Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package.
I see that Amazon have been merging review lists of movies with any similarity in the name, making a complete mess of product identification, so please note that this review applies to the 2-DISK SPECIAL EDITION DVD SET.

Of course I love the movie - it's in my all-time top ten, probably because of the noir visuals, the sly character and dialogue of Harry Lime,...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by D. Milne

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Studio Canal Third Man Blu-ray
Pretty disappointing Blu-ray of the Third Man. Not any better in quality really than my DVD copy or the version shown on digital television in the United States by Turner Classic Movies via digital cable. Picture quite lacking in contrast, very bland, no different from many other old black and white unrestored films shown on cable TV. Certainly didn't look like a HD...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Mandog


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure, 4 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like a number of black and white movies from this period, Third Man is a unique and unrepeatable treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the third man, 3 Feb 2010
By 
the angel gabriel (great britain england) - See all my reviews
this was bought as a present for a friend in Italy who was delighted by the excellent conditions. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, amusing and mesmeric, 23 Jan 2010
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
While I was getting used to watching this film I thought, another black and white film which is overpraised. It starts off as an odd mixture of comedy and intrigue. But as I got into it, I could see its genius: the wonderful sense of place, the sudden surprises, the ghoulish and entertaining characters who were Harry Lime's friends.

And then Harry himself, bursting with charisma. And interwoven in all this is a very dark edge, which, for us, like Holly Martens, has to be drummed in by a visit to the hospital. Trevor Howard is so classy, Orson Welles is incredible. This film filled me with admiration for Graham Greene - his script is brilliant. It manages to be quintessentially English and Austrian at the same time. A classic film of a unique time and place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Lime, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the BFI's top ten films of all time and for a good reason - great cinematography - great story and great acting - packed with bonus content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
This review is from: The Third Man [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
must see classic, great price on Amazon, thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy The Criterion, 21 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The bottom line on this Studio Canal edition is simply this:

Don't bother; get the superb Criterion Blu Ray instead, it's WAY better on every front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The third man 1949, 7 Jun 2009
By 
J. Priestley (Shipley West Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD is an excellent version of Orson Welles iconic film. Delivered quickly & courteously, no complaints at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great classic., 3 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't yet found time to watch this particular DVD though I have,of course,seen this film quite a few times in the past.I am especially pleased with the generous extra features as this is a welcome bonus and a growing trend when old films are re-issued.I haven't seen these yet either but look forward to that.Another thing I like about this film is that it was made(surely?)in still war-damaged Vienna rather than on location somewhere which resembles what the original ought to have looked like.Sorry if this hardly constitutes a review but there can't be many people who don't know this film if only by its reputation.And I like the completely appropriate appearance of this DVD and its slipcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 9 Oct 2009
By 
R. A. Starczewski "r1ckster" (surrey/england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
for me in the history of movie making this goes down as one of the all time classics. Whilst he didn't direct it you can see Orson Welles influence all over the film which was actually directed by Carol Reed. Even the music has become a bit of a landmark. Masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Third Man [DVD] [1949]
The Third Man [DVD] [1949] by Carol Reed (DVD - 2002)
£19.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews