Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Crisis 2..........Quality!!!
I used to spend hours on this game at the arcade costing a pound a time and have long awaited for it`s release on the PS2.
With the GunCon in hand this game is superb,and it delivers that happy, satisfying feeling of owning an quality arcade game right in your own home.
Namco have always in my opinion produced high quality ports to consoles. Everything from the...
Published on 18 Oct. 2001 by MR J A STRANGE

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too short!
This is a very good game, make no mistake. It was bought as a gift to a mature gamer (me @ 37) this Christmas. After a few dodgy starts its easy to get the hang of it, there is no randomness in each game, I mean the baddies always appear at the same place at the same time exactly. I have completed the game straight through on 'easy level' and am now starting to complete...
Published on 6 Jan. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Crisis 2..........Quality!!!, 18 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I used to spend hours on this game at the arcade costing a pound a time and have long awaited for it`s release on the PS2.
With the GunCon in hand this game is superb,and it delivers that happy, satisfying feeling of owning an quality arcade game right in your own home.
Namco have always in my opinion produced high quality ports to consoles. Everything from the Tekken and Soul Calibur games to the light-gun games themselves have always been good-looking, fast, fun, and packed with extras for the home versions.Time Crisis 2 is no exception. It's packed with extra bits, mini-games, and what not.
The game itself involves the usual mastermind criminals who want to take over the world (hmmm, same old story, and very corny at times), and you and a gang of van damme look-a-likes are there to stop them. As in the first game the second player, who can be controlled by the computer or your mate, fights by your side.
The game seems to be a straight port of the arcade game (Story, or Mission Select), but now has an added four mini games, Agent Trainer, Quick & Crash, Shoot Away 2, and Crisis Mission.
There is even a two-player mode, which enables players to either play a smooth and fun split-screen mode, or an I.Link version, which involves two PS2s, aint tried this one yet and probably won`t get to!
The short end of it is that Time Crisis II is a decent looking game that really isn't so much about stunning graphics, volumetric fog, or stunning backdrops, It looks good, and the things it does graphically, such as creating shattering glass, throwing tons of moving characters on screen at once all of which shoot, duck, roll, and which actually grab the part of their body that's hit, it does very well!
I will be on this for a long time to come, it`s a must buy, especially at the price of the game and GunCon pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF THE BEST..., 3 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
well this games certanly worth its pay for a start,having got this beuty for my birthday little did I know it would be the best I've ever played in my short life. By compairing time crisis II with the arcade original I noticed better graphics were on the ps2's side (shocking huh?). Now about the game, I find it has A LOT to unlock, this game is one of those rare automatically moving character games. There's even a level where you ride in a boat chasing other boats downstream. The generous members of namco even bothered to squeeze in a hide teqnique!! also they've added a 2 player mode (the only bad point of this is the lack of graphics and a minute screen to each play on ). you can also pick up machine guns to use throughout the gameplay but they dont last long. BUY THIS GAME IT MUST BE ADDED TO YOUR COLLECTION....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 22 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I, like many of you reading this, have played numerous shoot 'em up's and seen these converted to console with varying degrees of enthusiasm. Time Crisis 2 is one of those i've been eagerly awaiting, and now finally have. I got the one with the new G-con2 light gun included. The game itself has been souped up graphically and is extreemely addictive. You also get a much wider range of weaponry that the arcade version, or even the original Time Crisis. These include shotgun and machine gun. you can also play with double gun mode, either by yourself or with a mate. The best bit though are the extra games. Theres a basic target practice range, a carnival like shooting game, and shoot away 2, another coin-op conversion which is basically clay pidgeon shooting. This however has an extra mode, all 3D with fantastic graphics, and in itself is really addicitve. The final extra is the Crisis Mission, which is basically a single mission with a single objective to be completed within a time limit. These are great, they take place on a daily basis, with 6 missions per day, and 5 days worth of mission. This equals pleanty of enjoyment and longevity of play. Overall a great looking title and an essential for every PS2 owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, tad too short, 28 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Wow the first time you pick up Time Crisis 2 you are immeadiatly sucked in by the speed, excitement and the whole fun factor which comes with playin a game of this sort. Everyone who played this game on coin-op thought it was great, even though some prefered House of Dead 2.
As soon as you lose your lives and continues the first time around you will be immeadiatly gagging for another go. This fun factor does hold up, but in time it will fade. Most gamers wont have too many problems completing this game, as you find that the majority of enemy fire never actually hits you, and you will find yourself losing health due to large blasts and falling objects etc.
