Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DONOVAN'S 2nd UK Album Remastered & Bolstered Up With 6 Superb Extras!
Released in October 1965, Donovan's 2nd album for Pye Records is represented here by Tracks 1 to 12 and it's something of a lost Sixties Folk/Rock classic.

The album's opener "Colours" is a balls-to-the-wall 60's classic - it truly is. "Fairytale" features a lot of tracks like that - just Donovan and his acoustic guitar - more Folk than Pop really.
In...
Published on 6 Jan 2008 by Mark Barry

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia is not what it was.
I bought this out of curiosity,not having heard any Donovan for over forty years. I used to like him a lot, but judgements made during drunken student life are likely to change. The music and his voice are pleasant if insipid, and the words lack the inspiration they one seemed to have. It was interesting to hear again, but I'm not too bothered if I never hear any more.
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by Mr. K. H. Cobb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DONOVAN'S 2nd UK Album Remastered & Bolstered Up With 6 Superb Extras!, 6 Jan 2008
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fairytale (Audio CD)
Released in October 1965, Donovan's 2nd album for Pye Records is represented here by Tracks 1 to 12 and it's something of a lost Sixties Folk/Rock classic.

The album's opener "Colours" is a balls-to-the-wall 60's classic - it truly is. "Fairytale" features a lot of tracks like that - just Donovan and his acoustic guitar - more Folk than Pop really.
In fact, when you hear almost any track on this very hard-to-find LP, it's easy to see why Donovan was often referred to as Britain's Bob Dylan. And it wasn't just because of the similar vocal styles - they were both such good songwriters and commentators on the times.

Highlights include "The Ballad Of A Crystal Man" which is represented on this disc twice - the full album version and the edited EP version - it's a fantastically strong and emotive anti-Vietnam piece equal to anything his Bobness put out on the other side of the pond. Lyrically the other songs are equally clever and even witty too. There's a "violent hash smoker" in "Sunny Goodge Street", while a quietly sinister "Jersey Thursday" gives us sly white powder references, "on a tiny piece of coloured glass, my love was born - and reds, and golds and yellows were the colours of the dawn..." Oh yeah!!

The extras (13 to 18) also make the purchase so worthwhile for fans. "Turquoise" and "Hey GYP (Dig The Slowness)" are his 3rd 7" single for Pye Records and both tracks are non-album. The last four songs, "Universal Soldier", "Do You Hear Me Now", "Ballad Of A Crystal Man" and "The War Drags On" are again non-album and make up the 4-tracks of the rare UK-only "Universal Soldier EP" from September 1965. ("Universal Soldier" and "Do You Hear Me Now" were released as a 7" in the States on Hickory).

So - a good album bolstered up with relevant bonuses. And the remastered sound quality on all is excellent too - very clear and not excessively hissy like some Sixties recordings can be.

"Fairytale" is a snip at any price for fans and a great way of discovering the wildly underrated Donovan for the uninitiated - especially those who want to veer away from his better-known hits. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soul-searching folk, 7 July 2006
By 
Martyn - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fairytale (Audio CD)
Early Donovan album on which for the large part he sings accompanied only by his own excellent guitar-playing and poignant harmonica.

People often credit Dylan and Joan Baez with writing the best protest songs of the '60s, but there are some excellent examples of Donovan's own contributions here, not least 'Ballad of a Crystal Man'. It's also important to point out that Donovan's singing, songwriting and playing style are very much his own and i've always thought the Dylan comparisons superficial and a bit like saying the Stones sounded just like the Beatles.

There are some wonderful songs here about freedom of spirit, love and the reality of finding love and fighting for it in difficult circumstances.

'I'll try for the sun' is a truly touching song which will stay with you for a long time. 'Circus of sour' is a surreal and amusing detour, and 'Summer day reflection song' is a psychedelic classic. Meanwhile 'Colours' is one of the most uplifting songs of the '60s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairytale: Donovan - Sunshine songs for sunshine people, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (Audio CD)
This 1965 album, recorded for Pye, was the second of Donovan's career, and the second he released in that year. It finds Donovan in a pensive, reflective mood but edging towards the slightly psychedelic style he would later be noted for. Clearly influenced by Bob Dylan, it contains a share of songs that aim at social commentary in a simple guitar/singer/songwriter folk style, along with a few simple love songs and some rather interesting ballads. The opening track, the delightful `Colours', is one of his best works. A simple, understated love song it has long been a firm favourite of mine. The album then meanders and meditates on the world, sometimes with a sense of naive awe and joy, sometimes with a darkly cynical edge. But always with a great tune and lyric. The original album closed with `The Little Tin Soldier' and `The Ballad of Geraldine', two tales that border on the twee (especially tin soldier), but are sung with such conviction that they really work rather well. It's an excellent album.

The re-issue is excellent. Great remastering, interesting extras (a contemporary EP, with the classic `Universal Soldier') and single) that add to the programme and a great set of liner notes. It's a great place for people to start their classic Donovan collection. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairy?, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (MP3 Download)
There are some iconic tracks on this album, and I always thought Donovan sang better than Dylan (to whom he was often compared). The Universal Soldier was a great anti-war song for the era and To Try for the Sun seemed a liberated gay confession .. although his strings of women seem to suggest it is not autobiographical and he was no 'fairy'! What a shame that the drugs burnt out his talent ... but this is his best album and seems to reek with 60's authenticity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete the set, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (Audio CD)
If you already have the excellent 4 Cd set Breezes of Patchouli Oil, then this completes the collection of early Donovan material, including Sunny Goodge Street, Universal Soldier, Little Tin Soldier and Candy Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music., 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (Audio CD)
Never been a Donovan fan but remembered this title from long ago so gave it a try.
Really good words and guitar playing, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UK's Bob Dylan???, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Schoales Martin (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (Audio CD)
To compare Donovan to Bob Dylan doesn't do justice to Donovan. His unique style, political message or just simply his voice put him in a class of his own. If you like folk which is tinged with passion then buy Fairytale as your opening to all the other great Donovan songs. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fairytale, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (Audio CD)
I have Donovan's original Fairytale LP from the '60s and I am so pleased to have found this favourite of mine on CD. Back then Donovan was often compared to Bob Dylan, but for me Donovan's voice is much sweeter and his songs have such poetry. This is one of the few albums I have had where I have liked every track. Sounds as good to me now as it did then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hippy Heaven, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Ferret (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (MP3 Download)
I've had the vinyl LP since it came out - bought from Smiths if you please (they sold a wider range of music then, although I suppose Donovan was mainstream in the late 60s). I can't say I've played it much since - it's so much of its time (Donovan's use of the term 'negroes' in Ballad of a Crystal Man may sound quaint or even offensive now, but it was the progressive usage at the time, when the word n****rs was still not unknown). Cats and seagulls, those perennial symbols of personal freedom, feature prominently. How soon the cutting edge of rebellious stoned youth turns into ancient history. This is a great evocation of the period to say the least - a nostalgic trip (haha) for those of a certain age but also a technically proficient and accomplished performance by Donovan Leitch, who was much more than just the British Dylan (a marketing niche which the suits in the major record companies were tearing their hair out to fill). And I don't say that just because he slept on my floor once in the early 1960s - many people could make that claim! Accosted in Manchester's Albert Square one fine early - very early - morning by a suspicious plod who was not used to guitar toting hippies and said `'Ello, 'ello, what are you up to my lad?', Donovan gave the classic reply `Digging the dawn, man.' This record is the distilled essence of that attitude. And I defy anybody of a certain age not to join in the harmonies after a few small sherries... Fairytale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia is not what it was., 7 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. K. H. Cobb (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (Audio CD)
I bought this out of curiosity,not having heard any Donovan for over forty years. I used to like him a lot, but judgements made during drunken student life are likely to change. The music and his voice are pleasant if insipid, and the words lack the inspiration they one seemed to have. It was interesting to hear again, but I'm not too bothered if I never hear any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fairytale
Fairytale by Donovan (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews