Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package.
I see that Amazon have been merging review lists of movies with any similarity in the name, making a complete mess of product identification, so please note that this review applies to the 2-DISK SPECIAL EDITION DVD SET.

Of course I love the movie - it's in my all-time top ten, probably because of the noir visuals, the sly character and dialogue of Harry Lime,...
Published on 15 Aug. 2011 by D. Milne

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Studio Canal Third Man Blu-ray
Pretty disappointing Blu-ray of the Third Man. Not any better in quality really than my DVD copy or the version shown on digital television in the United States by Turner Classic Movies via digital cable. Picture quite lacking in contrast, very bland, no different from many other old black and white unrestored films shown on cable TV. Certainly didn't look like a HD...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Mandog


‹ Previous | 112 13 1417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another one to watch before you die!
And teh Zimmer music will drive you crazy adn you will be humming it for weeks after wards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good film, just purchased this for someone else recently as a birthday gift. Very good film for me and one that is getting rare now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VALUE, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could watch this over and over again. Needed it for a project, so price was important. Background information was useful as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars flic, 22 Nov. 2012
By 
B. Swindell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great to have this great film on a blu ray. and great that it arrived in good time to the right place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always a hit, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for a friends birthday. What can I say? It's a classic and he loved it. A big hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third Man [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
fINE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sentimental purchase after a trip to Vienna & a ride on the carousel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, amusing and mesmeric, 23 Jan. 2010
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I was getting used to watching this film I thought, another black and white film which is overpraised. It starts off as an odd mixture of comedy and intrigue. But as I got into it, I could see its genius: the wonderful sense of place, the sudden surprises, the ghoulish and entertaining characters who were Harry Lime's friends.

And then Harry himself, bursting with charisma. And interwoven in all this is a very dark edge, which, for us, like Holly Martens, has to be drummed in by a visit to the hospital. Trevor Howard is so classy, Orson Welles is incredible. This film filled me with admiration for Graham Greene - his script is brilliant. It manages to be quintessentially English and Austrian at the same time. A classic film of a unique time and place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance to the zither, 7 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful movie. Thank goodness for Blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Third Man [DVD] [1949]
The Third Man [DVD] [1949] by Carol Reed (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: £2.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews