Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding collection of John Rutter's Christmas music, 18 Dec 2001
By 
david@tilsley.demon.co.uk (Horsham, West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
Even if you are not overly keen on Rutter's Christmas settings, this disc is simply irresistible. Speaking as a keen chorister myself, the singing simply takes my breath away. Added to sensitive direction from Stephen Layton, magical orchestrations and excellent recording from Hyperion this is a must-have and will make a wonderful Christmas gift.
I heard one of the tracks on BBC Radio 3's Choirworks (02/dec/01)and realised I just had to buy it.
This is the conductor and choir who took this year's Choral award in the Gramophone awards - I look forward to more recordings from this combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, Heavenly Music if you buy nothing else ever, 24 Dec 2002
By 
Mike Hart (Witney, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
I first heard John Rutter's work (Parkinson Radio 2 on a Sunday morning last Christmas). I was absolutely knocked for six by The Shepherd's Pipe Carol, however I failed to get the title.This year I managed to get the title from Desmond Carrington who also played it on Radio 2.
I am a broken down old jazzer who normally only listens to Big Band and Mainstream Jazz, together with the popular classic composers like Vivaldi, Bach, Handel etc.
On hearing the first track I was moved to tears by this glorious music. The rest of the disk only re-inforced my asessment. The Angel Carol is possbly the most beautiful orchestration I have ever heard. I just can't get the melody out of my head.
John Rutter please continue I would also like to hear if you have ever written for a big band. Mike Hart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A STUNNINGLY GOOD CD!, 27 Aug 2008
By 
Mrs. Caroline Munday (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
This beautiful CD follows a similar trajectory to the treatment of 'Psalm 23' by Howard Goodall (the Vicar Of Dibley theme) and re-invents the tradition of church music. John Rutter is an English genius who can rightly follow in the hallowed footsteps of greats like Ralph Vaughn Williams and John Ireland. These composers know how to make music that is warm, strangely familiar and above all human, without 'arty' pretensions or ideals, this kind music can speak to everyone on a basic level. Old and Young alike.
Peerless performances from the choir and immaculate orchestral arrangements make this one of the most value for money recordings you'll buy, i also guarantee you will not be able to stop playing this music.
Listen to 'What Sweeter Music' 'The Very Best Time Of The Year' 'Love Came Down At Christmas' 'Mary's Lullaby' 'Candlelight Carol' and you will be profoundly moved.
If you want something that will soothe your soul and warm your heart, forget Christmas music, this is purely timeless music that can be enjoyed whatever time of year.
Go on, treat yourself. And find that there is a treasure trove of English music waiting to be discovered.
Take a quick look at the Hyperion (the classical music CD label) website where you can listen to a preview of this gem of a recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a christmas feast, 26 Jan 2006
By 
Kyle R J Richardson (Ellel, Lancaster United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
A magical recording of some of the most beautiful Christmas music I have ever heard. Polyphony perform with their usual wonderful tone and clarity under the expert hand of Stephen Layton. The selection is wide, on the one hand you have the reflective and ever popular "what sweeter music" and a beautiful piece entitled "Love came down at Christmas" mixed with the bouncy "Donkey carol" and the lovely "star carol"
The recording is of a high quality and the choir and the City of London Sinfonia balance out beautifully.
A real Christmas treat and a must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cd, 21 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful cd of
John Rutter's Christmas carols and songs. They are very well performed and recorded. The arrangement of the songs on the album is such that there is sufficient variety to keep you interested. We have had this cd for over 10 years and it continues to delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
The name of John Rutter is synonymous with Christmas and this CD is well up to his high standards.Recently he was seen on BBC talking about how he wrote the Shepherds Pipe Carol-which I always thought was a traditional one-its that perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Rutter, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
Music for Christmas - Ths CD contains a wide selection of Christmas Music and will make an ideal stocking filler for a dear friend of mine.Could not have come at a better time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music for Christmas, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
If you are a John Rutter fan you will love this. Just puts you in the mood for Christmas. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
If you like John Rutter's music, you will love this. I bought this album as I love the Christmas Lullaby but the other tracks met my expectations too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chrismas pleasure, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Rutter: Music for Christmas (Audio CD)
A magnificent recording and program of Christmas music. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Rutter's compositions and arrangements match the Christmas themes both joyous and solemn when required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Rutter: Music for Christmas
John Rutter: Music for Christmas by Franz Xaver Gruber (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews