Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to any photography kit
Landscape shooting is arguably my favourite kind of photography and, as I live close to the sea, shots of sunsets over the local bays are one of the more common, if not original, photos I take. Unfortunately, as I have found on numerous occasions, there are few things more frustrating than taking a dozen shots of a beautiful sunset over the beach, only to download the...
Published on 7 Aug 2008 by Mr. Mischief

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars According to internal spirit level in Nikon D7100 and large ...
According to internal spirit level in Nikon D7100 and large scale builders spirit level this Hama spirit level is very inaccurate.
Published 1 month ago by marius


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to any photography kit, 7 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Mischief (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
Landscape shooting is arguably my favourite kind of photography and, as I live close to the sea, shots of sunsets over the local bays are one of the more common, if not original, photos I take. Unfortunately, as I have found on numerous occasions, there are few things more frustrating than taking a dozen shots of a beautiful sunset over the beach, only to download the images to your PC and find that none are remotely close to being level. The point where the sea meets the horizon is perhaps the biggest problem area as any small discrepancies are greatly magnified on printed images or those viewed on screen. My camera has a small LCD screen and the viewfinder's crosshairs give only a rough idea as to whether or not it's level so photos that look flat on the LCD often turn out to be anything but.

This item from Hama comprises a plastic block housing two single-bubble spirit levels that fits onto your camera's hot-shoe to give you an idea if your camera is level when taking shots that depend on an even attitude. It has two mounting points, one on the bottom and one on the front, so it can be used when you're taking shots with a landscape perspective or with your camera tilted to take ones in portrait. The bottom mounting point also allows the block to be mounted sideways if you're taking (for example) shots looking downwards; in fact, there probably isn't a perspective that the levels can't be used with.

It fits fairly tightly to the hot-shoe and seems to give an accurate indication of when my camera is centred, although each level only has markings to indicate when plumb has been achieved and doesn't give separate markings for the angle of the camera in degrees, which would have been handy.

Whilst it has undoubtedly helped me to take more uniform photos, I have found that it works best with a tripod as it isn't always easy to keep sight of the image you want whilst watching to make sure the two bubbles stay between the indicator lines - you really need two pairs of eyes to keep track of everything. The front bubble is also a little obscured by the one at the back, whilst it's a pain that you can't use other hot-shoe accessories at the same time so rendering low-light photography impossible. However as long as you understand its limitations this is a useful and cheap addition to any photography kit, especially if you feel a desperate need to straighten up your slanting photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very handy, 12 Aug 2008
By 
Bec (Manchester , UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
This is really handy for making sure you get straight horizons etc on your pictures. Fits very easily on the hotshoe. Small enough to fit easily into your bag. I use this because although my tripod has a spirit level the camera doesnt. Really handy and very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 26 Dec 2008
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
A must have accessory to have handy in every camera bag, very practical, obviously light weight and small but its functionality and simplicity are the key factors. You never know when you may need one these levels for particular shots so for the reasons above, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat, good value item, very useful., 22 Sep 2011
By 
T. Barrance "Tom" (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
Very simple item, but it makes a big difference when you're shooting with a wide-angle lens - lets you keep verticals straight. Has two hotshoes so you can use it in both portrait and landscape mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hama level, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Ian Lamb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
very well made product ,very clean polished platic with two spirit levels inside.
can be fixed two ways to suit situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Item does the job, but bubble is small., 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
An item like this is definitely needed. The reason I only gave this 4 stars is because the bubbles are a lot smaller than the space between the lines which affects the accuracy of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works Well, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
Handy for tripod work; can't fault it functionally, and accurate enough when checked against another level. Twin hot-shoe mounts mean a third axis level is not necessary.

Beware though: I chose this one partly because the Amazon picture showed the block had ergonomic bevelled edges, unlike some cheaper ones. My example, although in Hama-branded packaging labelled 'Made in Austria', has unbevelled edges. Acceptable despite this, but four stars only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hama Camera Spirit Level, 7 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
If your camera does not have an in-built level then this little piece of kit is a must for any landscape photographers bag.

Hama Camera Spirit Level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the box, 18 Jan 2012
By 
D. Goodall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
This spirit level fits the flash hotshoe on my Canon EOS 600D perfectly, feels well built and includes two easy to see spirit level bubbles for taking photographs in landscape and portrait orientations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to your kit bag, 26 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Camera Spirit Level (Electronics)
Like other reviewers I wanted this for landscapes mainly. I have a good tripod and it does have a couple of spirit levels attached to the head but they are so small as to be useless and are over sensitive. This little gizmo slips nice and snugly into my 50D hotshoe and does a great job of getting those levels sorted out. I have found that although it is best used with a tripod and I imagine most people will use it in that manner but, still, you can use it hand-held and I have done so successfully several times and been pleased with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hama Camera Spirit Level
£13.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews