Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downright Funky.
This album seems to have been slated just for being different to its predecessor, which is quite a narrow-minded approach, I think. I bought this album first, and while it took a while to get into, it's an incredibly worthwhile addition to my collection.
Kinobe have made this album much more varied than their last, which I thought was fantastic...if a little...
Published on 31 Mar 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a chill out album
I wouldn't really class this as a chill out album.

I am a big fan of chill out and this is not typical of that kind of laid back style. Too much vocal in many of the songs - it is very Massive Attack style but without alot of their class. If you like blue states and Lemon jelly then you may find yourself slightly disappointed.

But don't let my review...
Published on 29 May 2007 by sandjs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a chill out album, 29 May 2007
By 
sandjs (cambridge uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Versebridgechorus (Audio CD)
I wouldn't really class this as a chill out album.

I am a big fan of chill out and this is not typical of that kind of laid back style. Too much vocal in many of the songs - it is very Massive Attack style but without alot of their class. If you like blue states and Lemon jelly then you may find yourself slightly disappointed.

But don't let my review put you off too much - there still is a lot of good in this album - such as G Spot. But that is nearly about it. But that is just my taste. Yours may be a little different. Too many vocals!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good solid second album, but not as good as Soundphiles, 18 Oct 2001
This review is from: Versebridgechorus (Audio CD)
Kinobes second album starts off in a very laid back manner compared to the scrathy beaty beginning of their previous album, Soundphiles. This pretty much sets the tone for the rest of the album, as Kinobe have moved far more into the easy listening chilled out style that was present in some of the tracks on Soundphiles. However, the exciting beats which for me were a high point of the Kinobe sound have been toned down a fair bit, and some of the tracks feel a little weak as a result. If its laid back melodies you are after, then this is the album for you, but don't expect it it to be the best album you've ever owned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downright Funky., 31 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Versebridgechorus (Audio CD)
This album seems to have been slated just for being different to its predecessor, which is quite a narrow-minded approach, I think. I bought this album first, and while it took a while to get into, it's an incredibly worthwhile addition to my collection.
Kinobe have made this album much more varied than their last, which I thought was fantastic...if a little one-dimensional. Here they show that they're not just another chill-out band with a tune from 'that' advert. Laid back hip-hop beats are mixed with sublime melodies and a healthy dose of funkyness. Ignore the doubters, if you want an album more varied and individual than the standard chill-out stuff, Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 3 Dec 2003
This review is from: Versebridgechorus (Audio CD)
While i agree with the other reviewers that this album is very different from Soundphiles this does not make it a bad album.
It took me over a year to pluck up the courage to spend my hard earned cash on this and now i have i'm glad i did.
It offers a bigger mix of 'Chillout' music while still offering tracks similar to 'Slip into Something'. There is both Funkyness and laid back chords.
The stand out track is G#Spot which is worth the money on its own. Seven minutes of absolute Bliss. Buy it now and make up your own mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slip into something slightly itchy and ill fitting, 6 Nov 2001
This review is from: Versebridgechorus (Audio CD)
"Slip into something.." The tune that launched a thousand chill out compilations, sold French beer to the english and a sexy soundtrack to many a relaxed evening.
Kinobe at their best.
So when I bought "verse.." I hoped that those horizontal heights would be reached once more. But it seems that with their latest offering they've let me down.
Like Soundphiles before it, it is a mixed bag, but without the handfull of gems the first album offered.
That's not to say Verse..is a bad album, because it's not. "Having a moment", "summer in the studio"(despite lyrics like "knocking in goals like Paul Scholes"), "mama's girl" and "the woodsman" are all decent enough tunes, mixing various styles together successfully, and differing the tempos enough to keep things interesting, but all in all it never quite captures the imagination in the way some of their previous work did.
It's a case of "shows promise, but must try harder".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dinner party music, 23 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Versebridgechorus (Audio CD)
the First ablum is wonderful, mixing hip-hop with chill-out and groovy feel good music. this..... well this is a troubled second album with a rather directionless feel. Not a lot stands out, nothing offends, very little interests.
basicaly .... dinner party music for thirty-somethings looking to impress. I wanted more oh so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Versebridgechorus
Versebridgechorus by Kinobe (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews