Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.67+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2001
Aimee and Jaguar is probably one of the best films i've seen this year. A love story between a Nazi's wife and a Jew set in war torn Berlin is an appealing idea, but also throw into the mix a lesbian affair and a tormenting ending,and you wont be dissapointed. And to finish off - this is a real story! Sad, tragic, exciting,brilliant, and some rather excellent acting aswell!!
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2001
I was very moved by this film based on a true story.
The movie takes place in Berlin during second world war. You follw the relationship between a German nazi officer's wife and a Jewish girl, together they discover real love. But being gay and/or jewish doesn't make life easy in Nazi Germany. Will they ever be able to find a way of living togehter in this dangerous world. The two caracters are outstandingly brouhgt to live by Maria Schrader and Juliane Kohler.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2006
The camerawork, script-writing, acting and authenticity of this film were all a delight to watch. The characters were very real and human, although discriminated against in a closed minded German backdrop they represented the hope and spirit many of those on the backbenches of the society at the time managed to sustain.

As a young lesbian woman, I found, in some ways, I could relate to this film. It gave me hope, to think that, although times are not easy for me.

Love can prevail through the most terrible and difficult situations.

I would suggest this film to anyone, Gay or Straight, It's a touching and wonderfully crafted film, and I was enthralled from start to finish.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2007
I watched this on Sunday night and it is still on my mind two days later. It's one of thoses films that stays with you. It takes you on an emotional journey, set in war torn Germany seeing the destruction caused by the British bombs was provocative enough but add into the mix Jewish Lesbians contantly staying one step ahead of the Nazi concentration camps and a Mia Farrow sorrowful look-alike German wife (Lilly) who doesn't love her soldier husband. 4 kids later and she blossoms when she is wooed by poetic letters from her nanny's lover, the sexy confident Felice; though she doesn't know they're from a she! They fall inlove with all the pain of two people coming to terms with love in their situation and in that climate of fear. Wow. I loved it. And I'm so envious of anyone who hasn't seen it who is about to, it's a cinematic treat.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2006
I think this is a beautiful film and totally agree with the other reviews here, my only gripe is that the quality of the recording is very bad, it felt like I was watching a very old and much watched vhs film (I bought a brand new dvd) or a pirate copy of the film,very strange, as the release date is only 2001. I found this element to be quite distracting from what is otherwise quite an astounding film
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2003
I totally agree with the other reviews here. This is an exceptional film, the acting is perfect especially by the two lead characters, the direction is superb and atmospheric. This is a must have film in any collection for everyone. I can't recommend it enough. What a tragic story and thank heavens someone had the know withall to make it properly. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2002
Aimee and Jaguar is without a doubt one of the best films I have ever seen, if not THE best. It is an amazing story told wonderfully through the meduim of film. It is funny, engaging, erotic, and devestatingly sad. A must see for anyone.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2003
This film ASTOUNDED me, not only because of the BEAUTIFUL love between these two women in such horrible circumstances, but because it is a true story, unique and wondeful in it's own right. This is a piece of history and it a piece that should be watched by every homophobic person on the planet. Love shines is this masterpiece and I hope all of you will watch it.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 January 2014
Max Färberböck's first feature film is based upon Erica Fischer's book, chronicling the true story of Lilly Wust and Felice Schragenheim, and their lesbian affair in war torn Berlin.

Both Maria Schrader (playing Felice) and Juliane Köhler (Lilly) were born in 1965, so they would have been about 34 years old when making the film, which was right for Lilly, who was about 31 when the events took place, but wrong for Felice, who was only about 22. This is one reason why the dynamics of the relationship - the why and how of their falling so passionately in love - are never made clear. The performances are fine - that's not the problem - but in addition to losing that age difference, the film simply does not devote enough attention to tracing the genesis of the love between the two titular characters. We see it happening but are not given sufficient clues about why it is happening. Nonetheless, the story itself is extraordinary, and well worth telling.

If you are not familiar with the historical background, then you might well find the film confusing sometimes. The director seems to assume that many details, such as the failed assassination attempt on Hitler, which are central to the action, will be familiar to the viewer.

The cinematography is excellent. The Allied bombing raids, the quiet moments in the park, the erotic episodes are all strikingly well done. The film is visually compelling throughout.

The sense of place and the atmosphere of wartime Berlin are very strong. As might be expected, there is meticulous attention to period detail.

Despite the caveats mentioned above, this is a very fine film and is recommended. The extras on this DVD include actual photographs of Lilly and Felice, taken on occasions that are featured in the film. To look at those pictures after seeing the film is a profoundly moving experience.
[PeterReeve]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2006
Great story, great acting! It's one of the best films I've ever seen. It's even better than the book (written by Erica Fischer with the help pf Lily Wust). Its powerfull story made me cry for joy (two people found love no matter what the circumstances) and sorrow (because their love wasn't meant to last) at the same time. Even if the love story is the main part of the film, the second WW plays a big part, too. You will learn about a another side of the war, you learn how cruel it can be, you don't even need to be a Jew at that time. You will feel all the emotions of love, fear and joy someone who lived that times could have gone through. Excellent I have to say and its definitely a MUST to see!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.80
£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)