Perhaps this game needs to be fully enjoyed on a large screen television and maybe it wont work as well on a small screen bedroom tv. Whatever you have avaliable to you, this game is a blast and well worth the money if you were a fan of the coin-op. Perhaps its not so good if you prefer longer games (tc2 has 3 levels, each in 3 stages). This isnt a game of Final Fantasy 10 length by any stretch, but its fun all the same. Its one of those you may love or hate, but I feel that there isnt much more fun than coming home and pulling out the light gun for a bit of crazy shooting fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too short!, 6 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a very good game, make no mistake. It was bought as a gift to a mature gamer (me @ 37) this Christmas. After a few dodgy starts its easy to get the hang of it, there is no randomness in each game, I mean the baddies always appear at the same place at the same time exactly. I have completed the game straight through on 'easy level' and am now starting to complete each of the 3 stages at hard or very hard levels. All I can do now is reduce my number of lives from the max of 4. I must say I've enjoyed this game tremendously, but it would be nice if it went a little further. I have cancelled the 2x G-Con2's since i'm sure it would be far too easy with a gun. Very good game, but a bit too short for the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Light gun essential!, 1 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I absolutely adore arcade conversions and this was no acception to the others. This was the one that brought down the house. It was stunning, the graphics were severely polished the game play was a lot faster and the action lasted a lifetime. This will always be one of the fav's cause you don't get any better than this light gun game apart from time crisis 3.
Best light gun game for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Crisis 2, 4 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
A breif synopsis:You play the role of Keith Martin a V.S.S.E agent with your sidekick Robert Baxter and they together try to stop neodyne launching a nuclear weapon and rescue Agent Christy Ryan along with the information she collects.While trying to do all this time is not on your side!The gameplay is brilliant with a G-Con 2 they are just so accurate.The game is just like the arcade version with cutting edge graphics and fast gameplay.It is much better than Time crisis project titan.One of the bad points is the length of the game,but there are a few difficulty levels to try.Overall this is an excellent game.A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Crisis 2, 10 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Had this game since december. Its a game where you start off real bad (shooting air), to head shots galore. An excellent game a little to short for the actual game, but the extra games (especially the crisis mission extra game) will certainly keep you occupied. One of the best light gun games at the moment.
Advice: Get a good light gun (nothing cheap), it really does affect the gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Crisis 2..........Quality!!!, 18 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I used to spend hours on this game at the arcade costing a pound a time and have long awaited for it`s release on the PS2.
With the GunCon in hand this game is superb,and it delivers that happy, satisfying feeling of owning an quality arcade game right in your own home.
Namco have always in my opinion produced high quality ports to consoles. Everything from the Tekken and Soul Calibur games to the light-gun games themselves have always been good-looking, fast, fun, and packed with extras for the home versions.Time Crisis 2 is no exception. It's packed with extra bits, mini-games, and what not.
The game itself involves the usual mastermind criminals who want to take over the world (hmmm, same old story, and very corny at times), and you and a gang of van damme look-a-likes are there to stop them. As in the first game the second player, who can be controlled by the computer or your mate, fights by your side.
The game seems to be a straight port of the arcade game (Story, or Mission Select), but now has an added four mini games, Agent Trainer, Quick & Crash, Shoot Away 2, and Crisis Mission.
There is even a two-player mode, which enables players to either play a smooth and fun split-screen mode, or an I.Link version, which involves two PS2s, aint tried this one yet and probably won`t get to!
The short end of it is that Time Crisis II is a decent looking game that really isn't so much about stunning graphics, volumetric fog, or stunning backdrops, It looks good, and the things it does graphically, such as creating shattering glass, throwing tons of moving characters on screen at once all of which shoot, duck, roll, and which actually grab the part of their body that's hit, it does very well!
I will be on this for a long time to come, it`s a must buy, especially at the price of the game and GunCon pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lack of Time - Crisis!, 22 Oct. 2001
By 
Cheapside (Lhan-dun, Engerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time Crisis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
There's nothing quite as embarrassing to play as a light gun game. Think - you're pointing a brightly coloured plastic gun at a screen and, if the games any good, you start to bob and weave, hoping to avoid incoming shots. And in this department, Time Crisis 2 is very good indeed.
While it lasts, the action is full-on throwing yourself-behind-the-sofa to avoid shots whilst your mates laugh at you. What's more, you can get a mate to join you in a frenetic 2 player mode (although, we always end up taking more damage from each other than the enemy!) and if that wasn't enough, there's a John Woo esque two gun option that allows one player to use..well.. two guns.
Good ideas although I have some reservations - simultaneous two players (on the same console) makes the split screen very small. You can link two consoles but that brings the old 2 TVs/Consoles/Copies of the game argument up. And two guns mode means you have to press the reload buttons on both guns at the same time. Which is fine if you have guns with pedals, or an extra arm. Minor complaints in the scheme of things, I know - but worth mentioning.
I guess the major complaint is longevity. In my book, you shouldn't be able to complete a game the day you buy it, which I did on Story Mode (the main game) - it's a complaint that stems from the short coin-op. 3 levels each with three separate areas in, not the longest game in the world. That said, the developers have tried to make up for that with a number of sub-games; agent training etc, very similar to Confidential Mission on the DC. There's also a couple of retro-style "party games".
Graphically and soundwise, it's clear that the game has come a long way from it's predecessor - in fact, I would say that the PS2 version really does rival the Coin-op.
The long and short of it is that it's a good fun blast - literally. There's a lot of extra's to keep you coming back for more. It's the kind of game that really comes into it's own with a few mates and some beers. If you're unsure about the longevity or style, check out the coin-op first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Crisis 2 (PS2)
Time Crisis 2 (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£9.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews