Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating...
Stars of the Lid are often spoken of in the same sentance as Boards of Canada, and it was mainly for this reason that I bought the album, but in truth there is little similarity. Where "Music has the right to children" was nostalgic, warm, dreamlike and richly varied, highly vocal and evocative, "Tired sounds" is almost arctic by comparison - beautiful and inhuman, as...
Published on 7 Oct. 2005 by Robot Overlord

versus
1 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars used to be NEW AGE. Now it's boring
Guys, this is not for the faint-hearted.
If you are young enough to have never spent your precious time listening to NEW AGE music, then don't start now!
Boring. Not for the future. There are tons and tons of this sort of music hidden away in closets or under beds..
Published on 27 Jan. 2008 by mbb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating..., 7 Oct. 2005
By 
Robot Overlord (floating somewhere...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
Stars of the Lid are often spoken of in the same sentance as Boards of Canada, and it was mainly for this reason that I bought the album, but in truth there is little similarity. Where "Music has the right to children" was nostalgic, warm, dreamlike and richly varied, highly vocal and evocative, "Tired sounds" is almost arctic by comparison - beautiful and inhuman, as though nothing organic or tangible was ever used in its making, as though it was purpose-designed by a machine for almost excessive lucidity and hypnotic emptiness. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Acoustic Melatonin, 10 Jan. 2002
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
This record is absolutely wonderful. I bought it at Staalplaat, Amsterdam and I listened to it in my hotel bathroom, whilst trying to wind down one night. I don't want to cheapen this review by calling it "ambient" or "wind down" music, however, it definitely centres the listener. Some of the drones are very subtle and often you don't really know what has happened in the track until it is over ! But take it from me, this is very very beautiful tender, maybe bruised music. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mùm - Boards of Canada - Stars of the Lid, 17 Aug. 2003
By 
Vargiu Riccardo James (Bologna, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
I found this album by following Amazon’s (very helpful) "Explore similar artists" link, with magnificent Mùm and Boards of Canada as my starting points. Although I forcefully reject the assumption that Stars of the Lid be in any significant way "similar" to Mùm or BoC, I must say that it certainly is true that those who enjoy music by the aforementioned groups are likely to appreciate the content of this recording as well (indeed, I am living proof of this). I think explaining why in my opinion Stars of the Lid differ from Mùm and BoC alike, as well as why I was nonetheless taken in by their music, might help other customers to determine where this group stands in the musical scene.
However gentle, both albums by Mùm also have a strong rhythmic structure, mostly based on "micro-beats." It is the latter that provides the crackly effect people often mention when describing their music. Through repetition and layering, these micro-beats create a suggestive and very hypnotic atmosphere (the kind of warmth one feels at wintertime in front of a - well... "crackling" - fire when the wind is gushing outdoors). The female components of Mùm (two twin sisters) sing to the music in a sweet, gentle, almost childlike fashion, which of course adds to the charm enormously. All in all, repeated micro-beats (often similar to the mechanical chiming of a music box), romantic overlying melodies and graceful vocal renderings make listening to Mùm's music a very soothing experience.
Boards of Canada, on the other hand, use very powerful, at times overtly aggressive rhythmic patterns, notwithstanding the presence of a constant underlying hum. In any case, whether electronic or instrumental, their beat line is often very "percussional," almost tribal/pagan, and as a result very liberating. That is why one could very well dance to a good number of their songs. Although, in general, conventional singing is not present in BoC's records, the human voice does play an important part in their work, providing a sense of human presence, however distorted and disturbing it may be.
Both Mùm and BoC also rely extensively on the use of sampling, making it possible for them to be ascribed to the "concrete music" bunch. Furthermore, although one could easily put on their records for ambiance and listen to them from beginning to end without paying great attention to the way each individual song is structured, it is nonetheless true that, particularly in Mùm's case, each song does have a specific structure and does differ from every and any other on the record.
Turning now to The Tired Sounds of Stars of the Lid, the first thing that comes to my mind is that there is no strong, recognizable rhythmic structure here. I'm no music expert I'm afraid, so of course the following is to be taken as an amateur's general impression, but it seems to me like all tracks on this album are based upon "pedal points," a pedal point being "a musical tone held by the bass." Now, while pedal points usually serve the purpose of giving a musical composition a solid background for other parts to develop freely over, in this case all melodies involved are so delicate that one would be tempted to say that the pedal point itself is the main feature. In other words, the music on this record is, for the most part, a sequence of overlapping drones, with just very unobtrusive touches of the piano and other instruments. Needless to say, there is no singing involved in this record, as well as no significant use of unexpected sound samples. Furthermore, most tracks intersect, or at least meld, making it rather arduous for one to tell the difference between one track and the following. This leads to a very hypnotic atmosphere indeed, where hypnosis is no longer merely an effective image to describe the music, a metaphor, as in Mùm's case, but a nearly physical effect the music itself exerts upon the listener. (In fact, based on personal experience, I have reason to believe that repeated, everlasting drones must stimulate the eardrum itself in such a way as to induce relaxation, or at least tiredness! Is it not so?)
The Tired Sounds reminds me not of something by Mùm or Boards of Canada, but much more so of Terrry Riley's A Rainbow in Curved Air (and of other works by Minimalists in classical music). I have no knowledge of whether what I'm about to suggest is true or not, but the more I listen to The Tired Sounds the more I am inclined to believe that Stars of the Lid too, like Terry Riley before them, must have found inspiration in Oriental music, such as Hindu Ragas, or at least in Oriental philosophy. The Tired Sounds seem to me like an ideal background for meditation. The sense of calm, peacefulness, and utter mental "blankness" it brings about suits meditation perfectly. This record (a double CD, to be exact!) is an impressive work of art, and I'm sure its simplicity and pampering gentleness will help many to find approximately two hours of peace of mind. Not bad, I say.
(Lastly, I have to agree with one Amazon customer who suggested Arvo Part as a good alternative/addition to this record. His Tabula Rasa is certainly right in tune.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Layered loveliness, 2 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
If you like your ambience blissed-out and life-affirming as opposed to soul-destroying( *reviewer nods towards Aphex Twin's Selected Ambient Works 2*), then you might just want to consider giving this a listen. At over 120 minutes long it undoubtedly requires patience on the listener's part, but unlike many of the records in this genre it never gets boring. I spent three years looking for a near-perfect ambient record, and after listening to 'Tired Sounds' I can safely say that the search is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immersive, Majestic and Peerless, 25 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
Well here it is, the best aural pleasure you could possibly present to your ears.

Ive owned it since 2001. Its always in slots 1 & 2 of the car cd player and probably played in some form or other several times a week.

Very difficult to put into words, but listening to Tired Sounds is probably the aural equivalent of being scooped up by some warm, cosseting cloud and floating into a drifting numbness. I have not really heard anything else quite like it. Over the years of listening to it, my favourite track has changed several times. It often reveals something new when listening intently.

The music is very slow, almost orchestral, enveloping, warm, evolving, beautifully melodic and immersive. True ambience. Very easy to listen to.... But I guess a lot of people could find it too slow. There is no percussion or vocals (apart from the rare spoken word), but oh, those sweeping melodic swoons and awesome bass lines.... Everyone should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is a weight to this music, 17 Oct. 2005
By 
C. Bransden (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
Sounds ring out, starting like a symphonic swell, and ending with a twinkle of piano, or perhaps horns? As with previous SOTL releases, it's probably treated guitar, but to the blind listener it sounds like an orchestra reverberating through some vast space.

There must be something going on here between the tones. A sadness, perhaps more palpable than any other release I have heard. How these wordless, melodically sparse (at best!) songs can transmit such power is astounding, but maybe this is how it should always have been done - cut the bombast, enhance the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mong out!, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
I listen to this after a long day at work and slowly drift into an easy sleep. I could listen to this as the world ended and be comfortably thrown into oblivion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to dream to..........., 6 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
This is for me one of the greatest albums ever! well its in my top 10 anyway. i have just got home from a tacky nightclub and have had a few. have just put this album on and its just too good. incredibly beautiful. The first few bars of Reqiuem for Dying Mothers and i am reduced to jelly. Reminds me of my holiday in a sleepy village in Corfu, relaxing in a pink sunset...
I dont care if you dont like this album, but if your reading this then you do or if not then you most certainly will.
Life affirming ambient music - puts across emotions to me that can't be transribed in words........
I have thousands of CDs and records. this is maybe my favorite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen!, 3 Mar. 2005
By 
C. Quinn "totality denier" (County Louth, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
Everything the other reviewers say is true, unless they say 'ambient' -- THIS RECORD MUST BE LISTENED TO! Ambient music is just there as background. SOTL want you to get involved. Believe me, it will make a difference. This music can make you cry. Ambient music cannot do that.
Contrary to what you might think, it isn't easy to make such minimal music. It's even harder to make it so moving. I can't think of anything else that 'does' so little yet packs such an emotional punch.
If you like this, try to find SOTL's early 'Music For Nitrous Oxide'. More electronic, edgy and menacing, but also very fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're not on the list you can't come in, 6 Oct. 2006
This review is from: The Tired Sounds of (Audio CD)
This is music for

people who write poetry, for people who work at home

for people who hate airports or traffic jams or shopping malls or trains

or who love the aftermath of late, late nights

and who dream a lot when they are awake.

It is music for the finest film you never saw,

or for people making plans inside their head

and it is music for people like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tired Sounds of
The Tired Sounds of by Stars of the Lid (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews