets the A-Team), funny 'remixes' (Billie Holiday and George Formby Turntabilised), Retro Sampling Mish-Mashes (Creatures, Breakin' and Names + Cucumbers, Needles, Sandwiches and Jazz) and some genre bending minimixes (On The Reggae-Lar part 2 + Yoda's 80's Pop Megamix). Overall, an outstanding album that everyone should hear at least once - it will amaze you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCCccccrrraattttcchhhiiinn', 28 April 2005
This review is from: How To Cut And Paste Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
DJ Yoda was voted one of the top ten DJ's you must see before you die by Q magazine. I dont know about that, but i do know this album started my obssession with "turntablism" as it is known. I've loved Hip-hop for years and then i came across "How to cut and paste vol.2" and heard "DJ YODA meets the A-Team". If god could make a perfect song and lace it with a perfect amount of perfectly timed scracthes and cuts it would sound like this. Dj Yoda is the British master of the turntable. The only people in the UK with an equal amount of class are Cassette boy, Dan greenpeace and DJ Format. Buy this CD listen to it...your ears will thank you. Listen to track.7 and the George Formby Turntablised track and you will wonder how you ever lived without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's back again, 11 Nov 2003
By 
Michael Jacobs - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Cut And Paste Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
DJ Yoda's original "How to Cut and Paste" was fantastic. How on earth could the next offering match it?
Well it hasn't matched it - it has exceeded its predecesor's excellence and is the best in the series. It has the perfect strangeness of those 1950s samples, funky reggae, modern rap and a fantastic 1980s pop megamix.
Owning all of his other albums, this is the role model and is perfct, thus I can not criticise it whatsoever - and it really does lead by example.
So, if you are unsure whether to buy it or not, I don't recommend but I demand you do so as it really is a fantastic album and after listening over a few times, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. L. A. Woolley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Cut And Paste Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
This DJ Yoda mix didn't grab me as I'd hoped. Bought 'Adventures of DJ Yoda' more recently however, and that is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 2 Nov 2003
This review is from: How To Cut And Paste Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I am a great fan of mix tapes around at the moment. 2manydjs , coldcut etc... but this doesnt quite cut the mustard for me. For sheer novelty value it should be listened to, but other than that its painful to listen to and some of it makes you cringe. The fact that 'dj yoda' keeps cutting in his name every 10 seconds puts you off what he is trying to do somewhat.
I havent heard vol.1 so i can't compare the two, but this isnt great. go buy 2manydj's instead or better yet, create a mix of your own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 1 or Volume 2 - I can't decide its up to you, 11 Sep 2003
By 
D. Bower "dannybgoode" (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Cut And Paste Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I bought Vol 2 first just on the off chance that it was good and boy was it!! I then hunted down Vol 1 and eagerly dashed home to give it spin and I must say I was disappointed.
I listened again and was still not happy, then I played it at a friends house, then at home again and so on. After much listening I now think that Vol 1 just has the edge. Its darker, more bad boy, more hip-hop. Delta ebonics is a fantastic track as is sesame sex.
Don't get me wrong Vol 2 is fantastic - more humorous, more light hearted, more fun. I think Vol 2 might just have the edge.
Just buy them both and listen to them both - lots. You won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Cut And Paste Vol. 2
How To Cut And Paste Vol. 2 by DJ Yoda (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews