Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not embarassed to be a Journey fan, 12 Oct. 2007
By 
Red Rob "Red Rob" (Blackpool, Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
Ask your average muso/journalist/critic what they think of Journey and they'll most likely smirk and refuse to dignify your question with an answer.

'Serious' music fans couldn't possibly admit that they like the middle-of-the-road, anthemic American crap that Journey so obviously represent.

Of course, Radiohead, Oasis, Pixies, Arctic Monkeys, The Smiths and numerous other bands have got the 'thumbs up' from the gods of cool music, but as far as I'm concerned, they can all go and stick their opinions where the sun doesn't shine!

I don't want to sit in internet chatrooms discussing what the lyrics of a certain song mean. I don't want to read some pretentious review of how existentialism, Picasso and fish fingers have obviously had an influence on a band's output.

No, Journey's lyrics aren't profound. No, the band never received an Ivor Novello. No, they would never have been nominated for the Mercury Prize. So what?

Sometimes I just want to hear some good music that I can let go to. Music that sounds great when you're in the car, the windows are down and the sun is shining. Music that felt good when I was 14 and feels just as good now.

I like Oasis, The Pixies and Radiohead, but I LOVE THIS!

Don't stop believing, fashionistas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - Britain has missed out on this Amazing Rock Band, 1 July 2004
By 
Niall "aniallator" (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
After being introduced to Journey through one of their best songs - "Don't Stop Believing" - featuring in an episode of Scrubs (Series 3, Episode 2 - My Journey), I sampled a few songs from the net. After realising how damn good this stuff was, I just had to buy it!
The Essential Journey is a collection of superb tunes that fit in with the superb Rock Era of the late 70's-80's. Steve Perry delivers fantastic vocals, while the mouthwateringly groovy guitar solos feed your ears with some of the best Rock I have ever heard.
For all of my life, I have been an avid Genesis fan and couldn't get enough of the classic rock Era (with the great Phil Collins). All of this time wondering what the hell America had produced during the same revolution in music. Now my question has finally been answered!
This album compilation zooms right to the top of my collection to sit beside the multiple Genesis albums I own.
One of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Collection, 9 Aug. 2007
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
Everything you ever wanted from Steve Perry and Journey is here in this excellent double collection. Steve Perry has been a favourite of mine since the early 80's and always sounded good on his own with the likes of his album Street Talk. Put him with Journey and you will think you are in Musical Paradise, absoutely superb, one for your Best Of collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T MISS THIS JOURNEY!, 27 Jan. 2002
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
An excellant album that will replace your greatest hits collection and album tracks to cover all tastes and keep most Journey fans reasonably happy with the songs chosen for the cd. The only fault been that they left off 'Why can't this night go on forever' which would have finished the cd off.
This essential Journey will prove Journey are probably the best (underated in Britain) rock bands ever.
Buy this and give your greatest hits cd away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey - A must have collection, 10 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
Bought this on the strength of one track, "Who's Crying Now", so much played on radio and so over-used on those freebie compilations with the Sunday Papers.
This is no one-hit wonder. This is great stuff. Pure 1980s indulgence rock. Big sound, epic melodies. I have always loved groups like Asia, but this is easily as good, if not better.
And Steve's vocals - distinct and range fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Americanos, 12 Oct. 2003
By 
Mr. S. Colbert "seannewty" (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
This is a great collection of songs and prfectly showcases Journey as one of the best acts of their genre. American AOR rock gets little better than this and this album serves as agreat introduction to one of the best bands and voices America has produced !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey You Don't Wanna Miss, 12 Jan. 2002
By 
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
An exellent collection of all the best Journey songs. From the classics such as Don't stop beliving and Wheel In the sky this album will get you wanting to buy every possible Journey Album. With Steve Perry on volcals(who will blow you away) you will never want to stop playing this album.A must have for anyone who likes good rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T STOP BELIEVIN', 24 April 2002
By 
petewig (CHESHIRE,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
This set of songs sums up the excellent talents of a high class rock band, a must for the journey fan or people that like amazing rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My slightly bumpy Journey, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
There is no doubting the well produced and professional big sound of Journey. They soar through this double collection with ease, the supreme vocals adding to the exhilarating overall rock sound.

I was never into Journey, really, though but can appreciate both the songwriting qualities of such as Don't Stop Believin' and so, I bought this collection in order that I didn't miss out too much.

To my ear and taste, though there is just a hint of formula, or at least the way the songs come across. A very successful one, admittedly, but ideally, I'd prefer a bit more variety in style and tempo.

I still enjoyed playing this album again though, but not quite getting top score, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every song top notch, bar one..top, top, rock., 22 Dec. 2008
This review is from: The Essential Journey (2CD) (Audio CD)
Exactly, where has dear old blighty been when this superb front rank rock band were doing their stuff, it's incredible! With, literally, only one below par song (america or any other nations' rock bands should never EVER do reggae inspired songs,PERIOD!!!!!!!!!) baby I'm gona leave you, no other rock artists' can pull out 32 or so songs of top quality on any greatest hits collection, and it is superb for long bike rides as well.Great emotion in rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Journey (2CD)
The Essential Journey (2CD) by Journey (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews